We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good price, great stuff”
Review of Hotel Arno

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Arno
Ranked #282 of 428 Hotels in Milan
Reviewed September 26, 2012

It's near to the central stration.The stuff was ok, they really showed interesed and the room was clean. The only exception was that they put us in Eva Hotel because Arno was full, i don't know if the conditions of staying there were different.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adina a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (223)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 223 reviews

Reviewed September 12, 2012

We paid for 2 nights. I agree withilovefeta completely. The place we ended up in was Hotel Eva in the same building. Our room did not have air-con in the middle of summer and we left at 4am on the first night because we could not sleep. The bathroom was disgusting and the staff were strange.
Do not stay here because you may end up staying at Eva and not Arno which is misleading and explains the good reviews for Arno and perhaps bad ones for Eva.
Very unimpressed and was glad to leave that dump.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SusannahPK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

My friend and I had a lot of difficulty finding something that suited both of our requirements in Milan. I finally agreed to Hotel Arno based on Tripadvisor recommendations. We booked Hotel Arno and were staying for two nights. Thank goodness it was only two nights.

Location - 10-15 minutes from Central Station. To the city centre (shopping, duomo etc) a lot, lot further. It is located in a scary part of town, I noticed other reviewers said it's not bad so I should mention we were two 20 something females. We resorted to catching taxis at night. In retrospect, if I knew that was going to be the case I would have spent extra money moving closer to the centre rather than spending money on cabs.

Hotel - here is the kicker. We booked through a very reputable site to stay at Hotel Arno...we ended up in Hotel Eva. There is a 100 spot difference on tripadvisor between these two hotels! Again if I knew that I would never have stayed here. The place was old, incredibly hot and falling apart. The bathroom was functional. I really disliked this hotel experience. The reception staff were horrid. Breakfast was ok.

Overall, I wouldn't recommend staying here. You will spend extra money on taxis and the trains because it is too far to walk repeatedly.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ilovefeta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Location was a 10 mins walk from centrale station. Hotel is equiped with a retro lift which is really interesting. We were Impressed by the warm greetings from patrick.

Room is decent and clean. We booked for a room with private bathroom attached which i would recommend for travellers to consider.

Overall, it is highly recommended. Value for money.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Siang123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

The 1-twin-bed bedroom was extremely small. It looks old and uncleanly. The shared bathroom was OK.

Location is fine, but the area doesn't feel too safe at night. They lock you out too - you can't leave the hotel with your room keys, and the reception closes at ~1AM.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank José Pablo V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

This hotel is basic and has no unnecessary comfort or luxury. But it is centrally placed (5-10 minutes walk from the central station); it is cheap (45-60 euro for a double room); and, the owner is helpful and friendly.

We--two families with teenager daughters--chose this hotel based on tripadvisor reveiws and because we had to spend our last night of a vacation in Milan in order to catch an early flight the morning after. For that purpose, the hotel was a good choice.

The hotel is in fact two hotels: Eva and Arno with a reception in the middle. The Eva part is more run down and you should ask for rooms in the Arno part. We had three rooms: 2 and 9 in the Eva part and 26 in the Arno part. Only room 26 had a private bathroom. If you have to use shared bathroom, we would suggest you use the one opposite room 26 as it is better equipped and the water pressure is better. Water pressure was a problem in room 2 and 9 and the shared bath room in that part of the hotel (Eva part).

Otherwise, our only complaint is that there was a lot of noise during night from the trams and the garbage disposal. But that may be a problem at other hotels as well. And there is no air condition which may be a problem during the hot months.

The friendly manager suggested a very nice pizza Restaurant 5-10 minutes walk from the hotel: Piccola Ischia. Colorful, delicious pizzas and cheap.

Room Tip: 26 is good. Ask for a room in the Arno part of the hotel. Ask if there are rooms without noise from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kristinnorway_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Super hot on the top floor. Avoid the top floor rooms in the summer. No AC. If you open the windows you get bit by mosquitoes.

It was a small room with super tiny spiral staircase that you had to climb to get there. The beds were super comfortable. It was pretty clean and very quiet.

The wifi was super fast.

Pretty easy walk to train station and Metro.

The elevator fits one person and one suitcase.

Room Tip: Don't take a top floor room. We had to climb a tiny spiral staircase to get up there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Smakabuti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milan hotels
Citta Studi
Ambrosiana
Ambrosiana
#304 of 428 in Milan
182 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Hotel Eva
Hotel Eva
#339 of 428 in Milan
37 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Cityhotel Central Station
Cityhotel Central Station
#370 of 428 in Milan
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Porta Venezia
Del Sole
Del Sole
#262 of 428 in Milan
93 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Hotel Nettuno
Hotel Nettuno
#222 of 428 in Milan
394 reviews
Lux Hotel Durante
#302 of 428 in Milan
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Arno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Arno

Address: Via Lazzaretto 17, 20124 Milan, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Stazione Centrale
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #282 of 428 Hotels in Milan
Price Range: $55 - $74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Arno 1*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, HostelWorld and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Arno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arno Hotel Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing