We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best attraction in Milan”

Chiesa di San Maurizio al Monastero Maggiore
Book on TripAdvisor
More Info
$68.33*
and up
Milan Renaissance Treasures and The Last Supper
Ranked #2 of 808 things to do in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Saint Albans, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Best attraction in Milan”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Other than La Ultima Cena (which you need to pay for and book a lot in advance), this was my favourite thing in Milan. The artwork of the frescoes was unbelievable. I spent almost 2 hours just staring up at the ceilings, and deciphering the stories behind paintings. As a non-Christian person, I was able to recognise more than half of the stories from the Bible just through the wonderfully executed artwork.

The one thing I really loved about this church were the depictions of God in two of the ceiling sections. It is extremely rare (I have found) to see God represented in places of worship, and it was very interesting for me. I was also fascinated at the tiny sections in the wall through which the nuns were required to observe the ceremonies occurring in the public side of the church.

Considering it is free to enter, I left a donation in the box that I felt I would have been happy paying just to enter.

If you have only 1 day in Milan, this needs to be on your list!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank TazG303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,221 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,766
    404
    39
    6
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“beautiful frescoes!”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

We greatly enjoyed our visit to this beautiful 16th century Baroque style church. The frescoes are well preserved and depict various Biblical scenes including the ascension, Stephen's martyrdom, Moses and the Ten Commandments, and Noah's Ark. Admission is free so there really is no excuse to miss this beautiful place! Make sure you pass through the small door on your left once you enter. That will lead you to the back of the church (which used to be a convent) where you can enjoy more of the lovely frescoes. The church is open from 9:30-5:30 daily.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank sdmorrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“don't miss”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Put this at the top of your to visit list and be prepared to spend some time here - we nearly walked past it - worth every minute spent here learning about its history

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank juliatk168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelso, Scotland
Level Contributor
282 reviews
160 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 242 helpful votes
“Lovely wall paintings”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Worth a 30min stop to see the wall paintings that adorn this church. Also good to combine with visit to the archaeological museum next door.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank travel_fan022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bueckeburg, Germany
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Warm welcome and beautiful paintings”
Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

We were immediately greeted by a friendly elderly gentleman who explained to us that we had to go through the side door to reach the back of the church. This area used to be strictly off-limits to the public as it was home to Benedictine nuns. The images of Noah's Ark and the Garden of Eden were particular highlights. Best of all entry is free of charge.

Helpful?
2 Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Chiesa di San Maurizio al Monastero Maggiore also viewed

 

Been to Chiesa di San Maurizio al Monastero Maggiore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing