We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Nuovo Marghera
Ranked #188 of 428 Hotels in Milan
Reviewed December 19, 2011

Very well located, clean and decently priced. Rooms are a bit small.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cillu001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (412)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 412 reviews

Reviewed October 5, 2011

I stayed in this hotel during Fashion week, so hotels were extra expensive. I chose this hotel for its location, the availability of wifi and the so-claimed soundproof rooms.
I had a superior single room in the front of the building. The room was nice. It was small, but its Milan, so I am not complaining. However, the claim to be sound proof is completely not true. I could hear the person in the next room calling on the phone, taking a shower and I could even hear the metro passing by. The wifi, which you have to pay for, was not strong enough so I could use it in my room on the first floor, so I had to sit in the lobby to be able to use the internet.

Positives are the location, excellent breakfast and the great neighbourhood. (Galleria Marghera has excellent icecream). The staff is friendly and the hotel is clean enough.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SabineNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2011

We stayed this hotel for 3 nights and we were very pleased. Yes, hotel is not fully renovated yet, but superior rooms were very nice- simple but beautiful and clean. Area is also very nice- quiet and decent and metro connection is also very good. We recommend it to people who look nice hotel with good value of money. It was a good choice :)

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dzaiajott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2011

The hotel doesn't feel at all like a 3 star hotel. Design and decoration is very uneven (cool breakfast salon, weird corridors). My room (a single one) was very small (one of the smallest judging by the floor plant) and decoration was sort of depressing. Towels are thin and I could spot some worn out bits on the sheets. Location is good - the subway is just in front of the hotel (5 ou 6 stops from Piazza del Duomo) and there are lots of nice restaurants and bars around. The staff is kind and helpful. It was nice to discover there was a safe and a fridge (empty though) in the room. It's clean. AC was working. Breakfast is rather basic but fair (I've seen worse breakfasts in more expensive hotels). Overall: good value for money. If you are not too demanding and all you need is a place to crash I have no problems recommending this hotel. No free internet. Luggage store is paid (1 euro).

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hugo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2011

The hotel is adjacent to a stop on the red line of Milan's Metro (Wagner), the room was cleaned daily and the staff were polite. Otherwise, this hotel has little to recommend it.

The room (101) was dark and dingy, with old, grimy carpet, wallpaper repaired with transparent tape, and electrics covered by duct tape. The door to the corridor moved visibly when you put the key in the lock and could easily have been pushed in from the outside so it could hardly be described as secure.

The room smelled musty, and both it and the windowless bathroom were decorated in dismal brown and orange. Since we had been offered another room when we arrived we knew there wasn't a better option. The hotel's website (http://hotel-marghera.com/) claims all rooms and doors have been sound-proofed, but we couldn't see any evidence that this place has seen a lick of paint since the 1970s.

Not a single piece of information was in the room, not even a 'phone list for hotel reception: no local free magazines, a city map, nothing.

We were charged EUR 215 for three nights for a double room. Never having been to Milan before, we figured getting a place right next to a Metro stop was sensible, but the Metro and ground-level tram systems cover the city so well, you don't need to spend money to stay in the centre of town. Short-stay tickets for the city's transport system were cheap and available from the machines in the underground.

We happened upon a district southwest of the Duomo that had a Bohemian vibe (Corsa di Porta Ticinese), so we would look for a small hotel or an apartment swap around there next time.

Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
Thank mft13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2011

Stayed in this hotel while on a one night trip to see a concert at the San Siro stadium. Very convient location for the San Siro (No 16 tram ride)and also visiting the city and easy to get to from the train station. Friendly staff very good value, clean modern deco rooms. Not free WiFi and the McD's across the road was closed, so couldn't use that WiFi either!
Also on the same tram and Metro line to visit it de Vinci's Last Supper.

Room Tip: Phone to book, staff speak good English, have to give credit card No to secure booking but no money...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank randvjj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2011

We just returned from a holiday in Lago di Como and before coming back we spent two nights at the Hotel Marghera. If you do not mind a very small bathroom the hotel was very good, clean and friendly staff. I had read reviews about the hotel and there were complaints about hearing a train under you but I asked for a room on the higher floors and yes you do hear it slightly but never enought to disturb your sleep. Also our friends were on the second floor and did not complain. The hotel is very clean with good clean towels and linen. The breakfast was good. The area is very good and most of all very near the central underground line. If you get a day ticket you can go anywhere for 3 Euros a day.
We booked a superior double room including breakfast for 85 uros a night which we thought was a fair price.
Do not expect a large room but to me as long as it is clean and a good breakfast it was enough.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the second or third floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank trips2010057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milan hotels
Hotel Metro
#65 of 428 in Milan
237 reviews
Hotel Fiorella
#354 of 428 in Milan
165 reviews
Hotel Panizza
#138 of 428 in Milan
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navigli
Hotel Sant'Ambroeus
Hotel Sant'Ambroeus
#242 of 428 in Milan
285 reviews
Hotel Capitol Milano
#104 of 428 in Milan
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nuovo Marghera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nuovo Marghera

Address: Via Marghera 2, 20149 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #188 of 428 Hotels in Milan
Price Range: $88 - $219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Nuovo Marghera 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Nuovo Marghera is located only 5/10 minutes by public transport from the downtown and from Milano FieraCity. The Wagner subway stop is in front of the hotel and a garage is at fifty meters away. Guests can be sure to spend a pleasant and comfortable stay in one of our refurbished rooms. Free wifi is available in all the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Nuovo Marghera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nuovo Marghera Hotel
Nuovo Marghera Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing