We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect option for a budget traveller”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Il Girasole

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Il Girasole
Ranked #125 of 431 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Saratov, Saratov, Russia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“perfect option for a budget traveller”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

The hotel is 5 minutes walk from the main subway line. The room was impeccably clean and very functional. We appreciated very much the help of the owners of the hotel who were exceptionally friendly and provided all the information we needed. When we come to Milano one more time, we will choose Girasole again!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Maxim O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    48
    10
    3
    1
See reviews for
30
79
22
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dromana, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

Il Girasole is delightful hotel to stay at. The rooms are a good size, very clean with lovely decor.
Nicola was there when we had our stay at the beginning of August and he could not have been more helpful. His warm greeting and friendly demeanour are a pleasure to experience and I would recommend a stay there.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

Good hotel. Very clean. Room was nice. Not too big, not too small. Caring and very helpful owners. Their restaurant recommendations were excellent. We had a very nice stay. Location is at the edge of town. 15 minutes with metro to the heart of the city.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Edmuntus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watertown, CT
Level Contributor
88 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

My wife and I spent four nights in Milan in July. Matteo is a great host (he was present more during our stay than his equally pleasant brother, Nicola). He carried our bags to and from our room on the third floor. He provided a wonderful breakfast to start the day and very helpful advice for things to do and see in Milan. As others have commented, the trip from Malpensa Airport (via the Malpensa Express and then the red line metro after a switch at Cadorna) is smooth and easy. Il Girasole is located only a five minute walk from the metro stop in a safe and clean neighborhood. The red line metro trip into central Milan is fairly quick (the trains run frequently and are fine). The room was clean and tidy and very quiet. There is absolutely no reason we would ever stay anywhere else when visiting Milan.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank WoofleDust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire, england
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

Il Girasole was booked by my husband along with tickets to see Robbie Williams play at San Siro Stadium for my Christmas present. Travel from Malpensa airport to Il Girasole was easy via train and then the metro. Il Girasole is 5 min walk from the nearest metro and is on the main red line, both to the city centre and San Siro. Our room at Il Girasole was very clean, quiet and pleasantly decorated. Nicola was very knowledgeable and helpful, giving tips and advice on where to eat and how to travel. Not sure what time the metro closes but we caught a train after midnight last night, it is important to state that there is not much in the vicinity of Il Girasole - you will need to travel (but it is so easy) to enjoy your stay. Breakfast was fine - we were not left wanting anything. We had a great stay at Il Girasole.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank littlemisskeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spalding, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

Nicola and his brother Matteo, were the kindest, most helpful people we have come across in our travels. They seemed happy to assist with whatever we came up with, and their recommendations for what to see and where to go [in impeccable English] were 'spot on'. The B&B was clean, beautifully appointed and the breakfast was just enough. Although out room overlooked the street, it is a remarkably quiet neighbourhood, and returning late in the evening gave us no cause for concern. One very small criticism - it is difficult to find. The sign [two? very small sunflowers] is tiny and sticks out high on the wall adjacent to a huge red metal door. One substantial advantage is the proximity of the Milan Metro [about 5 minutes walk] . It is an excellent service, and the line on which you join, could not be better - straight into the town centre in about 15 minutes! We can only echo the other reviews .

Room Tip: All rooms appear to be good. If you have any special needs, I'm sure that the brothers would do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

Nicola and Matteo are great hosts and are attentive to a clients needs. They were provided us with tips on what is great and entertaining to do in Milan. The hotel was clean and well equipped. The location close to the metro was great which meant we had little reliance on our car.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milan hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Milan North
0.6 mi away
Hotel degli Arcimboldi
Hotel degli Arcimboldi
#121 of 431 in Milan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,145 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel Delizia
Hotel Delizia
#189 of 431 in Milan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Hotel Ideale
Hotel Ideale
#117 of 431 in Milan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
0.7 mi away
Starhotels Tourist
Starhotels Tourist
#96 of 431 in Milan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
2.2 mi away
Eco-Hotel La Residenza
Eco-Hotel La Residenza
#69 of 431 in Milan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Girasole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Girasole

Property: Il Girasole
Address: Via Doberdo' 19, 20126 Milan, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #125 of 431 Hotels in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Il Girasole 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Studio Scivoletto S.r.l. , Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Il Girasole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing