We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful little place”
Review of Il Girasole

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Il Girasole
Ranked #121 of 428 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
New York, New York
Level Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“A wonderful little place”
Reviewed June 3, 2012 via mobile

We had an overnight stay here on our way to Nice and we were pleasantly surprised. It is a wonderful little place off the beaten path. The rooms are spacious, very clean and decorated with a simple but artistic style. The staff was very friendly and as we arrived late provided us with sodas and juice. Breakfast was included. We are not really breakfast people so cappuccino and a croissant was enough for us. We didn't look at the the other fare. They also have a nice little patio in the back for breakfast or just hanging out. We enjoyed our brief stay and hope to return.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank amber9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    48
    10
    3
    1
See reviews for
30
80
22
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toulouse, France
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2012

I stayed for a couple of nights at Il Girasole, and really enjoyed the warm welcome and exquisite room there.

Above all, it is about Nicola and Matteo and how much they dedicate to welcome you and make sure your stay in Milan is as perfect as possible. And that includes suggestions and explanations about the city. The size of this previous B&B allows them to be better focused on each guest while having the professionalism of the best hotels. And that counts a lot.

The rooms are very clean, well equipped and nicely decorated. Each room is unique and there are those small details that make you think "oh, nice!". Yes, there's a kitchenette. And while I thought that we wouldn't use it, it really came in handy! If I can find one drawback, it would be that in the rooms just below the roof on the street side, you'll hear the birds walking on the roof, which can be noisy in the morning.

Despite not being in the city center, Il Girasole location is very good. The metro station is just nearby and it's quite simple to reach most relevant area. I found out it is easy to find place for your car nearby and parking is free on afternoon and on week-end. You can however park your car inside the hotel for more convenience.

Room Tip: Rooms just below the roof on the street side can be a little noisy if some bird decides to land ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Djian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2012

I just spent 3 nights at Il Girasole, and can't think of anything negative to say about it. The hosts went out of their way to help me with any and all questions. The room was clean and quiet and unique, and had a small kitchenette. The neighborhood was off the beaten path; and an easy, direct subway ride to anywhere in Milan; and using the subway or trams means you see parts of Milan you'd probably miss if you stay right downtown. I highly recommend Il Girasole if you're looking for a friendly, quiet, unique hotel experience.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank stubby6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, NM
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2012

I really can't say enough about Il Girasole and Nicola and Matteo. I had just arrived after a 20+ hour trip and they made me feel welcome and comfortable. The room was spotless and was much bigger and nicer than I expected for a single/standard. I could not believe there was a little kitchenette! It was such a good experience that I am going back at the end of my trip before my plane leaves from Milan. It is true that it is not in the City center, but after the hustle and bustle of Milan, it is tranquil, and the subway is easy to navigate (takes about 20 minutes at most). And, above all, Nicola and Matteo are happy to help you with any questions, directions, etc. I highly recommend Il Girasole!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank hopenm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Floridian in Switzerland
Level Contributor
74 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2012

We came for less than 24 hours to see the James Taylor concert at the nearby Teatro Archimboldi. Thanks to Trip Advisor, I found this lovely hotel. I emailed ahead to ensure it was as close to the venue as I thought, ask for dinner recommendations, etc. I am not sure which brother replied or which one met us at checkin, but they were fabulous. Communications wer perfect - via email, the phone, and in person.

About a 15 euro taxi from the main station (could have done public transport but not enough time), they met us at check-in, offered a coffee or beer, checked us in quickly, helped us book dinner (with complimentary transportation!!), arranged our morning breakfast box (since we had to leave earlier than the buffet began) - all w/i 10 min. And...I must say that they were very GENUINE in their offer to be helpful. We stayed in the "FOOD" room (all the rooms have names - kinda cute) which we found to be absolutely immaculate - Swiss standards even! By European standards, it was perfectly appointed - minimal but tasteful decor (loved the colorful tiles in the bathroom!), towels, even a small kitchen-type corner. We laughed at the "tv" - which looked like a wall mounted computer screen. But..we weren't there to watch tv - we never even turned it on.

We left at 6:30 am and one of the brothers was up early to make sure we didn't miss it! SO nice. :)

We didn't walk around much but to/from the restaurant and theater, it looked very friendly, safe, clean - a city-style suburb.

I would definitely recommend this place and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ufgator27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2012

We stayed in this hotel in March 2012. It is a reconstructed bicycle manufacturing facility that has been totally reconstructed by two brothers as a bed and breakfast. Although it is basic, it was absolutely immaculate in all respects. It is an area off the beaten track in Milan but a short 14 minute underground ride to the Duomo/shopping section of the city center. The area was friendly with a great small Pizza/Pasta place very near by. Your car is safely parked in a totally secure area of the property. We are used to four and five stars but not ready for those prices in Milan. The brothers were great hosts.

Room Tip: The Olmo in the rear was a nice choice. Rooms are named not numbered. An Olmo is the tree outside t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JL1278
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2012

Brothers Nicola and Matteo were the most welcoming hosts and insured our time in Milan was most enjoyable. Would highly recommend this gem of a b and b/hotel. In a city were accommodations are extremely expensive this place was very affordable. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yukonklp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Milan
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Milan North
1.5 mi away
Agape Hotel
Agape Hotel
#142 of 428 in Milan
439 reviews
0.7 mi away
Starhotels Tourist
Starhotels Tourist
#92 of 428 in Milan
574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Eco-Hotel La Residenza
Eco-Hotel La Residenza
#67 of 428 in Milan
990 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Torretta Milano
Grand Hotel Villa Torretta Milan...
#2 of 15 in Sesto San Giovanni
626 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel Delizia
Hotel Delizia
#191 of 428 in Milan
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Girasole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Girasole

Property: Il Girasole
Address: Via Doberdo' 19, 20126 Milan, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #121 of 428 Hotels in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Il Girasole 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire and Hotel.de so you can book your Il Girasole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing