We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Immaculate and Inovative”
Review of Il Girasole

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Il Girasole
Ranked #125 of 428 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Naples, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Immaculate and Inovative”
Reviewed March 13, 2012

We stayed in this hotel in March 2012. It is a reconstructed bicycle manufacturing facility that has been totally reconstructed by two brothers as a bed and breakfast. Although it is basic, it was absolutely immaculate in all respects. It is an area off the beaten track in Milan but a short 14 minute underground ride to the Duomo/shopping section of the city center. The area was friendly with a great small Pizza/Pasta place very near by. Your car is safely parked in a totally secure area of the property. We are used to four and five stars but not ready for those prices in Milan. The brothers were great hosts.

Room Tip: The Olmo in the rear was a nice choice. Rooms are named not numbered. An Olmo is the tree outside t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JL1278
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    48
    10
    3
    1
See reviews for
30
80
22
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2012

Brothers Nicola and Matteo were the most welcoming hosts and insured our time in Milan was most enjoyable. Would highly recommend this gem of a b and b/hotel. In a city were accommodations are extremely expensive this place was very affordable. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yukonklp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2012

We loved the hotel. Everything from comfort to service and location was exceptional. The hotel is beautiful overlooking.Staying there was a memorable experience. I would definitely choose this hotel when returning again to Milan.

February 2012

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank petarandreev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
I.O.W.
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2012

Very handy for Metro but in quiet street. Staff very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shankliniow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2011

This is a lovely hotel,a nice warm welcoming,we chose II Girasole because of other reviews we read,everything is perfect,our room was superior,clean,enough large and also good location,thank you to all the staff,we hope to visit again soon.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ana m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2011

we stayed in this hotel for one week and we really enjoyed our stay there. everyone was very nice and friendly and made you feel right at home. this hotel is also near the metro station which gives you an easy way to travel. would recomend to everyone.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jessica s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2011

We stayed 3 nights while visiting EICMA.

If you have no car while in Milano proximity to a Metro stop is crucial. Girasole has that.

From Malpensa you just take the train to Cadorna, and then the M1 Red line to the San Giovanni stop. Easy, cheap and quick. The hotel is about 100m from the Metro stop (a bit difficult to find at first)

Getting to Fiera Milano is also easy. About 45 minutes with the M1 Metro, without changing.

The two hosts Matteo and Nicola are extremely friendly. They seem to work from early morning to late at night. Breakfast is fine. They seem to really care about running a hotel and sincerely try to make you feel welcome. Its not just a business.

The rooms are good too, nothing fancy but OK for the price. Everything is clean.

You can get a quiet nights sleep since there is no noise.

We will absolutely return here.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Redspring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Milan
0.7 mi away
Starhotels Tourist
Starhotels Tourist
#104 of 428 in Milan
586 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Milan North
1.5 mi away
Agape Hotel
Agape Hotel
#144 of 428 in Milan
442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Bert
Hotel Bert
#8 of 15 in Sesto San Giovanni
53 reviews
8.6 mi away
Hotel Silver
Hotel Silver
#131 of 428 in Milan
299 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel Delizia
Hotel Delizia
#191 of 428 in Milan
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Girasole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Girasole

Property: Il Girasole
Address: Via Doberdo' 19, 20126 Milan, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #125 of 428 Hotels in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Il Girasole 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, HRS, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Il Girasole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing