We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ok hotel, good value”
Review of Hotel Lombardia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Lombardia
Ranked #214 of 428 Hotels in Milan
Belgrade
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“ok hotel, good value”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Hotel is located relatively close to metro station (500 - 600 m) and relatively far away from everything else :) . must say that it is in the peaceful neighborhood and sleep quality is good.
hotel rooms are decent, and quite big for standards in Italy, although must say furniture is a bit ware out.
hotel staff is great, very helpful and professional.
down sides of hotel are:
small and slow elevator, breakfast is scarce, location.
if you manage to get it for decent price, it is quite ok, and will do for couple of days

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KFilip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    96
    76
    23
    13
See reviews for
34
37
22
116
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belgrade, Serbia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

I was quite surprised upon arrival since I have had some very bad experience with Italian hotels. However, this hotel turned up to be a very pleasant surprise:

Although a bit far from Milano City Center, it is very well connected with 2 metro lines which stop about 500 meters from the hotel. All rooms are very quiet - none of them overlooks the street. Rooms are not too big, but neither are small; very clean and cosy. Shower is a bit small, but enough to do the job.

The only disappointment was breakfast: buffet continental breakfast was quite poor. Nevertheless, it will keep you fed enough.

Hotel staff was really great - very helpful and friendly, and very fast.

All in all - great pick for a budget option!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yogilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Overall an okay experience, but the place needs to be renovated a little bit for it to be 3 stars. The service in the reception depends a lot on whose working, there was one particular receptionist who was not very friendly. Did also expect free wifi. Also the price of the stay does not include the so called Tourist Tax, which amounts to 3 euro per person per night .

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brlu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

The hotel was convenient enough but not very good. It a very old styled. The reception was very friendly and helpful. They could have also provided "free" wifi (they may include the cost in room price), but it is very annoying to ask for a wifi password everyday. other than that it was good experience. I stayed there for a meeting for three nights.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vinod K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton UK
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

I booked here for the Monza GP on another TA reviewer's recommendation, which turned out to be very accurate and helpful. (Thanks, I'll make sure I give you a helpful vote!) With the Lombardia the location is definitely its main selling point but the staff are mostly very helpful & friendly and the internet access at 3E's a day are positives too. We arrived around 11.00am and were surprised to be allowed immediate access to our room, which was basic but quiet and with a (small) satellite TV. However, service is a bit variable and an example of this was not being charged an extra euro for a proper cup of coffee one morning with breakfast, being charged the next, and then being charged twice as much for an instant coffee one afternoon "because it was after 10.00am" (though the price dropped back down to 1 E after I questioned the price-hike). Getting to Monza by train takes a bit of working out if you want to get to the far side of the circuit (Lesmo) as not all trains stop at this tiny station. We found going from Garibaldi station was necessary on Friday & Saturday but on Sunday (when it's free) the trains from Central Station went straight to Lesmo and didn't even stop at Monza Central. Alternatively, you can get to Monza Central on Friday & Saturday from Milan Central and then catch the free bus to the circuit from right outside the station. Take care if taking local trains from Garibaldi to Lesmo though as they go in different directions after the Monza Central stop and on Saturday we has to get off and go back to Monza to pick up the bus transfer instead. One last tip - taxis into Milan from Linate airport (the best one to fly to if going to Monza) cost us 15 E's on the way there (we got one right outside the airport) but twice this on the way back; I presume because the meter was pre-loaded by 7.5 E's as the hotel had booked it for us.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank simon-fidler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2012

I stayed at this hotel recently and had a wonderful experience and wanted to share this with everyone. Here are some basic knowledge that people should know:

1. It's a basic hotel. This is not an international chain. When you walk into the door, you will feel like you've gone back in time. However, the hotel is clean, which is more important. For the price you pay, this seems to be reasonable in Milan.

2. It's somewhat convenient. The hotel is not far from the metro station of "Loreto", which is on both the number 1 and 2 lines. You do have to walk a few (6 1/2) blocks to get to it. It took me a while to even exit the right exit from the subway station to get to Via Porpora, which is the street you should walk on and then turn left on Viale Lombardia.

3. The room is old, but clean. Can't stress this enough. Clean rooms are more important than whether the hotel is old or not. Room has wallpaper that is a bit torn here and there, but I can accept that given the price I paid. The door locking mechanism is an interesting one. From the inside, you have to turn the lock and then press the button on top of the knob to make sure it's locked. On the outside, use your key to turn the key to the left, then press the button on top of the knob to make sure it's locked. I had a room right next to the elevator, and yes, I did hear some noise but it didn't bother me. It was just people talking. Shower is small because of the folding door. Once you get inside it's fine.

4. Breakfast was alright. Not a huge spread but it is sufficient. You can order a cappuccino from the staff. Very simple stuff. The juice machine - just press the button once and let go - the juice will automatically stop.

5. Wonderful staff. Both Enrico and Kris have been great. I had some issues while in the city and the two of them offered to help me to call and resolve the situation. They even advised me to take the "normal" taxi as they called it - to go to Linate airport as my flight left early in the morning so it would not have been possible to take the bus 72 from San Babila.

6. Internet. WiFi is 3 Euros per day per device. Once you use it on one device, you can't use the same username/password combination on another device.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank andy w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2012

Standard hotel with friendly staff. The included breakfast is similar to most hotels, in other words disappointing, but sufficient. Don't touch the dredge labelled as coffee, but rather go to the counter and have the barista make you a fine espresso based drink. I had the cappucino which was proper and tasty - wish I had known they were complimentary sooner!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CappuccinoQuest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milan hotels
Citta Studi
Hotel Gamma
Hotel Gamma
#225 of 428 in Milan
230 reviews
Citta Studi
Hotel Dieci Milano
Hotel Dieci Milano
#245 of 428 in Milan
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
VIVA Hotel Milano
#155 of 428 in Milan
129 reviews
Hotel Florence
#124 of 428 in Milan
430 reviews
Aspromonte Hotel
#158 of 428 in Milan
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lombardia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lombardia

Property: Hotel Lombardia
Address: Viale Lombardia 74/76, 20131 Milan, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#141 Luxury Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Lombardia 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Lombardia Milano boasts over 40 years of extensive experience in the hospitality field in Milan. Its recent restructuring and the change in ownership have brought the hotel back to its original splendor. Our fine services have remained the same but they've been streamlined so as to adapt them to modern needs. For example, our cuisine has been modified and now offers a faster service but it is also tailored to the customer's needs. The hotel's location, which is close to Piazzale Loreto, Corso Buenos Aires and not far from the Citta Studi and its prestigious Politecnico di Milano, the National Cancer Institute and the Besta Neurological Hospital, can be considered as a sort of stronghold of hospitality right in the Milan city center. The Hotel Lombardia rooms are quite spacious and are very luminous and well cared for. They all overlook the inside of the building: they're very quiet and offer a peaceful view over the garden There are one or two room apartments that can accommodate 2 to 5 people. All apartments overlook the building's inner garden. The hotel has a small Conference Center with 4 conference rooms that can facilitate between 10 and 100 people and are enhanced with natural light. The event installation can be modulated and the rooms are equipped with a video projector, sound system, (Wi-Fi) internet connection and speaking lecterns on demand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fastbooking, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Lombardia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lombardia Hotel Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing