We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best hotel for this amount of money”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Greco Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Greco Hotel
Ranked #403 of 431 Hotels in Milan
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“The best hotel for this amount of money”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014

I would rate it "good". Both room and bathroom were clean. Receptionists are helpful, they just don't talk too much ;). The hotel was quite hard to find at night, it is located among blocks of flats. Breakfast was basic, but still it is good to wake up and drink hot coffee.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack9112094873
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    12
    31
    18
    66
See reviews for
22
30
16
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

For what we paid, we weren't expecting alot. And we didn't get alot. There seems to be more than a few horror stories experienced at the Hotel Greco, but I can say that our stay wasn't so ghastly. We stayed in a double room which was very spacious. Quite a pleasant surprise having spent previous nights in tiny hotel rooms in London & Paris. The mattress was probably past it's use by date but since we were only there for 4 nights, it sufficed. The bathroom was certainly a strange one. The shower head is only as high as your knees, there is no screen door and there is no floor mat provided. So when showering at Hotel Greco you certainly want to make sure that you have taken out a good travel insurance policy.
The room gets cleaned and bed gets made every day which is lovely, but you don't get fresh bedsheets and the bath towels don't get replaced. Hotel Greco is only a short walk to the nearest metro station, and as for the claims that the area is dodgy, we felt quite safe at all times even after dark.
All in all we were happy enough with our stay there, as we paid next to nothing for a place not too far outside of Milan. If we wanted a nice hotel room we would have booked in Milan for €300-400 a night. But if you're on a budget and don't plan to spend too much time in your room, Hotel Greco might be all you need. Also there is a laundromat near by which was a bonus.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013 via mobile

Good for the price.
You definitely need earplugs!
I stayed 2 nights in a 6 bed room with bathroom.
If you visit Milan for 2-3 days it's the best solution.
I payed 8 euros/night plus 2 euros for breakfast.
WiFi is ok. I didn't have any problems with the staff, they were friendly.
The hotel is about 5 minutes far from the underground which takes you to the center in 10min.
Overall it's very good if you are a student or if you don't have much money

Helpful?
1 Thank Ferencless
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Aheloy, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

This is the most horrible hotel/hostel in the Europe ! Staff is very unfriendly . I booked 6 bed mixed dorm , and i paid 2.4 euro per day for linen and there is no upper bed sheet.There was some kind of a blanket - not very clean one, but there was no sheet to wrap it in . Bathroom door can't close, leaving 2 cm open ...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MMollov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ugolini21, Direttore at Greco Hotel, responded to this review, March 12, 2015
First of all I thank the customer for review, but I would like to clarify something that we are under new management since February 2015 and staimo working hard to improve the shape of the structure, that the old manager has ruined mishandling customers and get them to sleep in poor facilities which you can see in the photos posted by the customer (not presentamo never greek hotel but all the structures in which the poor old manager wore customers) .Finally ask customer support to better this figure is 90% not presents greek hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Milan hotels

Athens, Greece
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

As mentioned in the title, it's one of the worst hotels/hostels you've ever seen (probably the worst)...Hotel Greco is far away from a 2-star hotel, but you can manage to stay there for one night, as long as you are looking for another hotel...but the hostel Greco is by far the most disgusting and frightening building (like a horror film), so even an one night stay, is just too much...Located in one of the worst places in Milan, walking there at night isn't exactly safe...Beware of their own pictures, as they don't show the truth...For God's sake, don't stay there alone, especially if you're a girl...This isn't a hostel/hotel, it's a nightmare...

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank roecb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ugolini21, Direttore at Greco Hotel, responded to this review, March 12, 2015
First of all we apologize to the customer for the bad experience you had with the old management, and I would like to clarify something that we are under new management since February 2015 and staimo working hard to improve the shape of the structure, that the old manager has ruined mishandling customers and get them to sleep in shoddy structures which you can see in the photos posted by the customer (not presentamo never greek hotel but all the structures in which the poor old manager wore customers) .Finally ask customer support for better this figure is 90% no greek hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

We reserved room with schared bathroom in two stars hotel, however we received room in hostel milky way, near reception of el greco. In reception they told us that we must pay 5euro extra per day if we want room in el greco (only option was with private bathroom). Milky way was dirty, very noisy (at night there was ability to hear pooring water in toilet, sound of every single move of doors etc.) and near environement of hostel seamed to be unsafe. Staff in reception seldome spoke in english. Every time we went for breakfast we had to remained that we have it included in price. The only advantage is price. Rather stay away from el greco.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pavelini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ugolini21, Direttore at Greco Hotel, responded to this review, March 12, 2015
First of all we apologize to the customer for the bad experience you had with the old management, and I would like to clarify something that we are under new management since February 2015 and staimo working hard to improve the shape of the structure, that the old manager has ruined mishandling customers and get them to sleep in shoddy structures which you can see in the photos posted by the customer (not presentamo never greek hotel but all the structures in which the poor old manager wore customers) .Finally ask customer support for better this figure is 90% no greek hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

I was expecting this place to be bad after reading the reviews on here. In fact, I was pleasantly surprised. The place was clean, and I found the staff to be friendly. Breakfast is basic, but what do you expect for 1 euro! Our twin room was a good size. If you are wanting somewhere cheap as a base for exploring Milan, this will suit you fine. It is in the suburbs, but again, this is reflected in the price. The bus stop is nearby. I went with a female friend and we felt safe walking to and from the bus stop at all hours, although I wouldn't want to do it on my own at night. We felt perfectly safe in the hostel.
I would have rated this place as very good, had we not been given 2 places in a dorm room on our first night due to overbooking. We paid half price for this night, and paid for the rest of our stay when we were given the twin room we booked the next day.
This is definately a hostel, not a hotel. Wouldn't recommend for families, but fine for travellers on a budget. It's a good hostel, I've stayed in much much worse!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank static
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milan hotels
OstellOlinda
#367 of 431 in Milan
3.0 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Citta Studi
Hotel Leonardo Da Vinci
Hotel Leonardo Da Vinci
#269 of 431 in Milan
3.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bicocca
Hotel Virgilio
Hotel Virgilio
#298 of 431 in Milan
3.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Cityhotel Central Station
Cityhotel Central Station
#379 of 431 in Milan
3.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
Citta Studi
Ambrosiana
Ambrosiana
#293 of 431 in Milan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greco Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greco Hotel

Property: Greco Hotel
Address: Via Giuseppe Ugolini 21/3, 20125 Milan, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Bicocca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #403 of 431 Hotels in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Greco Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 199
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelWorld and Travelocity so you can book your Greco Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Greco Hotel Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing