We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the worst hotels/hostels ever...”
Review of Greco Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Greco Hotel
Ranked #402 of 431 Hotels in Milan
Reviewed November 22, 2012

As mentioned in the title, it's one of the worst hotels/hostels you've ever seen (probably the worst)...Hotel Greco is far away from a 2-star hotel, but you can manage to stay there for one night, as long as you are looking for another hotel...but the hostel Greco is by far the most disgusting and frightening building (like a horror film), so even an one night stay, is just too much...Located in one of the worst places in Milan, walking there at night isn't exactly safe...Beware of their own pictures, as they don't show the truth...For God's sake, don't stay there alone, especially if you're a girl...This isn't a hostel/hotel, it's a nightmare...

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank roecb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ugolini21, Direttore at Greco Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2015

First of all we apologize to the customer for the bad experience you had with the old management, and I would like to clarify something that we are under new management since February 2015 and staimo working hard to improve the shape of the structure, that the old manager has ruined mishandling customers and get them to sleep in shoddy structures which you can see in the photos posted by the customer (not presentamo never greek hotel but all the structures in which the poor old manager wore customers) .Finally ask customer support for better this figure is 90% no greek hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (146)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 146 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2012

We reserved room with schared bathroom in two stars hotel, however we received room in hostel milky way, near reception of el greco. In reception they told us that we must pay 5euro extra per day if we want room in el greco (only option was with private bathroom). Milky way was dirty, very noisy (at night there was ability to hear pooring water in toilet, sound of every single move of doors etc.) and near environement of hostel seamed to be unsafe. Staff in reception seldome spoke in english. Every time we went for breakfast we had to remained that we have it included in price. The only advantage is price. Rather stay away from el greco.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pavelini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ugolini21, Direttore at Greco Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2015

First of all we apologize to the customer for the bad experience you had with the old management, and I would like to clarify something that we are under new management since February 2015 and staimo working hard to improve the shape of the structure, that the old manager has ruined mishandling customers and get them to sleep in shoddy structures which you can see in the photos posted by the customer (not presentamo never greek hotel but all the structures in which the poor old manager wore customers) .Finally ask customer support for better this figure is 90% no greek hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

I was expecting this place to be bad after reading the reviews on here. In fact, I was pleasantly surprised. The place was clean, and I found the staff to be friendly. Breakfast is basic, but what do you expect for 1 euro! Our twin room was a good size. If you are wanting somewhere cheap as a base for exploring Milan, this will suit you fine. It is in the suburbs, but again, this is reflected in the price. The bus stop is nearby. I went with a female friend and we felt safe walking to and from the bus stop at all hours, although I wouldn't want to do it on my own at night. We felt perfectly safe in the hostel.
I would have rated this place as very good, had we not been given 2 places in a dorm room on our first night due to overbooking. We paid half price for this night, and paid for the rest of our stay when we were given the twin room we booked the next day.
This is definately a hostel, not a hotel. Wouldn't recommend for families, but fine for travellers on a budget. It's a good hostel, I've stayed in much much worse!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank static
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is in a run down part of town accessed via the private access road to some flats. On arrival I was informed I had to pay in full and they only accepted cash. I only had a small amount of cash so paid €15 and had to request a receipt and got a hand written one.
Apparently I have to pay extra for air con & tv even though they are advertised.
Curtains broken, flush broken. Too late to leave tonight but I will be booking out tomorrow.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stockjg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ugolini21, Direttore at Greco Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2015

First of all we apologize to the customer for the bad experience you had with the old management, and I would like to clarify something that we are under new management since February 2015 and staimo working hard to improve the shape of the structure, that the old manager has ruined mishandling customers and get them to sleep in shoddy structures which you can see in the photos posted by the customer (not presentamo never greek hotel but all the structures in which the poor old manager wore customers) .Finally ask customer support for better this figure is 90% no greek hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012

We have a nice stay there and no problems.
No overbooking
No rude staff
And ,last but not least, a very clean room.
yes,ok, it wasnt exactly a 2star hotel, as we can guess from the hostelworld.com
However, me and my friends had a wonderfull time in Milan, as:
-we stayed in a room for 6 with our own bathroom which was every day clean. We also had clean towels and sheets.
-there was nice transportation with metro till 12 and tram till 1.00am, and we could enjoy the lovely streets and ice-creams of milan
-the receptionist was there all night-this guy never sleeps-and he used to wake up at any time we wanted to return.
-it was a little bit old, and the room was quite small, but very good for the price, as everything in milan was a little expensive, and breakfast was enough for a 2star hotel.
-finally, there was a supermarket at the next station of the tram,where we could buy water, fruits end everything we want.

Its an ideal place for students and young people who want to visit a city and dont care enough about the quality of the courtins-we were sightseeing all day and come back at night during 3 of 5 days we were there.
I wouldnt recommend it for families or elder couples- some nights was a little bit noisy and people who work need a calmer place for vacation.
Next time im going to visit Milan with my band, Ill really stay there again :)

Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
1  Thank Aggeliki A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2012

From the photos on the website hostelbookers.com,hostelworld.com and others hotel greco is a two star hotel and the photos lead you to think its a bargain for milan, the reality of it is its 40mins from the centre of milan, its situated in a ghetto area of the city down a small side street overlooked by flats. Once we arrived we began seeing thngs which didn't meet the description or photos. We checked in with an unhelpful girl who spent most the time chatting on the phone. When we finally got given are room it was next to reception and the breakfast area. When we opened the door we were faced with plaster falling of the wall a smell which you normally get in a celler very damp and musty, little natural light and a filthy bathroom, I spoke to the receptionist who called her manager who offered us another room but we decided against it. They wouldn't give us our money despite us not staying and our complaint. The receptionist spoke little English but I speak Italian and told her its wrong to promote the hotel as they do on the net.she said the photos are five years old so what do we expect. I didn't want to argue as the girls we were travelling with had already been heckled and shouted at in the street we got the car and went to hotel acca about two miles away which we booked through laterooms. Please see acca review.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tog81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2012

Ii do not have, what to say more about this place... Everything was already told. Actually, When we arrived, there was a problem with a booking, even though I had a reservation so many month ago... Probably because of overbooking they couldn't accommodate us. BUT! The young receptionist was so kind, he called to some of his friends and they could accommodate us at BnB Music...

For the same price the BnB Music wasn't even totally finished, yet. Even though, this place was just 800 meters far from hotel Greco, the neighbourhood was completely different - more warm and welcoming.. you do not have to worry about your wallet, car or girlfriend... We were staying there actually even before the opening. So nobody was there except us and some two british girls... And even though the hotel was not completely finished (few details left)... It was truly great accommodation for such a price with kind receptionist and helpful and willing staff...

Room Tip: Choose some other hotel instead... I can recommend you for example BnB Music just a few meters away...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MarsellusWallace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milan hotels
Hotel Dateo Milano
#367 of 431 in Milan
189 reviews
Citta Studi
Ambrosiana
Ambrosiana
#303 of 431 in Milan
185 reviews
OstellOlinda
#340 of 431 in Milan
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Edy
#244 of 431 in Milan
236 reviews
Hotel Mercurio
#364 of 431 in Milan
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greco Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greco Hotel

Address: Via Giuseppe Ugolini 21/3, 20125 Milan, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Bicocca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #402 of 431 Hotels in Milan
Price Range: $43 - $238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Greco Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 199
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Greco Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Greco Hotel Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing