We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Does the job.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Del Sole

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Del Sole
Ranked #270 of 430 Hotels in Milan
Taichung, Taiwan
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Does the job.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights. Very good location, just off Corso Buenos Aires. Upon arrival (and realising we were a same sex couple) we were moved from a double room to a triple room, conveniently due to lack of space. I could understand if this was Dubai, and I know Italy is a catholic country and all, but I still don't really expect, in Western Europe, to have to sleep in a seperate bed from my partner.

The room was a good size, basic but good. However, the problems arose when my partner broke his nose and we had to stay extra nights. The hotel point blank refused any form of communication with the travel insurance, not allowing them to pay, meaning we had to relocate to another hotel provided by our insurers. As anyone can understand, having to treck across Milan with a broken nose is hardly fun. Whenever we asked the man at reception all he kept saying was "I'll ask my boss why we can't do it" and we never found out. The hotel itself was fine, the service just let it down badly.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ReeceB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    31
    30
    10
    4
See reviews for
14
24
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Anacortes, Washington, USA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

We stayed here after reading reviews. What a mistake. It was definitely economical, but so not worth it. The staff was very nice and helpful. Location was fairly close the the train station and close to a main road leading to the sites. But the room was right above a nightclub so it was very very noisy all night long until the police were called. The room came with a bathroom, but it smelled like sewer pipes. Also the electrical outlet was exposed in the bathroom. They promised free wi-fi, but it did not work in our room. We will not be back.

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking the inside rather than outside street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelfan144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Milan hotels

Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

If you are looking for a hotel with a lift this isn't for you. But I do recommend this place the guy at the reception is friendly and will offer to carry your bags. It's quiet so you will get good rest. It's near to restaurants, shopping and a pharmacy. For those who like the happy hours, a pub is just at walking distance. It's cosy and you pay for what it's worth. I enjoy my stay here and recommend this place especially if you are working with a budget. Thanks for those who had reviews for this place reading your reviews help a lot.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank derek j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
99 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2012

First, be forewarned, there is no lift and the checking is up the winding staircase on the second floor. Other than that, it's a great place to stay. My room was a good size and so was the bathroom. It was clean as well. It can be a bit noisy though. Like other reviewers have said, there is a club/bar right outside the hotel and as luck would have it, right below my room both times I have stayed here. Other than that, the staff are excellent...very helpful and friendly. And for the price, you cannot beat the location...1/2 a block off of the main shopping street in Milan, close to the train and easily walk able to the Duomo. Glad I stayed here.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that does not face the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BillYTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
91 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2012

The man at reception offered very kindly to carry our cases up and down the 1 flight of stairs and was very welcoming. There was free wifi that worked really well. Walking distance from the station.It was clean. We had a quadruple room for 2 so lots of space. The room was a bit noisy as there is a road outside the window but i have heard worse, bring earplugs just in case. We over paid for the room as there was a trade fair and for the prices on their website add on 20 euro more and you can get something a lot better even with breakfast. Shower was old but was clean. Overall good expierence.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank unally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurangabad, India
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2012

I stayed here, in three bedded room without attached toilet. The arrangement is good for the amount paid.
The hotel is @ 1 km from station, okay for walking at late also (till night 12 pm) provided that you have little group. Other wise for late hours make the taxi. It is not very small distance to walk with heavy luggage. Stick to the main road, if you devide to walk.
The person at reception is very freindly and helping person. He speack good English.
Don't expect luxury at hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for lower floor, the steps are spiral and are difficult to climb with the luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mahesh V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milan hotels
Citta Studi
Ambrosiana
Ambrosiana
#290 of 430 in Milan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Due Giardini
Due Giardini
#343 of 430 in Milan
3.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Hotel Nettuno
Hotel Nettuno
#208 of 430 in Milan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stazione Centrale
Hotel Arno
Hotel Arno
#266 of 430 in Milan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
Citta Studi
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#202 of 430 in Milan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Hotel San Biagio
#173 of 430 in Milan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Del Sole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Del Sole

Property: Del Sole
Address: Via Gaspare Spontini 6, 20131 Milan, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Porta Venezia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #270 of 430 Hotels in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Del Sole 1*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Hotel is sited in the center of Milan,very near to Central station ( approx. 400 m ),to Corso Buenos Aires and not far fromthe famous gothic cathedral of Milan, the Duomo.The Duomo is just 4 metro stops awayfrom Piazza Lima metro station:you can start your walk from here on the trailof the city's artistic and cultural beauty:the Vittorio Emanuele Gallery,the Sforzesco Castle ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Del Sole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Del Sole Milan
Del Sole Hotel Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing