We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely hotel”
Review of Charly

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Charly
Ranked #180 of 428 Hotels in Milan
Reviewed January 12, 2014

This hotel was very nice, clean, good location, nice staff....i liked everything.


Just one thing bothers me. I reserved the hotel through booking.com. Paying for one night on my credit card has been blocked. I paid by cash in the hotel. After 3 weeks money on my credit card is still not available. I have one question, is this means double pay??? I wrote several letters to the hotel, but the answer has not received

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank I_Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (316)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

53 - 59 of 317 reviews

Reviewed November 12, 2013

Overall, a very good stay.

Location - 10 mins from the central train station. 30 mins from the touristy area (Duomo, Galleria etc). We usually walked to these areas (there is a metro near the hotel which we took when it rained). There were a lot of shops along the road.

Room - wifi is strong in the room, which we got the wifi slip with password from the reception everyday. The room was reasonably sized, with a very clean bathroom. Towels were replaced daily.

Breakfast - Decent variety with cakes, croissants, jams, juices and coffee

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank woomoosan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2013

Stayed here for past 2 nights and everything was good. Our room was on the 1st level with a balcony looking out to the garden. There is no elevator so if u have heavy luggages, can try to request for rooms on the ground level. Room and bathroom were clean. Our room does not have a noise problem, maybe because it was facing the garden. Just a note that there is a weird and foul smell on the bathing towels.

Wifi will be provided if you ask the recep for it. The account lasts only 1 day. So if you are staying more than 1 night, u have to ask again. Our room is on the block without the recep and has 1 gate locked and 1 door locked at night so security is good.

Staff were friendly and as we had early checkout on the 2nd morning, we asked for some breads to bring on train and they gladly provided us with croissants and cereals. :) Breakfast buffet was good with croissants, breads, tarts, cakes, cereals, milk, cappuccino, orange juice etc. Location was also ok, 10 mins away from the station. Overall stay was good. :)

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Weizhen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Mid Sept, weather was cool and nice so no need for air conditioner. Picked room overlooking garden. Much quieter. Must take note that this hotel has no lift. If u have have luggage/s can be difficult. No porter service. DIY. Best book ground floor if have heavy luggage. Not very near railway station but walking distance. Surrounding not that great. Hotel is clean, room small n clean. Bathroom is ok for me cos I m small built but if you are big then can be uncomfortable. Continental b'fast ok

Room Tip: Ground floor if u have big n heavy bags. Room facing garden better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank annleong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

This hotel is located within 10 minutes walking from Central Milan railway station. The surroundings are not that great, because the area is empty during nights, due to the station proximity. Some good restaurants within 5 minutes walking. Centrale and Caiazzo underground stations nearby. Hotel is divided in the main building where there is the reception and the breakfast room, maybe some rooms. The dependance, where my room was, is external building where you can access through a gate which is opened remotely by the reception man, but usually it is locked. My room was on the first floor, no elevator; the building is an old-style '900, which is not well kept in some details. The room was adequate in dimensions, with a small bathroom. Bed was comfortable, and furnished in a proper way, with table, chairs and a good television set. Light insulation was good, noise insulation instead was not good. The room faced the room, which had a light traffic all day long, but during night is clearly audible. Breakfast was served in a winter garden, because it was cold, but it faced a proper garden, which is maybe used during summer. It was a good quality one, but not very varied.
This hotel is recommended with some cons about noise and price.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank Domenico D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We stayed here the Saturday night of the weekend of the nearby Italian Formula 1 Grand Prix so the price, like those of every hotel in Milan that weekend, was a lot higher than usual but it was still reasonable compared to other hotels. The room was basic, clean and comfortable (with a large bathroom) and well met our need for a place near the Milano Centrale station (about 500 mts away) to spend the night. The staff were friendly courteous and helpful. The breakfast was ok but nothing special.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

This was the last leg of our 2 week trip in Italy and we were coming into Milan through the train from Florence. We chose this location as it was walking distance from the train station where we could unload our luggages before going to see the city. It is abit far from the city centre (Duomo) - about 20-30mins walk, but you can take the Metro. The facilities were basic but clean and tidy. Wi-fi was only available for 2 hours each day which was abit inconvenient. The breakfast was generous and in general a nice, cosy stay.

Room Tip: Request for ground floor if you don't wish to carry your luggages up the flight of stairs. Howev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J1nice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milan hotels
Stazione Centrale
Mondial Milano
Mondial Milano
#202 of 428 in Milan
99 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Salerno Hotel
Salerno Hotel
#227 of 428 in Milan
158 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Esco Hotel Milano
Esco Hotel Milano
#62 of 428 in Milan
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Citta Studi
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#200 of 428 in Milan
192 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Mythos Hotel
Mythos Hotel
#189 of 428 in Milan
437 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Best Hotel
Best Hotel
#228 of 428 in Milan
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charly

Address: Via Lodovico Settala 76, 20124 Milan, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Stazione Centrale , Porta Venezia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#37 Best Value Hotel in Milan
#86 Family Hotel in Milan
#101 Romantic Hotel in Milan
Price Range: $85 - $123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Charly 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Charly reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charly Hotel Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing