We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boutique hotel with lovely courtyard”
Review of TownHouse 31

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
TownHouse 31
Ranked #215 of 428 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 4, 2013

There are pros and cons about this place and I would like to do justice to their customer service before and during our 5 day stay!
The customer service was excellent, except when it came to the size of our room!
I mentioned to the person at the desk that we had a tiny room for 2, when my cousin, who also had a room on the same floor and was travelling alone, had a much larger room and bathroom. She looked at me with a blank look on her face and asked me if I wanted to swap rooms with my cousin. I found this to be a ridiculous offer and declined.
So we spent 5 days in the tiny room, with a bathroom so small that the door only opened halfway up to the basin. The bathroom had a strange musty smell and there was no shower shelf to store our toiletries.
The room I requested was to be non-smoking but there was an ashtray on the veranda and a cigarette butt on the ground, which stayed there for our entire stay.
There is a lift, which we only used when we transported our luggage, as it was too small and slow. Our room was on the first floor.
The other problem we had was with the noise from other guests on our floor. The floor is wooden and the doors to the rooms are very close together. We were awoken several times, when people arrived late from their outings and didn’t respect that there were people asleep!
Breakfast was either at the high communal table and stools or on low tables and couches.
Breakfast food was very fresh; simple but satisfying and the coffee was excellent.
The hotel is decorated in a Balinese style and there is a lovely courtyard, which unfortunately we couldn’t use, due to the wet weather.
The hotel isn’t that close to the centre of Milan. We still managed to walk to town. When we ordered a taxi to pick us up from the hotel it cost twice as much, as they start charging from when you book. It was cheaper when we took the taxi in town to go to the hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MelbourneLola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TownHouse_Italy, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at TownHouse 31, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

Dear Sirs, We apologize yet again for the outcome of your stay in our Home. Hoping to see you back in the hotel to try out the structure next door. Head of PR TownHouse Collection

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (158)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 158 reviews

Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

Townhouse 31 is a charming little hotel just a 15 min walk to Dumo. If you like steering away from big corporate impersonal hotels then this is an excellent choice at a reasonable price. The hotel is quite and intimate, rooms boast high ceilings, marble bathrooms and some have balconies overlooking the garden. Sadly it was too cold to enjoy the garden, but the hotel served as a great base after long days/nights trotting around town. Overall very good . If you are looking for a swanky hotel bar and restaurant, then this probably isn't the hotel for you.

Thank Antonia F
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
TownHouse_Italy, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at TownHouse 31, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

Dear Madame/Sir, we would really like to thank you very much for the review that you have left. We hope to see you again in the near future in this Unique Home in Milan. Head of PR TownHouse Collection

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Service was truly excellent with staff being extremely helpful and courteous and available for any requests. As previously indicated a renovation of certain areas (as well as adding certain comforts) of the hotel (i.e. carpet on stairs, lighting in rooms, addition of carpets in rooms near the beds would be very comfortable) are needed. Very fresh and good breakfast. Wi-Fi could be greatly improved. We are from Milano and felt as if we were staying in a private home. I would not define this as a small luxury hotel. It is though a very pleasant place to be after the very hectic centre city situation.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Caravino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TownHouse_Italy, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at TownHouse 31, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

Dear Madame/Sir, we would really like to thank you very much for the review that you have left. We are very happy about the quality that we were able to offer you. We hope to see you again in the near future in this Unique Home in Milan. Head of PR TownHouse Collection

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Staff were polite and helpful, but the owner should urgently think about a total renovation! The overall condition of the hotel is poor. I fail to understand how it can be a member if the Small Luxury Hotels of the World.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TownHouse_Italy, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at TownHouse 31, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Dear Guest,
We are really sorry we were not up to your standards, however the attention at the details makes us one of the small luxory hotels of the world. Renovations are very important and we always take care about it.
We are very happy you enjoyed the courtesy that we were able to offer you.
Hoping to see you again in the near future, we wish you our best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

It was my first time to Milan and I chose this hotel because of the good reviews on trip-advisor - I was not disappointed . The staff at hotel were all very welcoming and friendly and quickly made us feel at home . We were lucky enough to be upgraded to a bigger room with a bedroom & sitting room . We also had sky tv with many English channels to choose from . The down side to our room is the smaller things eg: there was a complimentary bottle of wine but only one glass , kettle & only one cup .
Breakfast in the morning is a treat , the breakfast table is large and everyone is set a place on the table giving you a chance to interact (or not ) with other guests .
Location is also good ,from the hotel it is a 20min walk to the Duomo ,on a good day it can be a pleasant walk with lots of window shopping or coffee stops . Near the hotel there are also some restaurants and café to go to . For a first time in Milan this was a good choice and would definitely recommend others to go here .

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dolcevita_3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TownHouse_Italy, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at TownHouse 31, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

Dear Madame/Sir, we would really like to thank you very much for the review that you have left. We hope to see you again in the near future in this Unique Home in Milan. Head of PR TownHouse Collection

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2012

Milan is a tough city because one can easily way overpay to be close to very touristy locations, or (worse yet) be stuck by the train station. Townhouse 31 is a place that a Europhile can truly enjoy: elegant, understated, warm service, location an easy walk from most everything in a hip neighborhood. The staff all speak excellent English and are gracious about it.

Americans will be pleasantly surprised by the sizable (by European standards) rooms. The morning breakfast is definitely Euro in nature (fresh cold cuts, fruits, yogurts, breads and pastries) so don't expect waffles and bacon; if, like me, you don't come to Italy to eat at IHOP then you will be quite satisfied.

An excellent walk is west on via Goldoni, north on Viale Piave, then work your way west to Corso Venzia. From there either continue across the street to the park or head south (southwest, really) down Corso Venezia through Piazza Santa Babila, down Corso Vittorio Emanuele II to the Duomo...about 15-20 minutes. Make your way back up Corso Venzia and hang a left onto the tiny via della Spiga for excellent window shopping.

Room Tip: Ask to stay in the main building (I believe there are 3 total).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GolnyOtn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TownHouse_Italy, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at TownHouse 31, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

Dear Madame/Sir,
we would really like to thank you very much for the review that you have left. We are very happy about the quality that we were able to offer you. We are pleased to read any suggestion in order how to satisfy our Guests. We hope to see you again in the near future and to welcome you in our Unique Home in the centre of Milan. Head of PR TownHouse Collection

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

we had an upgrade to a lovely room with 2 beds and two big bathrooms, sky tv, very quiet. Extremely clean and the staff were so friendly and helpful. Breakfast was a true banquet and so much really excellent, they even laid on umbrellas as it was raining. It is exactly a 30 minute walk from the Duomo and a 25 min walk to the station or a 9euro taxi ride, I preferred to walk after all the food.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JPS55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TownHouse_Italy, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at TownHouse 31, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2012

Dear guest, Thank you for your comments, that are much appreciated and always helpful. We hope to see you again in the near future in this Unique Home in the centre of Milan. Head of PR TownHouse Collection

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milan hotels
TownHouse 31/33
#228 of 428 in Milan
81 reviews
Centro Storico
Santa Marta Suites
Santa Marta Suites
#20 of 428 in Milan
338 reviews
TownHouse 12
#221 of 428 in Milan
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Storico
NH Collection Milano President
Centro Storico
TownHouse Galleria
TownHouse Galleria
#161 of 428 in Milan
286 reviews
Chateau Monfort
#10 of 428 in Milan
1,498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TownHouse 31? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TownHouse 31

Address: Via Carlo Goldoni 31, 20129 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#104 Business Hotel in Milan
#145 Luxury Hotel in Milan
Price Range: $317 - $340 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — TownHouse 31 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
TownHouse 31 is a charming 4-star boutique hotel located in small elegant 19th century palace next to TownHouse 33. Recreating a home like atmosphere, the tranquil palm garden and the contemporary-ethnic style Classic rooms ensure an intimate hideaway from the hustle and bustle of the metropolitan city of fashion and design. Located in a residential area of one of the most affluent neighborhoods in Milan, TownHouse 31 is within walking distance from the world renowned showrooms, bars and restaurants in Piazza San Babila, Via Monte Napoleone, Corso Buenos Aires and Porta Venezia. Dateo train Station, close to the Hotel, enables guests to easily reach fieramilano Rho exhibition center within 20 minutes. TownHouse 31 is not inside Milan's "Area C" (limited traffic zone with entrance fee), and offers chargeable self-parking facilities nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your TownHouse 31 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Town House 31 Hotel Milan
Town Hotel Milan
Town Hotel 31

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing