We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rip Off!”
Review of Hotel Pavone

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Pavone
Ranked #352 of 426 Hotels in Milan
Reviewed May 23, 2008

We stayed here for 1 night on the way to Florence. We contacted the hotel directly and confirmed the room rate at 80 euro per couple. But when we went to check out the next morning the same person that we confirmed the rate with said 80 euro per person. There was nothing we could do since we did not any written rate quote. This put a sour note on our first trip to Italy which was still a great trip. This affected some members of our party so much that they did not want to spend anymore time in Italy. If you decide to stay here then pay for your room when you check in or get a written quote.

Other than that it wasn't a bad hotel. The room was large and clean but no elevator. Short walk to the cathedral and the castle. It's near a main road with public transport but not too noisy. Parking could be problem if you drive but there a parking garage nearby that was pricey (20 euro/24 hours)

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BuckGee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (127)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Pavone
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 127 reviews

Reviewed May 13, 2008

I requested a king-sized bed, upper floor, non-smoking. We stayed at this hotel from 5/16/07 through 5/17/07.

Hotel: The hotel -- well, not having been there before, we had a little bit of trouble finding it, which may be a function of the city itself and not the hotel. We finally hired a cab to get us there and he seemed to know exactly where it was.

Room: Our room was nice, quite noisy from the street traffic, but nice. Very roomy. The bed was firm, but bouncy. Not sure what the deal is with the firm beds in Italian hotels. Do Italians have bad backs or something? I needed my ear plugs to get to sleep because of all the street noise. There was also some sort of weird thing with the toilet, in that everytime someone in the room next to us flushed their toilet, it bubbled in ours. Odd.

Amenities: The hotel has a computer for hotel guests in the lobby which we could use for a fee.

Staff: The front desk staff in the evening were incredibly helpful for finding out information and reassuring me that we'd be okay -- we were taking the train the next morning and were feeling a bit intimidated. The chick who checked us out the next day when I was checking out was unhelpful and a bit snooty. I'm not sure what her deal was, but she was very unhelpful. I wanted to use credit card to pay for the room because I had actually thought I'd already paid online, so I wanted to pay via credit card in case there was an issue later. She was insistent that I pay with cash, even directed me to an ATM outside. She said they were having trouble getting a line for their credit card machine. Interestingly, once I told her I'd wait, their phone line came back up -- what timing! It all worked out, but that experience, along with the street noise and the charge to use their computer for 1/2 hour kind of left me feeling a little ripped off.

Overall: The room itself was nice, just noisy. If possible, I try to avoid staying at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: May 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank TheJourneyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2007

Ultra-basic. Largely clean but the glass tops on my bedside cabinets were covered in dust. I had no problems, but a colleague was bitten many times in the night by bed-bugs/fleas? I had a large, firm comfortable bed and could just about make out the screen of the 10" colour portable TV about 6-feet away. No lifts to the higher floors either...

The hotel is dark and dingy. The small reception is the bar, reception, breakfast room and lounge.

The "bathroom" was laughable. To use the loo, you had to limbo under the sink. The hotel says the rooms have air conditioning - but there are no controls in the room to use it, it was totally powered down and they refused to give the remote control to use it... so a stuffy night was had even in October.

It's close to the city centre. The Pizzera next door is very nice with a great menu and the bakery on the corner can feed four well for the price of a croissant at the Pavone. Breakfast is not included in the rate - so go to this lovely bakery and enjoy a real breakfast with the Milan public.

Our rate was the peak €220 rate - laughable when you can stay at a good 4-star business hotel for the half the price as we have done for the last 3-months. The landlord also insisted on "cash-only" at check-out...which we couldn't do so he did eventually take Amex after lots of huffing.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank glennonjd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pavone1, Proprietario at Hotel Pavone, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2011

Referring your complaint for hotel services we wish to point out that :

1) In October all the building of Milan are full of mosquitoes because with the change of weather mosquitoes try to save inside the domestic houses. So also in our hotel was presence of Mosquitoes, but not bed – bugs/ fleas, there is enormous difference !!

2)Hotel Pavone is a little and simple hotel but not dingy !! for this reason our hotel is chosen from many people ( 2.500 every year) but has no special pretence of superior quality!

3) Air condition : in October in Milan, due to its continental weather, air condition is out of use.
It is a municipality order !! I' m very sorry.

4) About rates : during the fair period Milan accommodation is very expansive.
But you are a frequently traveller, so you know that:
in the days in which you pay 220,00 Euros in Hotel Pavone,
In 4 stars hotels you not sleep for less of 440,00 Euros for night
,this is the reason for which you booked our hotel.

5) Very sorry for the check out inconvenience !!
the landlord is one of the owner, but he is a very old man and so not love electronic transaction.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2007

Stayed for 2 nights at a negotiated rate of €220.
- Rooms were clean, with a comforetable double bed.
- Excellent shutters to block out the light from outside the window.
- Close to City centre
- No assistance with luggage, with no obvious lift to get you to the floor you were on.
- Airconditioning may well be present, but there wa no way to operate it.
- No minibar or snack facilities.
- Shower door was broken.
- 14 inch colour TV which was not tuned in.
- No pay per view services
- Breafast not included. The breakfast room is a pokey little corner off reception.
- Reception was never manned after 10pm, and the doors locked to prevent access. Staff eventually opened up after 10 minutes of ringing/knocking.
- Situated off a major tram/Taxi/Ambulance route. Noisey at night
- No wireless networking
- Very expensive.
- No regular staff. Different people manned the reception each time, and wore no noteable uniform making it dificult to locate staff.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Tattysnuc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2007

Hotel not too far from the center. Small but not that quiet. Price extremely high regarding the quality of the hotel.
Staff quite rude, they do not care at all about the customers!
Very disappointing hotel.
No quality service and no help provided.

  • Stayed: March 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank adePartout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
brooklyn, new york
11
Reviewed May 16, 2006

My wife and I started our honeymoon with a night at the Hotel Pavone on our way to Greece. On the upside, the room was big enough and clean. On the downside, we had never received an email confirmation on our reservation, so I emailed the hotel directly to confirm. They did so without listing the price (100 Euro). When it came time to check out, they insisted the agreed upon price was 140 Euro and that we should consider ourselves lucky since the going rate was 200 Euro. Since they had our passports, there was little we could do to fight them. When I went to pay with a credit card they claimed the machine was broken and would only accept cash until I explained that I didn't have enough cash, the credit card machine magically began working again.

The Hotel is not particularly close to the Duomo and directions, a map etc were not forthcoming.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
Thank emanuela z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milan hotels
Cinque Giornate Hotel
#336 of 426 in Milan
121 reviews
Lloyd Hotel
#343 of 426 in Milan
291 reviews
Navigli
Zurigo Hotel
Zurigo Hotel
#169 of 426 in Milan
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Vittoria
#208 of 426 in Milan
248 reviews
Hotel Dover
#258 of 426 in Milan
49 reviews
Hotel Romana Residence
#176 of 426 in Milan
625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pavone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pavone

Address: Via Enrico Dandolo 2, 20122 Milan, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #352 of 426 Hotels in Milan
Price Range: $120 - $300 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Pavone 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Pavone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pavone Hotel Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing