We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Front Desk Staff are VERY Rude!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Romana Residence
Ranked #174 of 428 Hotels in Milan
Reviewed June 8, 2014

We stayed 3 nights here in June. The room itself was pretty good. The A/C was just OK, we had a nice view on the 6th floor with a back garden view. The bed was comfortable and the towels and bedding were good. My problem was the staff. They were just plain rude. In particular the front desk staff who seemed completely put out every time you asked them a question. The internet was terrible. We were here for work and kept getting disconnected every 10 - 15 minutes. Other people we were here with all experienced the same thing. If you aren't here for work then this isn't a big deal, but if you are then it is a real nuisance. The breakfast is plentiful, and you can order cappuccino etc. It goes until 10:30am which is nice if you are jet lagged. The location is great, a 10 minute walk to Il Duomo and a 5 minute walk to Crocetta Metro. If the staff could be re- trained on guest relations you could have a very different experience. I hope they do take notice and make sure that the front desk staff aren't rude to the customers. The way it is now would make me not want to come back.

Room Tip: High room on the back of the hotel would be best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank flipfloptraveler123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (640)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

133 - 139 of 640 reviews

Reviewed June 8, 2014

Location close to the center, front desk staff are very nice, there is also adjacent parking, the rooms are nice but the main problem is that all the time street noise despite having double glazing
Good breakfast,

Room Tip: "Rooms on the south side are quieter"
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank מאיר ג
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

After we had booked the hotel we've read bad review about the hotel but nothing is true. The hotel is very nice, excellent location and the staff very helpful. Breakfast was so delicious offering American and Italian dishes. Close to everything you can walk every where which I love it. I would come back for sure.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank c0r0zal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2014

The location was a 20 min. walk to the Duomo with some restaurants and metro nearby. The room was large but sparse; no desk, clock, kettle or extra touches. Main thing for me was no restaurant on the premise. Breakfast is served for an additional fee and is fine.

Room Tip: I had a room facing the street, but it had double paned windows. The air conditioning was NOT avail...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ellen k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2014

Milan was our first stop. Very city like and beautiful buildings. The Duomo is amazing. The service at Hotel Romana Residence is friendly and inviting. Luka is very helpful. Thank you for a memorable stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Teresa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2014

This hotel is well located near tram & metro train lines. We booked a standard double room-this room was quite good & the included breakfast in the room rate was lovely each morning. A nice stay but wouldn't rave about it. Laundry facilities would be good in all hotels but few have them. A kettle in the room would have been good too, but this seems standard in Italian hotels not to provide them. The hotel only allows air-conditioning to run in summer, despite the rooms being stuffy even in April, so you have to open windows instead-this is not good when your room faces a busy road where trams run.

Room Tip: Maybe ask for a room at the back of the hotel as we had one at the front where the tram line runs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rachel3186
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2014

Because of previous reviews I expected to have a bad experience in a dodgy hotel, but I was nicely surprised.
We booked a room for three people and it turned out to be an apartment with bedroom and living room. We had plenty of space. The extra bed in the living room was a sofa bed but it was so big (king size) and comfortable that I wouldn't think it was a sofa bed. The bedroom was facing the garden, the living room had a street view. I didn't find it too noisy apart from the times when police or ambulance was passing, that was happening quite often though. The bathroom was fine, only the temperature of water in the shower was changing accidently for some reason sometimes.
We had free wifi in the room, which was working ok even though we were on the 7th floor.
The location wasn't too bad, 10 minutes walk to Duomo, but now knowing Milan I'd rather book somewhere closer to Brera area.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diana G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milan hotels
Canada Hotel
#31 of 428 in Milan
1,220 reviews
Lloyd Hotel
#348 of 428 in Milan
300 reviews
Centro Storico
IH Hotels Milano Ambasciatori
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navigli
Zurigo Hotel
Zurigo Hotel
#175 of 428 in Milan
384 reviews
Uptown Palace
#60 of 428 in Milan
1,632 reviews
Best Western Hotel Ascot
#256 of 428 in Milan
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Romana Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Romana Residence

Address: Corso di Porta Romana 64, 20122 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#124 Luxury Hotel in Milan
Price Range: $105 - $272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Romana Residence 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Romana Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Romana Residence Hotel
Romana Residence Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing