We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Romana Residence
Ranked #177 of 431 Hotels in Milan
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
105 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Outstanding Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

I have stayed here 3 times over the past 3 years and each time I have been absolutely delighted by the level of service and the rooms allocated. We specifically request a room overlooking the garden of the hotel as it is quieter than the rooms facing the street, the view is also beautiful with the unusual garden and various churches nearby, you can hear the bells chiming. I cannot say enough about the rooms at this hotel, they are spacious - this time we did not get our usual room but got another one on the same floor (5th) at the end of the passage. What a delightful surprise - spacious seperate lounge dining area with fully stocked fridge which overlooked the Corsa Romana, seperate area for hanging your clothing and then the bedroom which overlooked the garden and was delightfully quiet. The beds in this hotel have to be the most comfortable I have ever slept in, in any hotel. The bathroomsare so clean they sparkle. We arrived quite early at the hotel before the usual check in time but it was no problem, if we could just wait a short while our room would be ready so we went and had some tea and on our return checked into our room. This time round we had a very early departure and needed a transfer to the airport at 4.30am plus a wake up call, everything went according to plan due to the excellent organisation of the desk staff. This is truly a wonderful hotel and the only place we will stay when we are in Milan, after all why change when you can enjoy such excellence.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ekrobertson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

579 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    245
    145
    48
    30
See reviews for
167
172
28
102
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

Can not fault - we had a lovely stay! Rooms were spacious, lovely decor (a nice change to most European hotel interior!), breakfast great, location perfect (direct tram line 5min to Duomo) and friendly staff which is even more appreciated with two small children. Will recommend to all our friends visiting Milan!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClaireEvans25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

I came in to the hotel early (9:00am) and the rest of my family was to join me when their flight arrived in the afternoon. I asked if the hotel could store my bags and the clerk said yes, my room wasn't ready yet (which I did not expect), but if I would like he would give me 2 rooms, side by side, for the same price and it would be ready immediately. I jumped at the opportunity and it worked out great. The rooms were spacious and clean. The beds were comfortable, and the air-conditioning was a welcome relief from the heat outside. The privacy blinds on the windows kept out the noise and light so the kids could sleep of their jet lag. The location of the hotel makes it easy to walk to the Duomo and the tram or metro to other sites. The breakfast was an excellent buffet with many items from eggs, meats, to fruits, breads and pastries. The front desk was helpful and pleasant. This hotel was an excellent choice for a family of 4 with 2 teenage boys.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toothfairy2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

The hotel located a steeps from metro station and walking distance to Duomo. Really good standard with very friendly front desk team; reach breakfast served as buffet.
Very good for short business trips.
Downside: too small lifts.


  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank z0calo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
51 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

This hotel is situated in central Milan. To get to the hotel from Malpensa airport you need to take Malpensa Express train to Milan Central Station. From the train station take the metro yellow line to the Crocetta station. The station is less then a minute from the hotel. You can take the same metro yellow line to visit the Duomo and the area around. If you have time you can walk to the Duomo, or to visit the famous opera house La Scala. The hotel is very clean and well maintain. The hotel is decorated with polished wood and gold-framed art. The staff was pleasant and helpful. Breakfast was excellent with many choices and excellent pastries. The rooms were extremely clean and well maintained. The room had a fridge, a mini bar and a bottle opener. Internet access was available through Wi-Fi and was included in the price. The Wi-Fi worked very well for my needs. In conclusion this is an excellent hotel which is reasonably priced and well situated.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Horea R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Floreat, Australia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

close to Milan's central attractions and the metro.Milan tired and dirty, lots of graffiti around hotel, but there is secure parking beneath the hotel (for a price)

breakfast was fine. Wi-Fi is avaliable in the room, but is very poor.

Front counter staff professional but not friendly or welcoming. Rooms decor really dated. Glad to get out of the lifts as they are tiny.

Not a four star hotel

Room Tip: Avoid rooms in front of hotel;even the double glazing doesn't prevent the tram/ road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davrel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

This hotel is in a great location, it is in walking distance to the Duomo. The Rooms were very spacious and clean. Fabulous breakfast attended to by very friendly staff. The staff at the front desk speaks English quite well. However, don't ask them to be your concierge, you're better of by reading about what to do and where to go. For dinner, there is a wonderful Italian Restaurant nearby its name is Manhattan with original cuisine and excellent service.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank harob100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milan hotels
Canada Hotel
#34 of 431 in Milan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,080 reviews
Lloyd Hotel
#342 of 431 in Milan
3.0 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
Navigli
Zurigo Hotel
Zurigo Hotel
#164 of 431 in Milan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uptown Palace
#50 of 431 in Milan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,495 reviews
BEST WESTERN Hotel Ascot
#299 of 431 in Milan
3.0 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
Navigli
Hotel Dei Cavalieri
Hotel Dei Cavalieri
#102 of 431 in Milan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Romana Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Romana Residence

Property: Hotel Romana Residence
Address: Corso di Porta Romana 64, 20122 Milan, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#124 Luxury Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Romana Residence 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Romana Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Romana Residence Hotel
Romana Residence Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing