We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Milan Hostel Colours
Ranked #109 of 291 Specialty Lodging in Milan
Reviewed July 7, 2013

While not smack bang in the centre of town, Hostel Colours is not too far out to be inconvenient. However, the area is not particularly busy at night, and I got in very late on my first nights and felt slightly wary of how vulnerable I was trying to navigate the streets from the metro when I'd never been there before. Luckily I had screenshotted the walking directions and map from Google directions on my phone before I left, so I knew where I was going even though I didn't have a map of Milan yet.

There was some confusion one night because too many people seemed to be booked into our room, and the guy from reception all of a sudden seemed to lose all of his English speaking ability. It got sorted eventually, but it was annoying and an indicator of the organisation skills of the staff and the system.

Breakfast is free, but basic. Expect plain croissants from a package and possibly some bread, with a few spreads available. If you are on a budget and don't want to buy dinner, there are 2 supermarkets within quick walking distance and a fridge that you can store your food in. However, there is no stove, just a microwave and a toaster oven, so be aware of that when making food choices.

The common areas are nice, and during the busy season, it is very easy to make friends if you are willing to introduce yourself. Otherwise, it is equally as easy to sit on your own on your phone and not meet anyone for your entire stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TazG303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (182)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

83 - 89 of 182 reviews

Reviewed June 15, 2013

The staff was extremely friendly. The entire facility was extremely clean, and whenever we had questions about Milan (or Lake Como), there was someone there who was willing to help us.

The breakfast is not good at all, so be prepared to supplement it with food from the near by grocery.

My main complaint is that if we wanted to leave the building, we had to ask the staff to press a button from behind the desk in order to unlock the very thick and sturdy main door. Not only was this inconvenient, since the door to exit is down the hall from reception, but it is also a VERY DANGEROUS FIRE HAZARD. If there were a fire, there is a high probability that people would get stuck inside.

Room Tip: If you are traveling in a large group of people, you can email them in advance and request that your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rhea A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

I have nothing but positive things to say about this hostel. It's nicely furbished and everything was exceptionally clean. The rooms are massive and the bathrooms are very nice. Staff are friendly/knowledgeable, there's a good common area however when I was there I didn't really see anybody but myself; I can't say it's good or bad for a single traveller, indeed when I visited it might just have been a quiet period (there was little atmosphere with other guests) but certainly it has the potential to be a really nice hostel and again the staff are great! (I accidentally booked for two people instead of one, and I only got charged the first night for two and the second night they only charged for one which is nice).

I found the location fine! Being in a hostel you cannot assume to be within one minute of the major sites and city centre. It's just a short metro ride to the centre. If you're on a budget, the pizza place just in front of the subway, 1 minute from the hostel is great for a cheap snack :)

One minor point- Check where this hostel is on a map before you go! I spent over 30 minutes trying to find it, and nobody seemed to know the street name. It really is less than 5 minutes from the metro stop but when you're presented with several streets in front of you it's difficult to know which to take.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

We stayed here twice when we were backpacking in Europe and it was great both times. The staff are its biggest advantage! They are super friendly, welcoming, funny and just generally fantastic. We felt right at home here from the moment we arrived. The prices were reasonable, the room we stayed in was fantastic. We stayed in a double room with an en suite - both were very clean and pretty. We would definitely stay here again. The only negative note was the kitchen facilities. The kitchen was a microwave, sink, toaster and kettle. It would have been great to have a hot plate to boil our rice on.
There's a big TV, the breakfast is great, there's an xbox but limited games and you have to leave your passport with them while you play.
Really great hostel. Recommend a stay!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EloKids13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

The rooms were clean, the bathrooms were clean, the lobby was clean. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Great value for the money. A little disappointed that the lobby closed at midnight (reception is 24 hours). It just kind of forced us to go out a bit earlier than expected. It could be a little more social with the help of some music or something, but oh well. Lockers in the lobby and rooms, so I felt safe. Would definitely stay here again if in Milan. Location is close to a metro stop as well. My only real issue is that they ran out of towels (how that happens, I don't know) but they got some in the next day.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maxwell G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

This hostel appears to be rather new, so everything is fresh and clean. Something I appreciated very much. The staff was wonderful and very helpful. Warm smiles and quick with a joke; always very pleasant. The beds were reasonably comfortable, and I think the rooms all have a maximum of four people (at least the ones I saw). The common area was large, with a big screen TV, video game system, free wifi, had a pretty good bar (I liked the Rubik cube stools...you'll know what I mean when you see them), and included a decent breakfast (I am usually quite critical of the so called breakfasts served in southern Europe). The one possible drawback to this hostel is its location being a little away from the city center. However, being steps from the subway station, getting to the city center or train station is very easy and fast. The neighborhood has all the amenities you could need, including a laundromat, grocery store and bank machine, all less than a two minute walk from the hostel. I was very pleased with my stay and would stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grizinator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

It is not in the centrum of Milan but it is located just a few steps from subway station so acces to the city is very easy and it takes just a few minutes. The area is calm and it's looks safety. The builiding is nice, there is a huge patio where you can seat and watch TV or talk with other people. Rooms are quite big and comfortable- every room has own bathroom on the same floor. There is a free WI-FI on the lobby. The staff is extremly nice and there is someone on the reception 24h. There is also free breakfast from 7-9.30. I will recomend this hostel for everyone!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wiktor88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milan hotels
Koala Hostel
#7 of 291 in Milan
446 reviews
Mio Hostel
#142 of 291 in Milan
144 reviews
Navigli
New Generation Hostel Chic Navigli
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Citta Studi
New Generation Hostel Urban Citta Studi
Citta Studi
Miss B&B Milano
Miss B&B Milano
#201 of 291 in Milan
15 reviews
Lumiere Hostel
#120 of 291 in Milan
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Milan Hostel Colours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Milan Hostel Colours

Address: Via Desiderio 24, 20131 Milan, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #109 of 291 Specialty Lodging in Milan
Price Range: $24 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Milan Hostel Colours 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Milan Hostel Colours reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing