We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent budget choice in Milan”
Review of Hotel Aurora

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Aurora
Ranked #198 of 428 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 10, 2013

I stayed last week at the Hotel Aurora on the last night of my trip, and was very pleasantly surprised. I did not do too much investigating before booking the hotel but I doubt you could do much better for this price, location and level of comfort in Milan.

I walked from the Central Station with a light bag and reached the hotel on the Corso Buenos Aires in about 15-20 minutes. The hotel is reached by walking into a large courtyard from the street, where there are other businesses, and then going up to the first floor. My room was en-suite, clean, with a comfortable bed and small but decent bathroom. The manager was a friendly and helpful guy, and you can use the hotel's computer in the lobby for free.

There's no breakfast in the hotel but there are several good cafes for a morning coffee and croissant within one block of the hotel, and the Porto Venezia metro station is just a very short walk away. One could also easily walk to the Duomo and La Scala and Brera areas from the hotel without even using public transport.

I was very pleasantly surprised by the Aurora, and would stay there again when visiting Milan.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MichaelGTelAviv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (193)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

45 - 51 of 193 reviews

Reviewed December 29, 2012

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank A B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

The hotel is located on corso Buenos Aires, just 50 meters away from the metro station. Three metro stations away from the Duomo, the center of Milan. The area is very nice, with many shops, bars and restaurants. It is fairly cheap, considering that it is located in Milan and that it is a hotel. Reception staff is very friendly and helpful. Rooms are small, but clean. The hotel is located on the first floor of a residential building, but there is an elevator. Free wi-fi is available to the guests. We booked online through one of the commercial booking sites so we did not have free breakfast inluced in the price, but we were told by the staff that we could have book the room through their own web site and in that case we would get that free breakfast. :) Anyway, if you're on a budget and do not want to stay in a hostel, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Livia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

Great service. Donato is really helpful with all the suggestions and directions. It is located right in the middle of Corso Buenos Aires, with loads of shopping. There is this fantastic gelato shop right opposite the hotel. We took the taxi from the train station costing about 10Euros because we had loads of luggage.

Our room was relatively quiet, didn't heard much street noises.

I had paid so much more for a room in other Italian cities and they were no where close to this one.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank phoebe308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2012

My partner and I had booked this hotel without much thought - it was very reasonably priced for central Milan, and the photos looked good. I have to say I was very very pleasantly surprised - it is just behind the Corso Buenos Aires, but you cannot hear the noise at all. Our room was very well made, and had an ensuite bathroom and a TV, a desk, lots of storage space and wifi came free with the room.

The reception staff were the picture of politeness, recommending places to go and giving ideas about restaurants which we could visit.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank osalinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2012

Hotel Aurora is a quite small (around 15 rooms), family-run hotel right in the middle of Corso Buenos Aires, 150m away from Porta Venezia metro stop and tram n°5 and 33. Very handy location.

The hotel lacks a dining room, relying on the bar 10 meters away to offer breakfast (italian style only). You can order an espresso from the coffee machine in the lobby free of price though. There is no safe in the room, neither a boiler or a minibar. Room are very basic but it doesn't mean they are cheap, they are absolutely in the same league as many 3 stars hotels. There is air conditioning, wifi is included in the price of the room and works good, lcd tv, telephone, some rooms have a (small) balcony, and bathroom is furnished with the usual stuff (shampoo/bathgel, soap and phon). The lift to the hotel is quite old and can't accomodate more than a couple of people with luggage. As you can also expect from an hotel that is right on a busy street like Corso Buenos Aires, there's some noise coming from outside at ever hour of the night. Windows' glasses do a great job in keeping it at a minimum and I hadn't any issue sleeping but it can bother people more sensitive to noise.
Overall, don't expect anything luxurious or a big room and you won't be disappointed.
Everything worked (which isn't something you can say of every hotel...) and was clean. I can't really believe how this hotel hasn't deserved at least 3 stars because its service and accomodation are definitely at that level. It isn't exactly cheap if you consider it 1 star but is ok if you realize it's indeed a 3 star without breakfast and its very handy location.

For what we payed it was definitely worth it, I don't regret having not booked a more upscale hotel for a nearly double rate. Recommended!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gian81_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2012

We walked to the hotel from Milan Centrale as it's located in a big shopping road and easy to get direction. Took us almost 20 minutes with heavy luggage so if you don't have trolley bags, do hail a cab. The hotel is clean and basic with comfortable bed and tiled flooring. It's an old building but quite quaint with old lift still in good order. Stayed during summer but the tiled floor we thought must be cold during colder seasons. The room size is great and toilet is decent. Had a good nite rest for our short stay mainly for shopping at Duomo, Montenapoleone, Via Della Spiga etc. Perfect location just next to Metro very accessible to the nearby attractions. Most helpful and friendly English speaking receptionists.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jaisya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milan hotels
Citta Studi
EuroHotel
EuroHotel
#112 of 428 in Milan
753 reviews
Aspromonte Hotel
#171 of 428 in Milan
319 reviews
Hotel Palladio
#64 of 428 in Milan
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Delizia
#191 of 428 in Milan
188 reviews
Hotel RossoVino - Milan
#152 of 428 in Milan
249 reviews
Citta Studi
Hotel Teco
Hotel Teco
#24 of 428 in Milan
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Aurora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aurora

Address: Corso Buenos Aires 18, 20124 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Citta Studi , Porta Venezia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#94 Family Hotel in Milan
Price Range: $69 - $190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Aurora 1*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Aurora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aurora Hotel Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing