We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for a few days”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
New Generation Hostel Urban Brera
Ranked #66 of 266 Specialty Lodging in Milan
Cluj-Napoca, Cluj, Romania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect for a few days”
Reviewed November 19, 2013

It is one of the cheapest hostels in Milan, 15 minutes by foot to Piazza del Duomo + it has a supermarket really close to it. Strong wi-fi signal even in the room, nice staff and it is pretty clean as well, as the rooms are being cleaned daily. Tip: buy something to eat for breakfast because you'll only get a croissant and a coffee from the coffee machine!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Parpala A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    115
    88
    44
    49
See reviews for
29
53
101
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Aurora, Colorado
Level Contributor
323 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

I was really looking forward to staying at the monastery hostel in Milan and had even booked my reservations in March so we could stay there on our trip in October. However, when we arrived we were informed that they had overbooked and there was no room for us there. It was not a very welcome start to our trip to Italy and more than a bit dissapointing, especially since I had made my reservations 8 months prior to our visit and they waited until we arrrived to inform us that they gave our room away to some one else. They offered us a "discount" to stay in their other facility, but it was only 4 euro less and way out of the city center where I had planned all of our activities for. I felt the offer was an insult and they should have tried to make up for it more than that. The metro fair just to get to the new location was about that price, plus the amount we had already paid for the metro just to get there the cost was way more than their discount made up for. The desk clerk was not apologetic at all until after I called booking.com agent and they worked hard to find us another location right away, but even then not really. If they knew there was a problem with their booking system on their computer they should have informed us before our arrival. Walked away feeling gypped out of our opportunity, frustrated and with a bad taste in our mouths for the monastery hostel.

Room Tip: Call and verify reservation prior to arrival.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wyldecamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Milan hotels

Cairo, Al Qahirah, Egypt
Level Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013

this is nice hostel .. well furniture, nice facilities, near by sightseeing
friendly staff and very helpful
but breakfast is only one croissant and one Coffee that's it
but it's on total is good one and on budget

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sameh B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casablanca, Morocco
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

A busy & full establishment, clean & efficient. Prebooking & prepaying meant it only cost €19, so very economical. Breakfast was a bit farcical, each guest was issued with one croissant - no more, no less! A good & safe budget place.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sidg02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Hostel is located close to the centre of Milan and easy to get to from the metro.

I was a bit concerned on my arrival with a cockroach running across the floor (which was stamped on by a member of staff, the remains were then left...) but didn't see anymore. In my mind to be honest these things happen.

The hostel is functional and cheap, not the best hostel I've stayed in (certainly not the worst!), and for good value accommodation in Milan it's probably hard to beat!

Bed are fairly comfortable, and the rooms are spacious. The lockers are a good size, and you don't need to bring your own padlock for them. You are provided with a bottom and sleeping sheet, and pillow with pillow case.

Bathrooms are a good size (no lock on door...) and fairly clean, though could have been cleaner (fairly regular hostel standard).

Overall, it's a regular hostel, but considering it's in Milan is very good value!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mshellyoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quito, Ecuador
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013

The hostel is well located a few stops in the metro from Mlan train station ( Turati stop) . And to stops to the Duomo.
Hostel is fairly clean, but rooms are small. I has an interesting concept of placing beds to give some privacy in a small space. bathroom is small with a small shower.
Please note that there is a charge (a few euros per bag) if you wish to leave luggage in case you arrive before check in time of wish visit the city after you check out.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kafu123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Before arriving in Milan, I was skeptical of this hostel with all the recent negative reviews. At check-in we received a less than warm welcome and we couldn't quite figure out why there were two employees but only one working with a queue building. It was a stressful check-in and the lobby was a bit dirty, though we were pleasantly surprised when we got to our room. For the price, it had all we needed for our stay and had an excellent location for sightseeing. Would recommend this hostel to anyone on a tight budget and not looking to spend a lot of time in their room.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nlfoster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milan hotels
Brera
Hotel Cavour
Hotel Cavour
#86 of 428 in Milan
642 reviews
Citta Studi
New Generation Hostel Urban Citta Studi
Stazione Centrale
Ostello Bello Grande
Ostello Bello Grande
#1 of 266 in Milan
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koala Hostel
#4 of 266 in Milan
428 reviews
Brera
Brera Apartments
Brera Apartments
#21 of 266 in Milan
169 reviews
Navigli
New Generation Hostel Chic Navigli
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Generation Hostel Urban Brera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Generation Hostel Urban Brera

Property: New Generation Hostel Urban Brera
Address: Via Renzo Bertoni 3, 20121 Milan, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Brera
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 266 Specialty Lodging in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — New Generation Hostel Urban Brera 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a wing of a Franciscan Friars' convent, this dynamic hostel is a 2-minute walk from Milan's Turati Metro Station, in the heart of the fashion district, and just 2 stops from the Cathedral. Rooms and dorms offer free Wi-Fi. Rooms and dorms at the Monastery Hostel offer air conditioning, an en suite bathroom and a small fridge. Each comes with allergy-free linen, a secure locker and mosquito nets. A toiletry set is available upon request. The Monastery boasts a 24-hour reception and a free internet terminal. Facilities include a mini market, a lounge area with board games and HD TV. You can also use the equipped kitchen for free. Friendly staff are available for tourist information and restaurant recommendations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon, HostelWorld, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your New Generation Hostel Urban Brera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing