We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect for the tram ride”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Biocity Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Biocity Hotel
Ranked #23 of 431 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
164 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Perfect for the tram ride”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

We stayed at Biocity for 4 days and were quite impressed. The place is spotless, and the room, while not huge, had enough room to move around in and was pretty well equipped. The bathroom was very nice, and the heating very effective. Breakfast was fine, if not amazing, though availability did vary a bit depending on when you arrived. There's not much of a lounge, though, if you want a change from your room.

The two guys who ran the place were always very friendly, and we never doubted that they'd be there to help if we needed them. We were woken up quite early one morning by banging from the building site next door, but I guess there's not much they can do about that.

One of the nicest things about the hotel was that although it was a little way from the historic centre, and the nearest metro was not exactly round the corner, the tram stop at the end of the road provided a service with one change (#9 to Repubblica then #1 from the same platform) right to the heart of the city, passing all the shops on the way. And all in proper 1920s tramcars - still in common use around he city, alongside newer times on other routes. What this meant was that they journey in and out of town was very much part of the trip - and all for a little over 4 euros a day for the freedom of the system.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Carpentr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

658 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    368
    257
    26
    4
    3
See reviews for
80
298
51
89
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
117 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

I chose this hotel because of its proximity to the rail station which is a few minutes away walking!
The district is not the best one in Milan but the staff and the hotel itself are really great.
The buildign is new in a quiet street.
As I said the staff is excellent, they are nice and very helpful :)
The only "bad" thing is that it is a bit noiisy. You can easily hear everything from the rooms upstairs or next door...

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fran2611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013

The good thing about the hotel is that you can walk there from the train station. So if you need to catch a train in the early morning, it's a good choice. The hotel was very clean and the staff was helpful.

I have only a few negatives. The neighborhood doesn't look that great. The area is completely surrounded by tall apartment buildings. Also, the modern design of the room with the low shower door, purple bathroom lighting and hard bed was a little uncomfortable for my taste. Still, the room was spotless.

Room Tip: Perhaps avoid a first floor room. The room on the first floor gets lots of noise from the front desk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Stayed at Biocity for work.
The room was just right for me, very clean and homely with good Wi-Fi connection.
Nice breakfast and friendly and helpful staff - big thank you to Andrea!
I'd definitely stay here again when I'm next in the city.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FunkyFoncs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

It's a short tram trip (or about a 15 min walk with luggage) from the railway station, easily located, the staff were courteous and spoke good English, breakfasts were varied and plentiful, room was great (the only drawback was that there was no lift, however the staff carried our baggage up and down the one flight of steps - which was a great help) You can arrive earlier or leave later than your booking as there is a guest lounge and they will keep your luggage safe for you

Of the 5 B&Bs we stayed in in Italy, it was one of 2 that we gave 5 stars to

Just a wee word of advice, - when you go out, the power in your room goes off, so you can't charge electronic devices while you are out and about

There is not a huge choice of resturants etc near the hotel - you may need to go a fewe more blocks to get what you are looking for

Room Tip: All rooms seemed Fine, ours overlooked the street but there was almost no traffic noise at all even...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Brian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
134 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

I stayed in Room 204 on 21/12/12. Excellent value for lovely accomm in pricey Milan (EUR70/single incl B/F). I have been to Milan a few times and I can assure you that the other hotels around Milano Centrale are NOT as nice as this and cost more! I don't understand the Italian hotel star rating system - a hotel almost exactly the same as this in Parma where I stayed is marked 4 star (Savoy Hotel). In any case, this is equivalent to 3 star property in Australia - like Ibis or Travelodge (but smaller scale).

Funky, modern B&B - good practical design. Heating worked well. Nice rainwater showerhead, big flatscreen TV easy to operate with BBC/CNN. Kettle & hairdryer. Good stock of drinks in minibar & not expensive. I LOVED the gorgeous breakfast room - so cosy to sit there & b/f starts early from 7am (perfect) - cakes, panetone, meat, cheese, rolls, yoghurt, GOOD COFFEE and fruit. The adjacent courtyard area would be nice in summer. Professional service. I will definitely stay again in 2013. Good find.

The only consideration for some people is that it is a good 15-20 min flat walk from the airport bus terminus at Milan Centrale - if you are fit, have a good wheels on your Samsonite and in good weather, this is fine. Otherwise, plenty of taxis waiting outside Centrale. Also, Biocity is in a quiet residential neighbourhood in a slightly run-down area - OK for 1 or 2 nights in transit. You may prefer to go closer to Metro Duomo or Metro Montenapoleon stations for a more "happening" and inviting neighbourhood.

PS Yasmine's Tip ... go and have a cocktail at the Bvlgari Hotel near Metro Montenapoleon - preferably in summer time in the garden bar - the canapes that accompany your drinks are amazing and if you have champagne taste and lemonade money like me ... you won't need dinner ;-) (albeit last time I did stay for dinner and that was fantastic!) but make sure you dress UP to get through Security ha ha

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank YasmineinSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel for 2 nights. We chose it because it was close to the train station and we had an early morning train and there were good reviews on Trip Advisor and it was reasonably priced. The hotel is new and clean and perfectly comfortable with a comfortable bed and nice linen. If you didn't need to be near the station it might not be your first choice location because there isn't much in the way of restaurant or appertivo bars in the area bit trams and the metro are close and you can walk to Duomo in half an hour or so. Staff were helpful. The only negative is that we were on the first floor and noise traveled up the stairwells in the mornings, but that is the only reason I gave this hotel a "Very Good" rating rather than "Excellent". I would recommend.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xhlgette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milan hotels
Milan Suite Hotel
#22 of 431 in Milan
605 reviews
Lancaster Hotel
#20 of 431 in Milan
768 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Hotel Berna
Hotel Berna
#14 of 431 in Milan
6,195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Citta Studi
Hotel Teco
Hotel Teco
#25 of 431 in Milan
430 reviews
Grand Visconti Palace
#33 of 431 in Milan
1,696 reviews
Navigli
Residence & Hotel Aramis Milan Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Biocity Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Biocity Hotel

Property: Biocity Hotel
Address: Via Edolo 18, 20125 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Stazione Centrale , Bicocca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 431 Hotels in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Biocity Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, HostelWorld, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Biocity Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing