We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very helpful staff”
Review of Best Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Hotel
Ranked #228 of 428 Hotels in Milan
Reviewed May 11, 2012

We stayed one night in this hotel. The location is quite good: very near to the main train station and to corso Buenos Aires;The room for 4 was small but the beds were comfortable. No much space to move in the room and where to put the clothes; The bathroom condition is not very satisfactory : there is a shower but no cabin shower; The breakfast is ok; The staff very helpful; We could buy the bus ticket for the airport directly form the hotel reception. There is a nice garden inside the hotel

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank albenea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (342)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

79 - 85 of 342 reviews

Reviewed January 23, 2012

My husband and I were travelling to Italy for the first time and I, thinking I was helpful, made most of our lodging reservations from the US. Well I should have done more research! I made a reservation at a B&B in Bovisa, a suburb of Milan, that was miles away from the town center and the main train station. When we arrived at this B&B, the managers were nowhere to be seen and curious neighbors kept peeking out of their curtains to look at the disgruntled, jet-lagged Americans! We didn't know what to do. Not only were we stranded in an unknown suburb but we were stranded in a suburb where most folks spoke Italian only. We had taken beginner's Italian but nothing prepares you for speaking and thinking quickly on the spot.

After hours of searching for a hotel on foot that could accommodate us (everyone was booked!), we finally found the Best Hotel. Rick Steves spoke highly of this place in his 2009 travel guide as a budget accommodation and we were keeping our fingers crossed they had space.

When we informed the front-desk helper that we had no reservation but that Rick Steves recommended this hotel, they worked magic to only ensure we weren't charged for our failed B&B reservation in Bovisa but they moved some reservations around to ensure we had a room for the night.

Now don't get me wrong..this isn't the Four Seasons or even a Hilton or Marriott for that matter. We wouldn't have chosen to spend our entire Italian vacation here. But the staff went out of their way and beyond to help us. The room was small but we had our own bathroom en suite. And to be quite frank, after travelling for over 15 hours with little sleep, the Best Hotel was simply the BEST. The front desk staff recommended excellent pizzerias and eateries in the area. If we were in a pinch, we'd stay there again! They saved us!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank April9Bride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2011

Our room was very small and basic but it had everything we needed including an air conditioning & a TV which you could change to english! The breakfast was very basic and the coffee was very bad but we were able to bring down our own coffee which was good. The only things missing from the room were a safe, a bar fridge & a hair dryer. The staff at reception were very helpful and there is a small court yard out the back which was nice to site in & enjoy a glass of vino! Internet access is provided at a small cost & the hotel is in a great location close to the central station, the local shopping strip and the metro. The bed was comfortable & at nite you couldn't hear any noise outside with the shutters & windows closed which was great!

Room Tip: rooms facing the hotel courtyard were quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laylak1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2011

I chose this "hotel" as it was close to Stazione Centrale which I wanted to use so I could travel the city and go by train elsewhere. The surrounding area seemed extremely dirty but there were some works on the road, but it did not seem safe either.

After finding the hotel fairly easily, and checking in the afternoon it dawned on me when I saw the state the garden was outside what I was in for for my room. After receiving my key and navigating my way through laundry left in the aisles with nobody in sight(this would be a regular occurance) I arrived and opened the door to find....

1) A used unmade bed the size of a dwarf;
2) Cigarette astray full of used cigarettes that left the worst smell known to man;
3) Towels on the floor and unflushed urinal.

Let me tell you it looked like a squatter had stashed themselves into the room. The worst part was after telling them in the most polite way possible - they told me to go into the garden for 30 mins instead of giving me another room!

So going back (in hindsight I should have left but I had paid for the three nights already) I had to grin and bear it. What you will find in the room apart from previously mentioned:

* A dirty bathroom that a skinny person struggles to fit in and close the screen for fear of breaking the glass - lets not forget the folding sliding door! Horrendous!.
* Dirty windows;
* Dusty airconditioner where you would breathe more dust than oxygen;
* Holes in the roof. There were two smoke detectors, one that didn't work, and one with a hole where I presume a third one was.
* A light (two lights, if you're lucky because one light in my room didn't work);

* Rodents - this was not in my room but in the room next to me. When you have two or three women in the room next to you screaming in a way your mother does when she sees one and hearing feet jumping up and down on the ground.... what else could it be. I giggled when they asked the occupants to leave for 30mins... because I assume they were going to "shoo" it off to another room where someone was sleeping. That night I didn't sleep well.

The one aspect that was good I stress was the location. On the second day the lady there helped with a map which was nice. If you are expecting a nice continental breakfast, the only thing fresh you should expect is the orange juice. Everything else is pre-packaged in plastic.

Lock your bags and keep your passport with you - I was not comfortable leaving my valuables behind.

Better still - do not visit this hotel. I will post photographs later.

Room Tip: One as high as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank desiderious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2011

This hotel was advertised on the internet as three star. No way is this hotel a 3 star. The neighbourhood looked very seedy and was very noisy. After asking for a quiet room we were given a room on the first floor, over the street where the level of noise was horrendous. There was no air con, the shower was so small that my partner would have been stuck if he tried to get into it (we are both quite slim). There was no security and the window did not close, it also looked grubby. After seeing what it was like we picked up our passports from reception and left, we found another hotel close by. We did not feel safe and the the room was the smallest and dingiest I have ever seen. I have stayed in more luxurious youth hostels.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank Jane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2011




I picked this hotel because it's close to train station and it's called The Best Hotel. But Do yourself A Favour, DON'T STAY in this hotel. This is THE WORST hotel I ever stay. I slept with bugs and mosquitos,k the receptionist was rude and not even helping with problem. No aircon, and the fan mages a terrible sound, I couldn't sleep, they even put sticky tape on the toilet wall, I paid so much money for this hotel, i might better stay in hostel. I also have to pay 6 euro for 2 hours wifi, and it keep drop off, when o said to receptionist, he said well that's not their problem, the breakfast is terrible. They have to change their name to THE WORST HOTEL

I'm writing this to warn you
Don't ruin your holiday in Milan by staying in this hotel

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dinaglobal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2011

Booked last minute but the staff were great! They helped us with everything we needed even though we werent even there for 24 hours! The room wasn't big but it suited us fine. Only issue for us was a cigarette left in the bin from previous occupants so the bathroom smelt like smoke! I'd recommended it for a quick, budget stay.

  • Stayed: November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samserena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milan hotels
Stazione Centrale
Salerno Hotel
Salerno Hotel
#227 of 428 in Milan
158 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Hotel Bernina
Hotel Bernina
#152 of 428 in Milan
599 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Hotel Nettuno
Hotel Nettuno
#212 of 428 in Milan
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stazione Centrale
Hotel Demo
Hotel Demo
#298 of 428 in Milan
528 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Hotel Paradiso
Hotel Paradiso
#259 of 428 in Milan
156 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Mondial Milano
Mondial Milano
#202 of 428 in Milan
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Hotel

Address: Via Benedetto Marcello 83, 20124 Milan, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Stazione Centrale , Porta Venezia
Amenities:
Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #228 of 428 Hotels in Milan
Price Range: $65 - $238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Best Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Hotel Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing