We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for great location, cool hard-edge design”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
STRAFhotel | a Member of Design Hotels™
Ranked #59 of 428 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 10, 2014

The Straf is not for everyone. But Milan is a strange hotel town, with a wide divide between ultra luxury properties at almost a thousand a night, to very mediocre cramped places in desperate need of an update. The mid-price category in a decent location is hard to pin down, but this hotel does it for me and is our go-to in Milan. The location is miraculous, being a half-block from both the Duomo and Galleria, with a big department store immediately across the street. The interior design is all concrete and hard edged, and only a nuclear physicist will ever figure out all of the light switches in the rooms, but it is a great trip into the modern Italian design mind. The room size, bathrooms, etc are a great value. The desk also booked a car service to MXP for half the price that another hotel would have charged. Will stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank nicebottleofred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,104)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

420 - 426 of 1,104 reviews

Reviewed August 1, 2014

The location of this hotel - steps to the Duomo - is unbelievable. And it is one of the most reasonably priced hotels in this area. The breakfast was fine - continental, but good selections - and the bed was very comfortable. The room was very ... modern and minimalist in its styling. The floor and walls were made of concrete with little if anything for wall coverings. There was nothing which resembled a chair in the room - just two bench-style stools. No carpeting - just concrete floors. I mentioned to others it reminded me of a really nice prison cell!

The bathroom continued the unusual styling - the shower had the lowest water flow of any shower I have ever been in the world around!

For all of these quirks, I would stay here again. The value and the location cannot be beat. But be forewarned - it does look as cold and odd as it appears in all the pictures.

Room Tip: High-floor is better due to street noise. All of the rooms face roughly the same direction. Though...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Direttore at STRAFhotel | a Member of Design Hotels™, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2014

Dear Jim,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts!
Looking forward to welcoming you back
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2014

Great position close to the Duomo and Brera district but ordinary hotel-room comfortable enough but decor drab. When we checked out the clerk billed my partner for the cost even though she told him that the cost had been billed to her card already (card number taken on check in and went through even though we were told would not until check out).
Really good bar downstairs with live bands every few days but overpriced for what you get

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chas L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Direttore at STRAFhotel | a Member of Design Hotels™, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your message and thoughts.
Would you be kind enough to contact us directly at the hotel to give a few more details regarding to the alleged charge for the second guest? I would like to find out more and investigate, unfortunately I did not understand what happened although be please informd that of course the room rate may vary with singole or double occupancy.
Regards
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2014

With the Duomo and La Rinacentre (department store) at your doorstep,the location of this hotel is perfect.The rooms are uber cool featuring stone or bronze bathrooms and are larger than most. Although the breakfast is basic, ask for the hot option menu-its good value. Surprisingly for city hotels, the wifi is included. WIFI included Definitely a fabulous stay!

Room Tip: ..ask for a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Direttore at STRAFhotel | a Member of Design Hotels™, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2014

Dear Customer,

Thank you for your appreciation and comment.
Looking forward to welcoming you back
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2014

This is purely personal, the hotel felt like a dark, concrete, hard edged box. A lot of black e.g. the bathroom, the floors, the general décor. The breakfast room where you sit has stools with no back, no cooked items to eat and 'trendy'. On the up side the location is great, beds good. The staff are friendly but for us the room although 'deluxe' was small with no chair to sit on, a lighting system which requires a PhD and generally gloomy.
The Straf bar is very busy with young people spilling out on the street and noisy.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank judiko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Direttore at STRAFhotel | a Member of Design Hotels™, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comment, as per my previous reply to a similar review I must say that
somethimes being an unconventional "design hotel" could be a double bladed weapon as we say over here. I am sorry you did not enjoy too much the design of our bedrooms and ambiences, however I hope that at least our staff has gone above expectations in terms of meking you feel welcomed at the Hotel. I think service must be taken into consideration very much as it is what we can work on the most to please our guests and make them feel at home, or at least welcomed very much into our hotel! We hope you would also reconsider our design if coming back in Milan, it wll be apleasure to us to welcoming you again if you wish to stay.
Regards
Osvaldo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2014

Hotel οf special quality. There is perhaps the closest hotel to Duomo, where you can-only-walk to go.
Hotel staff very polite, despite being something eccentric.
Postmodern style in the bedrooms. The walls were black. A painting on the bronze stylish.
Bathroom and hallway filled with mirrors, no mirror in the room. The gold band, like bronze. Toilet paper in “design fashion” jewelry.
The bathrooms and showers with water only from the top like making one shower at gyms. Interesting but not practical.
The back rooms were depressingly little in skylight. Willingly the hotel staff gave us a front room overlooking a small street Duomo. Noise from the bar in the evening, not necessarily disturbing.
Quality breakfast, narrow restaurant.

Room Tip: Those who need rest, better to prefer to stay in back rooms. Those who want contact with reality, th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Favor F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Direttore at STRAFhotel | a Member of Design Hotels™, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback, it is very much appreciated.
As per being a design hotel we have to stick to a concept, I may assume that sometimes this is not perceived as a traditional "feeling" when it comes to arrangement of space and perhaps unusual materials for an hotel room. Having said this, we hope you appreciated our hospitality and the team which always goes extramiles for our guests and at anytime they are in need of assistance. Please feel free to contact me directly at the hotel for any suggestions, I will be very pleased to discuss details in order to look into improvement where there will be a possibility.
Regards
Osvaldo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2014

Excellent hotel in a prime location! The website images are a true reflection of the hotels sophistication, style and cleanliness. Staff are all extremely helpful, knowledgable and friendly. Breakfast is a substantial selection of cereals, fruit, cold meats, cheese, pastries, yoghurt, juices and toast. Despite the central location it's very quiet inside. This hotel is a must when in Milan! I'll be back again!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lou W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Direttore at STRAFhotel | a Member of Design Hotels™, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2014

Thank you for your appreciation, looking forward to welcoming you again.
Osvaldo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milan hotels
Centro Storico
Room Mate Giulia
Room Mate Giulia
#2 of 428 in Milan
725 reviews
Centro Storico
Rosa Grand – Starhotels Collezione
Centro Storico
UNA Maison Milano
UNA Maison Milano
#13 of 428 in Milan
1,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Storico
Hotel Spadari al Duomo
Centro Storico
Sina De La Ville
Sina De La Ville
#133 of 428 in Milan
460 reviews
Navigli
The Square Milano Duomo
The Square Milano Duomo
#21 of 428 in Milan
763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to STRAFhotel | a Member of Design Hotels™? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about STRAFhotel | a Member of Design Hotels™

Address: Via San Raffaele 3, 20121 Milan, Italy (Formerly STRAFhotel&bar)
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Centro Storico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#52 Luxury Hotel in Milan
#73 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#82 Business Hotel in Milan
Price Range: $234 - $492 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — STRAFhotel | a Member of Design Hotels™ 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel STRAF is located only few steps from the Duomo cathedral, the fashionable Via Montenapoleone and La Scala Theatre. An inspired fusion of Italian fashion, original design and elegance, the STRAF combines minimalist design and classic Italian architecture. The 64 rooms and suites blend design and functionality, maximising comfort. Those seeking a stylish, urban hangout will enjoy the unconventional atmosphere of the STRAF Bar and the cool service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your STRAFhotel | a Member of Design Hotels™ reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Straf Hotel Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing