We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Design and quality”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
STRAFhotel | a Member of Design Hotels™
Ranked #64 of 427 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Athens, Greece
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Design and quality”
Reviewed July 7, 2014

Hotel οf special quality. There is perhaps the closest hotel to Duomo, where you can-only-walk to go.
Hotel staff very polite, despite being something eccentric.
Postmodern style in the bedrooms. The walls were black. A painting on the bronze stylish.
Bathroom and hallway filled with mirrors, no mirror in the room. The gold band, like bronze. Toilet paper in “design fashion” jewelry.
The bathrooms and showers with water only from the top like making one shower at gyms. Interesting but not practical.
The back rooms were depressingly little in skylight. Willingly the hotel staff gave us a front room overlooking a small street Duomo. Noise from the bar in the evening, not necessarily disturbing.
Quality breakfast, narrow restaurant.

Room Tip: Those who need rest, better to prefer to stay in back rooms. Those who want contact with reality, th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Favor F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Direttore at STRAFhotel | a Member of Design Hotels™, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback, it is very much appreciated.
As per being a design hotel we have to stick to a concept, I may assume that sometimes this is not perceived as a traditional "feeling" when it comes to arrangement of space and perhaps unusual materials for an hotel room. Having said this, we hope you appreciated our hospitality and the team which always goes extramiles for our guests and at anytime they are in need of assistance. Please feel free to contact me directly at the hotel for any suggestions, I will be very pleased to discuss details in order to look into improvement where there will be a possibility.
Regards
Osvaldo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,045 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    399
    425
    141
    42
    38
See reviews for
173
396
62
226
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2014

Excellent hotel in a prime location! The website images are a true reflection of the hotels sophistication, style and cleanliness. Staff are all extremely helpful, knowledgable and friendly. Breakfast is a substantial selection of cereals, fruit, cold meats, cheese, pastries, yoghurt, juices and toast. Despite the central location it's very quiet inside. This hotel is a must when in Milan! I'll be back again!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lou W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Direttore at STRAFhotel | a Member of Design Hotels™, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
Thank you for your appreciation, looking forward to welcoming you again.
Osvaldo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

When I visit Milano I always stay at Straf. Best location ever. Next to the Duomo. Great hotel, modern, clean, staff very helpful, design rooms, makes u feel you belong to this design fine city. Its different from every other hotel I have been. The Straf bar next door is totally cool, open on the street, and you can sit on the sidewalk drinking your beer and eating your snack listening to great music. The only thing left to be done is the construction work right next to the hotel which has started almost 2 years ago since I have started visiting Milan often. Hope they finish soon. But even so, the double windows fully protect you from any outside door
I sleep like an angel here!!!

Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank HarietTz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Direttore at STRAFhotel | a Member of Design Hotels™, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Thank you very much Heriet, you are very welcome at any time.
Regards
Osvaldo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2014

Where to begin. The room is ultra hip, modern and trendy. There were robes in the room and that was an unexpected surprise. The room was clean, and we got a good nights sleep. In all honesty though, we were exhausted. We drove many many hours from Switzerland and the last hour we had to navigate thru the streets of Milan, where the pedestrians thought they owned the street. Seriously. Unfortunately, the day we arrived there were masses of people on the streets of Milan. Unbelievable amounts of people. Hoards of ‘em. They were walking down the middle of the street, man, woman, and child, dogs and would not move, even if a car was coming.
On the contrary of the sleek ultra hip room is that it is not user friendly. After looking for an outlet for over 30 min we finally gave up and called the front desk. Silly us, there is one in the bathroom! To be fair, there was also one under the sliding door as well. We should have looked there…it’s such a convenient location.
The waste basket is actually a slot cut in the non counter top in the bathroom. After a couple attempts of trying to throw something away, we finally just found a plastic bag and started our own trash.
The included breakfast was high quality and had a bountiful selection of choices. It was actually really very good. BUT although the breakfast was good it is served in a conference room for 15. When we were there, 40 people were crammed inside. There was just no room. No room to walk , no room to move chairs and no room to carry a plate of breakfast without worrying about spilling it on Auntie Rose from London.
The two biggest issues: though are this: Upon arriving to the hotel you encounter a road barrier. The road looks like a dead end due to the obstacle and it appears that you cannot drive to the hotel. People [as mentioned above] are congregated at said barrier. By now frustration is near boiling point. IT IS ONLY those in the know, that know that the hotel front desk can magically push a button to make the barriers sink into the ground so you can pass. YOU must Remember this!!!
AND We booked the executive suite because it advertised a view of the Duomo [spires] from the balcony. I guess If you went out and leaned all the way to the right, you could in fact see the spires…so it wasn’t false advertising. But lets just say it wasn’t what we visualized.

On a positive note, all of the staff were very helpful and seemed genuinely interested. AND the Duomo is right across the square.

Room Tip: Take a cab and skip a driving hassle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank aztraveler60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Direttore at STRAFhotel | a Member of Design Hotels™, responded to this review, June 28, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feed back, which is very accurate and it allows me to look into things properly!We always suggest to our guests to refer to us on site, myself and my team are always happy to listen to suggestions and to go extra miles if required to get our guests happy. Having said this, must say that at the moment it is a bit hard to get into our street since we have an adjacet building under refurbishment, however this should be over by the middle of july and the last piece of scaffolding removed by then. Regarding to the issue you had at breakfats I am not quite sure of what happened since our breakfast room can host comfortably up to 38 guests at the time but service could run smooth as that is the regular set up of the breakfats room, if you wish to give me more details in order for me to carry out an investigation, please feel free to contact me directly at the hotel at any time.
Regards Osvaldo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2014

Straf is a very nice and modern hotel. Location is perfect, right next to the Duomo. We loved the boutique design and atmosphere. Staff is very friendly and welcoming and breakfast is excellent. Two issues that made our stay less than perfect : First, the beds were uncomfortable for us since mattresses are extremely hard. Second, due to ecological awareness bathroom toiletries come in huge refillable bottles, and bed linens / towels are changed only upon specific request to reception or housekeeping. While I fully agree with enviornment preservation measures I think that the common practice in most hotels requesting to put a note on the pillow for bed linen change, or put towels in a certain place in order to be changed, is sufficient. A guest should not be bothered contacting hotel staff for this purpose.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BLOYA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Direttore at STRAFhotel | a Member of Design Hotels™, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for appreciation of the hotel and feedback, your note will be taken into consideration in order to provide with a better service.
Regards
Osvaldo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zürich
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

Very nice, clean, modern and perfectly located hotel next to the Duomo. Cool style and nice staff. Can recommend this hotel very much.

Only drawback at the moment (june1014) is the heavy construction going on in the building next door. Be prepared that the work starts at 6:30am (no construction on weekends) and involves hammering. Earplugs are favorable but wont solve it completly.

Dont know how long the construction is going to take so ask the hotel for information before booking


Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank wiroe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Direttore at STRAFhotel | a Member of Design Hotels™, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comment and feed back, ufortunately construction next door is Beyond our control and we are complaining constantly also to the council, since we have not been informed of the hassle properly and especially for the welfare of our guests.
Luckily we are nearly done a very soon this should be over, at least for the most annoying part.
Thank you for your understanding and do not hesitate to contact me should you require further explanation.
Regards
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2014

Stayed for three nights on business. Room was good, in good condition, comfortable. Breakfast was excellent and hotel staff very helpful. Provided excellent recommendations for restaurants.
Position is unbeatable . Only gripe is struggled to work out how to switch off bathroom lights - the switch concealed behind a panel . Would stay again

Room Tip: ask for inner courtyard rooms as street rooms might be noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EliR255100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Direttore at STRAFhotel | a Member of Design Hotels™, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your fedback, hope you will come back soon at STRAF Hotel&Bar.
should you have further suggestions, do not hesitate to contact me directly at the Hotel!

Regards
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milan hotels
Centro Storico
Room Mate Giulia
Room Mate Giulia
#2 of 427 in Milan
656 reviews
Centro Storico
UNA Maison Milano
UNA Maison Milano
#11 of 427 in Milan
1,065 reviews
Centro Storico
Starhotels Rosa Grand
Starhotels Rosa Grand
#43 of 427 in Milan
1,759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Storico
Hotel Spadari al Duomo
Centro Storico
Sina De La Ville
Sina De La Ville
#149 of 427 in Milan
408 reviews
Navigli
The Square Milano Duomo
The Square Milano Duomo
#22 of 427 in Milan
727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to STRAFhotel | a Member of Design Hotels™? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about STRAFhotel | a Member of Design Hotels™

Property: STRAFhotel | a Member of Design Hotels™
Address: Via San Raffaele 3, 20121 Milan, Italy (Formerly STRAFhotel&bar)
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Centro Storico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#54 Luxury Hotel in Milan
#73 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#82 Business Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — STRAFhotel | a Member of Design Hotels™ 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel STRAF is located only few steps from the Duomo cathedral, the fashionable Via Montenapoleone and La Scala Theatre. An inspired fusion of Italian fashion, original design and elegance, the STRAF combines minimalist design and classic Italian architecture. The 64 rooms and suites blend design and functionality, maximising comfort. Those seeking a stylish, urban hangout will enjoy the unconventional atmosphere of the STRAF Bar and the cool service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your STRAFhotel | a Member of Design Hotels™ reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Straf Hotel Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing