We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fine, but would not stay here again” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of STRAFhotel&bar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
STRAFhotel&bar
Ranked #73 of 430 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
60 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Fine, but would not stay here again”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

I wanted to love the Hotel Straf, because of it's incredible location and unique style. But it really fell short of blowing me away. The "avant garde" style is worn and dark, and contrasts strangely with the do-good theme (including the awkward flyers at the front desk flaunting their Malawi water non-profit next to flyers for fashion parties). They didn't even have hair conditioner or bathrobes -- eco or cost-saving?

On the plus side, the staff was very helpful and the location can't be beat.

But at $350/night, I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Halle T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

864 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    310
    361
    123
    37
    33
See reviews for
125
335
52
193
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

We were lucky to book a discounted Suite at Hotel Straf just after the Milan Design Week. THe rooms are exceptionally well designed and there were two terraces partial view of the Duomo.

We would have given this 5 stars if it weren't for a 15min blackout during our nights stay (admittedly not the Hotel's fault) and also for the handbasin plug which didn't 'unplug' so we couldn't drain the water. Apart from this our final nights stay in Milan was excellent and a little luxurious.

We also ordered room service which came promptly. Our order of simple club sandwiches were OK however the food down at the bar was better. Continental breakfast was good however there is room for improvement.

Overall its a good hotel in a really great location. Would visit again for sure (if we can get a discounted rate for the Suite again!).

Room Tip: Try to find a good rate for the Suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WYWF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aqaba, Jordan
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

Very nice modern hotel with a perfect location in the heart of Milan just in front of the big shopping mall and restaurant. The bar downstair is great during the week at the end of the day for the aperitivo. Very good staff.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank M T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

This hotel is a ripp-off. The design is miserable. The black rooms seem dirty. There is no real bath-tube only a shower with cold water. We had to wait for breakfast because there were not enough seats. The price ist much to high 150/night. The ,view' to the dome is a joke

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank FlorianLeopold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StrafHD, Direttore at STRAFhotel&bar, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Mr. FlorianKlenk,

we are pleased to have recieved your feedback. We let our future guests judging, to comparing your suggestions to the other real.

Have a great future!

Max
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Hotel Straf in a group of 8. Stayed in different types of room : suite, executive, deluxe, standard. All of them are good. Reasonable sizes, cool design. You can feel a bit of the NYC vibe.
The staff are great, everyone of them. When you are traveling in big group who are coming in from different places, there are always different requests and needs. The staff at the reception, whoever on duty, has been helpful and patient, and all of our requests are fulfilled, flawlessly.
Great location too, Duomo is right around the corner.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LIGCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StrafHD, Direttore at STRAFhotel&bar, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear LIGcouple,

thank you very much for the feedback left, we are pleased to having received a positive note, and happy you enjoyed our Hotel. We hope to have been good host!

Thank you once more and hopefully to meeting and welcoming back soon at STRAF!

All Best

Max
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arkansas
Level Contributor
162 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

Was here 2 nights with a small group who'd stayed previously in upscale hotels in Rome, Florence, Siena. I admit I'm 60, but please, certain amenities are expected. The bathroom waste can was under a wooden lid you had to lift from the counter, there were no drawers for storage, the closet was as far as possible from the bed or bath. All wood was painted matte black and glass or mirrored walls reflected doors, which made the room feel confusing. Black light switches were lost on the black walls or hidden in the medicine cabinet. You stood on black wooden planks in the shower which seemed slippery to me. Instead of a down comforter, the bedding was an inflexible pad that felt like a moving van blanket. Hallways were grey concrete, or faux painted very dark colors.....depressing! In its favor, the staff was helpful, the location is close to a subway stop, easy walk to Duomo , galleria, and opera house. This hotel must appeal to an entirely different set of travelers than me as none of our 13 enjoyed it.

Room Tip: Off street, higher up to avoid hotel bar noise. They moved me at my request.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Razorsue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StrafHD, Direttore at STRAFhotel&bar, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear Razorsue,

we feel very sorry for the comment left and to do not have accomodate you in the best way, we would be happy in reading that also a sharp Design Hotel as STRAF, could easily accomodate people of every age, but we are please for being welcome and helpful.

Even all, thank you very much for the comment and for being here with us!

Best regards

Max
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

Good choice. Everything was good except some construction near the hotel that was noisy and was not informed during the reservation. Location is really good for shopping and visit places like Duomo and La Scala.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Enrique R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StrafHD, Direttore at STRAFhotel&bar, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear Enrique R,

thank you for "Good Choice", it is great readig your positive suggestion, we feel sorry for the neighborough building, unfortunately the neighborough building refurbishment is not always that noise, and if they have been, we do apologize again.

We do hope to meeting and welcoming you here at STRAF again. Thank you once more.

Best regards

Max
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milan hotels
Centro Storico
UNA Maison Milano
UNA Maison Milano
#12 of 430 in Milan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,011 reviews
Centro Storico
Starhotels Rosa Grand
Starhotels Rosa Grand
#43 of 430 in Milan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,642 reviews
Centro Storico
Room Mate Giulia
Room Mate Giulia
#2 of 430 in Milan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Storico
Sina De La Ville
Sina De La Ville
#144 of 430 in Milan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
Centro Storico
Hotel Spadari al Duomo
Navigli
The Square Milano Duomo
The Square Milano Duomo
#22 of 430 in Milan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to STRAFhotel&bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about STRAFhotel&bar

Property: STRAFhotel&bar
Address: Via San Raffaele 3, 20121 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Centro Storico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#60 Luxury Hotel in Milan
#73 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#82 Business Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — STRAFhotel&bar 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel STRAF is located only few steps from the Duomo cathedral, the fashionable Via Montenapoleone and La Scala Theatre. An inspired fusion of Italian fashion, original design and elegance, the STRAF combines minimalist design and classic Italian architecture. The 64 rooms and suites blend design and functionality, maximising comfort. Those seeking a stylish, urban hangout will enjoy the unconventional atmosphere of the STRAF Bar and the cool service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your STRAFhotel&bar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Straf Hotel Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing