We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Between average and good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Milan - Garibaldi Station
Ranked #127 of 428 Hotels in Milan
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Really nice room, very clean, lovely large comfortable bed, nice bathroom. Ran out of tea and had no milk, rang down twice and got sent teabags and brown sugar twice so gave up and bought our own!

Staff were pleasant and helpful.

With luggage you need to get a taxi from the station, good transport links with the tram stop just around the corner.

Only had breakfast the one morning very early and it seemed pretty good.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neisar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (866)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

281 - 287 of 866 reviews

Reviewed September 20, 2012

Hotel is located not far from the main train station. Took a taxi from the station to the hotel costing 6E and a short 5 minutes ride.
Room was small even with upgrade, being a priority member.
Very cold services from most staff except for one english speaking lady at the counter.
Had to pay for wifi which was not acceptable for a 4 star rated hotel with such high rates.
Hotel is near a bus/tram stop which makes travelling around Milan easy. Bus or tram no 2 takes you to Duomo within 15 minutes. Buy a day pass at the tobacco shop behind the bus/tram station.
During our stay, the tram was not operating at the station due to roadworks and we needed to change bus/tram at Lancia station.
Behind the station, a corner cafe serves decent food at reasonble prices.
Too pricey.

Room Tip: dont take the front rooms facing the road junction. Noisy at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank merc8989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Milan - Garibaldi Station, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2012

Dear merc8989,

Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to be the best Holiday Inn around. It sounds like we fell below your expectations. We take all reviews positive and negative very seriously, and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Katie J
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

We stayed here recently because we needed to be near the station.Having moved from the Doubletree to this- what a shock! No free Wi-Fi,a room you couldn't swing a cat in,shower head needed replaced,mould in shower,unfriendly and uncaring reception staff- left note for more than 2 coffee sticks-ignored- no coffee at all next night. Wi-Fi charged per hour. Breakfast was OK and staff here were friendly. No tourist should have to pay five euros an hour to find out about the city they are visiting. The cost of our stay was nearly £300 for three nights- this hotel should be DOWNGRADED to a 2 star. We spent ZERO here except the compulsory tourist tax,yet in the equivalent four star Doubletree we ate all our evening meals.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Airmilesfreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Milan - Garibaldi Station, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2012

Dear Airmilesfreak,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. I am very disappointed to hear about your experience on your recent stay with us. I want to assure you our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product. Please accept my sincerest apology for falling short of your expectations on this day especially with your experience at reception and room accommodations received.

I appreciate you taking the time to bring this matter into our attention as this is our best resource of improving guest services.

Again, I do apologize and regret that this impacted your experience at our hotel.

Sincerely,

Pam G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

I have been staying IHG hotels (especially Holiday Inns) for quite some time now and I must say this was the worst overall experience I had.
The hotel room was nice and clean. However the overall feeling I got was not good. My problems were:

The location was not "convenient" as advertised.
The Front Desk staff were not helpful in the one situation we were trying to get some room service.
Room Service ended at 9pm instead of 10pm and they only had cold items to offer
Housekeeping kept leaving only two sets of bath towels instead of 3, even though we were 3 persons in the family room

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vasos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Milan - Garibaldi Station, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2012

Dear Vasos,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. I am delighted you found our hotel nice and clean. We are sincerely sorry for the issues you had with the location of our hotel as well as the poor service you received from our staff. Rest assured that your comments will be reviewed by our team and take actions accordingly. I sincerely hope that the next time you are in Milan you will give our hotel another try.

To better assist you on your next stay, please do not hesitate to approach the manager on duty.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

It's a holiday inn so you know what you are getting.The hotel is small but staff are friendly and helpful.

Location is good and close to trams, only minor gripe was that water and toiletries weren't refilled everyday, as I say minor gripe only

Room Tip: Higher floors are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sinclair1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

More of the usual from a Holiday Inn chain as I have found that they don't tend to differ too much from city to city.

Positives:

Hospital reception staff.
Room on second floor away from street so no street noise heard from room at all.
Air con was silent and couldn't tell that it was 30c outside at night.
Basic mini gym consisting of treadmill, bike and versatile upper body weights system.
Extensive continental breakfast offering consisting of cheese, breads, pastries, cold meats etc.
Situated a short taxi journey away from the city centre however lots of restaurants in the area.

Negatives:

Hotel restaurant is expensive for what it offers. €11 for soup, €4 for a bottle of water etc. Only ate their on the first night as I was exhausted and wanted something quickly before resting for the night.
More than one of the food options was unavailable meaning choice was even more limited.
Would rather dine in a less sterile atmosphere and pay the same if not less elsewhere.

I stayed for five nights as I was working in Milan for the week but given the price I would have stayed elsewhere if it were not for the company I work for booking the hotel.

Room Tip: Room away from the main street. Generally the rooms located closest to the lift on any floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank scratchgrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Milan - Garibaldi Station, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2012

Dear Tom S,

We appreciate that you took the time to review our hotel. I appreciate the compliments on the staff and the level of service provided. It encourages our team members to work even harder and consistently delight our guests. I am sorry we were not able to exceed or at least be at par with your expectations especially with the limited availability of the food options in our restaurant. We highly value views, opinions and feedback from our guests, as this allows us to constantly improve the service we provide. Despite your disappointment, I do hope you will return to stay with us again at some future date when you can be assured of our very best attention.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2012

Clean, modern room but very noisy with the trams going by from 5am till midnight. Breakfast was a pretty basic meal - don't expect fresh fruit or much choice beyond powdered scrambled eggs and croissants. Ok for 1 night business travel but not for any more and would definitely opt for one of the other brands of hotels rather than this one. Overall it seemed more like a basic 'express' hotel than a comfort place to stay. 10 minute walk to the station but generally unlovely location on a busy built up junction with nothing of any interest within walking distance. For some fabulous food, go to scalds farini bar restaurant directly across the road and you won't be disappointed, great food at a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank frankie104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Milan - Garibaldi Station, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2012

Dear frankie104,

Thank you for taking time out of your busy day to leave us a candid review. I am delighted that you liked the room. On the other hand, please allow me to apologize for the inconvenience and negative impression you may have had because of the noise and at breakfast. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We hope that you give us a chance to change your perception of our hotel.

To better assist you on your next stay, please do not hesitate to approach the manager on duty.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milan hotels
Stazione Centrale
AC Hotel Milano
AC Hotel Milano
#97 of 428 in Milan
977 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Crowne Plaza Hotel Milan City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stazione Centrale
NH Milano Grand Hotel Verdi
Stazione Centrale
Best Western Hotel Madison
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Milan - Garibaldi Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Milan - Garibaldi Station

Address: Via Ugo Bassi 1/A | angolo C. Farini, 20159 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Isola
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#104 Luxury Hotel in Milan
Price Range: $107 - $359 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Milan - Garibaldi Station 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Milan - Garibaldi Station, Located in the heart of the city s and fashion and shopping area. All the city s main attractions are within easy reach of the Hotel using public transport: the Cathedral, The Scala Theatre, the Sforzesco Castle, the Basilica of S.Ambrogio or, for a nice stroll, Corso Montenapoleone, Corso Buenos Aires and maybe a visit to Leonardo s Last Supper, the Arcimboldi Theatre and the Brera Art Gallery. Hotel is within easy reach of the new Rho/Pero Exhibition Centre (10 km) and very close to the Milan Exhibition Centre (15 min.). Holiday Inn Milan - Garibaldi Station, . a recently-built complex, has 129 comfortable bedrooms, all perfectly soundproofed, furnished tastefully in modern style and Internet connection. The hotel has three meeting rooms especially equipped for business meetings, encounters and training courses; with fast WI-FI Internet connection. Butterfly restaurant in 'fusion' style offers care for detail and a relaxing and pleasant ambience. A Cocktail Fashion bar with daily happy hour and theme cocktails, not to be missed. Free Mini Gym at disposal daily and indoor parking-garage. Limousine service on req. Holiday Inn Milan - Garibaldi Station, for business or leisure, your home from home in the centre of Milan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, IHG, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Milan - Garibaldi Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Milan - Garibaldi Station Hotel Milan
Holiday Inn Garibaldi Station
Milan Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing