We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Noisy basic hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Milan - Garibaldi Station
Ranked #140 of 431 Hotels in Milan
Wrexham
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Noisy basic hotel”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2012

Clean, modern room but very noisy with the trams going by from 5am till midnight. Breakfast was a pretty basic meal - don't expect fresh fruit or much choice beyond powdered scrambled eggs and croissants. Ok for 1 night business travel but not for any more and would definitely opt for one of the other brands of hotels rather than this one. Overall it seemed more like a basic 'express' hotel than a comfort place to stay. 10 minute walk to the station but generally unlovely location on a busy built up junction with nothing of any interest within walking distance. For some fabulous food, go to scalds farini bar restaurant directly across the road and you won't be disappointed, great food at a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frankie104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Milan - Garibaldi Station, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Dear frankie104,

Thank you for taking time out of your busy day to leave us a candid review. I am delighted that you liked the room. On the other hand, please allow me to apologize for the inconvenience and negative impression you may have had because of the noise and at breakfast. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We hope that you give us a chance to change your perception of our hotel.

To better assist you on your next stay, please do not hesitate to approach the manager on duty.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

806 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    392
    210
    42
    30
See reviews for
122
214
66
278
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
357 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2012

10/11 July 2012. Nice hotel, clean and tidy and quiet. Disappointed that they only leave one of everything in tea and coffee tray as there was two of us in the room. They also don't leave any milk or coffee whitener, had to go to reception the both days to ask for some.
Good access to public transport but found taxis extremely difficult to get.
Lots of staff on at reception but not many that know what they are doing (maybe trainees).

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KiwiCzech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matityahu, Israel
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2012

Stayed here twice and each time was a decent clean room. Good for the business traveler.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shimon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2012

Although not the best business hotel i have stayed in, the rooms are comfortable and have good air-conditioning (which is needed in the summer months as the outside temperature can exceed 30 degrees C). The reception staff are mostly friendly (watch out for the late-at-night desk clerks!) and helpful.
The staff in the restaurant at breakfast are not that friendly unless you speak good Italian. But, at least there is a good choice of food at breakfast time and this should satisfy the vast majority of visitors.
The evening restaurant is limited and quite costsly for what is on offer. I'd check out some of the smaller, privately run restaurants in the nearby streets as these offer much better value and some offer a much bigger choice!
The hotel is about 10 minutes walk away from the Porta Garibaldi (overground) train and Metro (underground) stations.The central station is just two stops away on the Metro and you can go sight-seeing from there or Duomo (on the M2 Metro line).
The TV selection in the hotel is very poor (unless you like watching 40-minute-looped business TV if you're after English-speaking channels.
But, for a business hotel, the prices are reasonable and the rooms are comfy.
This is my fourth visit here and I would return to this hotel again.

Room Tip: There are tram lines on both sides of the hotel so, whichever room you get, you'll probably hear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JiffTuna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milan
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

good business hotel, nothing exceptional but clean and nice. some people at the reception is extremely frinedly (found some other little less help), room are nice, clean and bed is really confortable. location is relatively central but not very connected by public transport (subway 10 mins walking) I would say it is a good deal if you don't pay more than 130- 150€!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gianfausti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2012

This hotel is not really that near to the station but it is only about 10 mins walk away. We managed to find it as we drove into town - and they have a private car park which is not cheap (13 Euros a night) but is safe. The hotel had tram lines in front of the hotel on both sides but we did not find this to be a problem. The front desk were very pleasant and helpful. We went to one of their recommendations for dinner the first night and were far from displeased. The room was quite a good size and there was room to unpack.

The only problem - hence the title was that the room was swelteringly hot. Nothing could be done to cool the room except to keep the door open as it was actually colder in the corridor. The climate control just blew more hot air around the room. We asked at reception the next morning and they did something on the computer and said that this would improve. It didn't. Because of the trams we could not sleep with the windows open and so we ended up managing to sleep on top of the bed. I sweated buckets! Frankly I expect better from a hotel calling itself 3 star. Managers were not in evidence and we left the next day so we only had to endure that for 2 nights. This was a great shame as the hotel itself was not bad. If they are too mean to put on the air conditioning then please let us know.

The other thing that irritated was that they provided tea and coffee facilites - but only left one of everything. The cups were different one from another on both nights. Why? Don't the cleaners know (or care) how many people are in the room? As it was one of the cups did not fit the saucer and we nearly had an accident with a hot drink! So unnecessary.

We did not eat breakfast so we had no experience of the dining room - but the bar was convenient although requests for ice for the room were met with little enthousiasm. For me the best parts were the very pleasant front desk people - particularly the gentleman on duty when we arrived - and the free Wifi that we were given.

All in all I will not go back - this may have Holiday Inn on the door but do not expect much. I would have sent a copy of this to the Hotel Director but was just given an email "Le Direzzione" or some such - no name. Maybe there isn't one. It would not surprise me.

Room Tip: Buy and electric fan!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PAULWOODS1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Milan - Garibaldi Station, responded to this review, June 17, 2012
Dear PAULWOODS1,

Thank you for submitting your review of our hotel. We are pleased you mentioned the comfortable size of your room as well as our friendly staff. We are very sorry you found the air conditioning during your recent stay to be unacceptable. Our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas. We welcome any opportunity to improve.

I do hope you decide to give us another chance for a future stay.

Sincerely,
Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2012

This was a very good hotel. I was surprised that it was a Holiday Inn! The service was very good. Reception was very helpful/friendly. They helped me out with maps of the area and things to do/see. Breakfast was good as well. They treated my pets very well too! It's hard to find hotels that will accept my babies, so them being not only pet friendly but showing interest in my pets as well was a plus! The hotel was in a very nice location as well. I reccomend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kory W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milan hotels
Stazione Centrale
Crowne Plaza Hotel Milan City
Stazione Centrale
AC Hotel Milano
AC Hotel Milano
#94 of 431 in Milan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 919 reviews
Stazione Centrale
NH Milano Grand Hotel Verdi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stazione Centrale
Four Points by Sheraton Milan Center
Stazione Centrale
Hotel Zara Milano
Hotel Zara Milano
#176 of 431 in Milan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Hotel Tocq
Hotel Tocq
#134 of 431 in Milan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Milan - Garibaldi Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Milan - Garibaldi Station

Property: Holiday Inn Milan - Garibaldi Station
Address: Via Ugo Bassi 1/A | angolo C. Farini, 20159 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Isola
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#110 Luxury Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Milan - Garibaldi Station 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Milan - Garibaldi Station, Located in the heart of the city s and fashion and shopping area. All the city s main attractions are within easy reach of the Hotel using public transport: the Cathedral, The Scala Theatre, the Sforzesco Castle, the Basilica of S.Ambrogio or, for a nice stroll, Corso Montenapoleone, Corso Buenos Aires and maybe a visit to Leonardo s Last Supper, the Arcimboldi Theatre and the Brera Art Gallery. Hotel is within easy reach of the new Rho/Pero Exhibition Centre (10 km) and very close to the Milan Exhibition Centre (15 min.). Holiday Inn Milan - Garibaldi Station, . a recently-built complex, has 129 comfortable bedrooms, all perfectly soundproofed, furnished tastefully in modern style and Internet connection. The hotel has three meeting rooms especially equipped for business meetings, encounters and training courses; with fast WI-FI Internet connection. Butterfly restaurant in 'fusion' style offers care for detail and a relaxing and pleasant ambience. A Cocktail Fashion bar with daily happy hour and theme cocktails, not to be missed. Free Mini Gym at disposal daily and indoor parking-garage. Limousine service on req. Holiday Inn Milan - Garibaldi Station, for business or leisure, your home from home in the centre of Milan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, IHG, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Milan - Garibaldi Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Milan - Garibaldi Station Hotel Milan
Holiday Inn Garibaldi Station
Milan Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing