We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too noisy for this price”
Review of Hotel Gamma

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Gamma
Ranked #249 of 431 Hotels in Milan
Reviewed September 8, 2013

The hotel is very close to the Lambrate train station, metro line and university, which makes its position very good. I was here for a conference, which indicated this hotel as a conventioned one with specially low prices. I phoned to the hotel but they told me that this discount was over, and explained me that the price per day was about 200 €. In a second moment I checked the hotel website and I found a room for a much lower price even if the conference was not mentioned (about 100 € per day on average: a nice price in Milan). This unconsistency was a little disappointing, but due to the hotel position I decided to book here anyway. The staff is kind, but the hotel is nothing special. The room is very small, with a not so nice bathroom and above all, extremely noisy: I can hear clearly the speech of all the neighbouring guests. Moreover the closeness of the station turns now into an annoying company. I would say that this hotel is a bit over rated, both on trip advisor comments and as a three stars.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (253)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

28 - 34 of 253 reviews

Reviewed August 26, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for a month (during my business trip to Milan) and it helped me serve my tourist interest also along with my business work. The hotel is decently priced (keeping in mind the cost of hotels in Milan being busines capital of Italy) and for sure one can't expect luxury at that price point.

Best part I liked about this hotel was location, near to University so always happening place so you won't get bored even if you sit in front of hotel room window. Then walking distance from metro (if you want to roam inside Milan) and also to train station (if you want to visit places outside Milan).

Thanks to this hotel's location, on each week-end I was able to visit different places in Milan (Duomo, shopping street etc) and outside Milan (Venice, Florence, Rome, Vatican city etc)...

The rooms are OK (with double bed and small bath area, not so luxurious)...and breakfast buffet was good. There are good food joints around hotel (where you can enjoy Indian, Italian or Continental food)....The staff was also good.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Devinder_THAKUR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

The hotel is very well connected to Lambrate metro and railway station so it's very conveniently located. It's a few metro stops away from the historical center. The area itself is ok, but you will not want to visit it as there's nothing that relevant in the neighborhood.

The place is clean and the staff very kind.

I attach some pics of my room in this review. The room was quite ok. A main problem was that while I visited in June the air-condition was not activated: the receptionist said this was the normal procedure in that period of the year as hotels in Milan are not allowed to activate air-condition until the "warm season" starts, as this is "to not increase Milan pollution unnecessarily". I said it was too warm in my room anyway and that for 90 euros/night I expected to have it, no excuses. The manager agreed to start it so on 2nd night I had some air in my room...NOT. It was not working properly so the room was still warm.
Also, another problem was with the toilet flush: it takes about 30 min to get it "re-filled" after each use.
When I accessed my room I stored a bottle of water in the fridge and the day after it was still warm....of course since the fridge was unplugged, so I had to plug it and then it was fine (again, something that the staff might not notice, but summed to the other issues above make me feel quite nervous).

My room had a security-box (open the fridge to find it!)

Breakfast was excellent with several good cakes. Maybe not so much on the savory side (not much of cheese or ham).

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bluto77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

The hotel is well linked with railway and metro line, near the motorway. difficult free parking.
The hotel management is really kind and polite and helpfull for all needs.
Good buffet breakfast
The room are "Milan" size, not so spacious but enough

Room Tip: well linked with town center for those have no car.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Two_Ladies_Genoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

I spent 4 nights in this hoel. It is relatively basic , but the rooms are really clean, price was reasonable for Milan and the breakfast each morning was lovely. The proximity to the metro makes it a great base to see the city and the public transport is frequent and inexpensive.

Bed is also very comfortable!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank asmccart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Pros:

+ price
+ located close to Lambrate station, it was just around the corner from the metro.
+ staff was very friendly and professional
+ breakfast was better than excepted
+ clean!


Cons:

- The door to the corridor was not well isolated and it can get loud if you live close to loud neighbors talking in the hall.

- Not so many resturants in the area close by
- The rooms are not so pretty.
- The shower area is very small.




Great if you want to stay at a cheap, clean hotel close to Lambrate station.
Don't stay here if you think that it is important to have a lot of resturant options close to the neighborhood where you live.

If you are in Milano for a short stay and have everything (attractions so on) close at hand, then this hotel is a bit far off...

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Proline84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

I stayed in this hotel during a business trip. It is hard to know where to start in listing the negatives, but here goes; The room was small with tasteless and very tired decoration and badly marked paint-work. Nowhere seemed properly clean. I had to unplug the TV to use my lap-top. I was kept awake by noise all night. The staff were extremely unhelpful.

I would definitely not recommend this hotel. It is a scruffy place in a scruffy area of Milan.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IlkleyYorkshireSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angelo B, Direttore at Hotel Gamma, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013
Google Translation

Gentile Cliente Lei si è lamentato per avere ricevuto un camera rumorosa e non molto grande.
Le assicuro che la camera in questione non ha niente e nulla di meno di un albergo 3 stelle di Milano. L’albergo è stato ristrutturato da pochi mesi. Le camere sono assolutamente normali, pulite, comode ed efficienti.
Il commento che Lei ha fatto dell'Hotel Gamma, mi dispiace, ma non risponde alla realtà. Non riusco a capire cosa sia successo effettivamente perché il giudizio è davvero fuori luogo. La tariffa che ha pagato non era alta (€ 75 a notte comprensivo di ricca colazione al buffet e WIFI).
Ultimamente stiamo ricevendo solo ed esclusivamente giudizi positivi. Stiamo investendo molto per migliorare la qualità dei servizi e della struttura con enormi sacrifici economici e Le assicuro che ricevere giudizi del genere non ci rendono assolutamente giustizia.
Possiamo capire la lamentela da parte Sua, anzi la accettiamo in quanto forma di valutazione e di miglioramento nei nostri confronti ma non possiamo accettare i torti per chissà quali reconditi problemi. Tutto lo staff dell'Hotel Gamma è disponibile ad ospitare nuovamente il cliente e farlo ricredere sulla qualità dell'Albergo e delle persone che lavorano.
Prego la Direzione di TripAdvisor di fare rimuovere questa recensione che troviamo assolutamente ingiusta. Rimango in attesa di riscontro. Angelo Bellanova - Direttore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milan hotels
Hotel Lombardia
#226 of 431 in Milan
269 reviews
Citta Studi
Hotel Dieci Milano
Hotel Dieci Milano
#244 of 431 in Milan
162 reviews
NU Hotel Milano
#51 of 431 in Milan
594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Vienna
#261 of 431 in Milan
219 reviews
Citta Studi
Hotel Leonardo da Vinci
Hotel Leonardo da Vinci
#303 of 431 in Milan
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gamma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gamma

Address: Via Carlo Valvassori Peroni 85, 20133 Milan, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Citta Studi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #249 of 431 Hotels in Milan
Price Range: $112 - $246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gamma 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, Fastbooking, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Gamma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gamma Hotel Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing