We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Hotel in Milan”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Visconti Palace
Ranked #35 of 428 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fabulous Hotel in Milan”
Reviewed July 29, 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Grand Visconti Palace Hotel Milan in July 2014 at the end of our three week holiday in Italy. Wow! What a great way to end our vacation! We booked a King Room on-line but were immediately upgraded to a King Room Deluxe upon our arrival by the duty manager at reception without any additional charge. The photos of the rooms on their website are beautiful and the room itself lived up to them. It was elegant, spacious and had a lovely marble bathroom with very nice toiletries. The hotel is also well-located, being only 4 stops from the Lodi TIBB metro stop to the hub of Milan at the Duomo (cathedral). It is also just a 200 meter walk from the metro stop if you are hauling suitcases rather than coming by taxi.

All of the staff were extremely friendly and ready to help when we needed timetables of trains to the airport and map of Milan. The breakfast was varied and lovely, and their Piano restaurant on the 5th floor was excellent. Our two nights, including breakfast, cost us 258 Euros which was reasonable bearing in mind the costs of similar standard hotels.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lance R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yvl, Duty Manager at Grand Visconti Palace, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear Lance R,

thank you for your feedback.

We are very happy you had a great time and we truly hope you will come back to visit us at the Grand Visconti Palace Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards

Debora Bonati
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,728 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    885
    627
    139
    48
    29
See reviews for
332
591
65
441
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Croydon, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 28, 2014

We stayed at the hotel after reading good reviews.
We were celebrating our 15 year wedding anniversary and we were gladly upgraded to a newly refurbished room on the first floor near the lobby area. Bonus to that was the we were in range for free wifi connection, which was free for two hours at a time, which was no problem.
The room was very pleasant, with mini bar, safe, sat tv, air con, bathrobes etc.
Breakfast was continental but adequate.
Hotel staff were very helpful and assisted in our every needs especially on how to travel and where to go.
We took the bus from malpensa airport and got a return ticket which was cheap and very quick.
We also got a 48 hour metro ticket which you can use on the metro, bus and tram for only 8.25 euros each.
We went on a day trip to como, really nice place to visit to chill out from the town.
Best places to eat and drink etc was near Genova metro station. It's on the camel stretch, lots to eat and drink, especially on happy hour. I would recommend Shiva Indian restaurant, the food was absolutely amazing.
We had use of the spa but we had to use a swimming cap to into the swimming pool. Good facilities.
Overall a very lovely stay in Milan that's to a great hotel and service.
I would highly recommend to anyone as could not fault it.

Negative points only one, the bar prices of drinks was expensive but you expect that a pt hotel prices.

Room Tip: Get a newly refurb room near the lobby, wifi is then free.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ketan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yvl, Responsabile reception at Grand Visconti Palace, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear Keatan K,

thank you for writing your feedback.

It is very important for us knowing we can exceed our guest's expectation and we hope to have you once again here at the Grand Visconti Palace Hotel.

Kind Regards

Debora Bonati
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2014

Wir waren hochzufrieden mit unserer Wahl! Über trivago haben wir unsere 3 Nächte deutlich günstiger bekommen, hatten aber dennoch eine der besseren Zimmerkategorien und das Spa inklusive.

Das Hotel ist sehr schön eingerichtet. Unser Zimmer war sehr geräumig (das Bett war riesig!), unser Bad war ebenfalls großzügig und aus Marmor.
Das Frühstück war vielseitig und hochwertig. An einem Abend haben wir uns im Restaurant des Hotels ein 4-Gänge-Menü gegönnt, das wirklich ausgezeichnet war.
Die Lage ist auch gut: In unmittelbarer Umgebung gibt es nette Cafés und Restaurants, im Zentrum ist man nach 4 Metro-Stationen und die Metro ist in Mailand relativ günstig.
Das Personal war ausnahmslos sehr freundlich. Der Garten des Hotels und die Lobby sind sehr schön und eignen sich gut für Aufenthalte. In der Lobby ist WLAN gratis.
Der Spa-Bereich ist relativ klein, aber fein.
Ein Aspekt ist mir sehr wichtig: Die Sauberkeit. Und auch die war wirklich exorbitant gut.
Wir waren rundum und restlos zufrieden und haben uns gut erholt.

Tipps: Nach einem Nichtraucherzimmer zum Hof raus fragen. Und Badekappen mitbringen, die braucht man im Spa und die kosten sonst vor Ort 5€.

ENGLISH:
We were very happy with our choice. We got a great deal with trivago for this hotel. We paid less than usual but had a rather good room category and the spa included.

The hotel's interior is very elegant. Our room was very spacious (the bed was huge and comfortable) and so was the bathroom which was entirely made of marble.
The breakfast was extensive and high-quality. One evening we allowed ourselves a dinner in the hotel's restaurant with four courses which was delicious and therefore absolutely worth the money.
The location of the hotel is great as well. There are several nice Cafès and restaurants nearby and it only takes 4 metro stations to get to the city centre (and the metro is rather cheap).
The staff were without exception absolutely friendly and helpful. The garden and lobby are nice as well. The wireless internet is free to use in the lobby (it's accessible in the garden as well).
The spa is rather small but sufficient and neat.
Hygiene and cleanliness are very important to me - one might call me picky about it. But my high expectations were absolutely met here as well.
We were completely content, got a good rest and recommend this hotel without concerns or constraints.

Advice: Ask for a non-smoking room which faces the garden. Bring bathing caps because you will need them in the spa and the hotel charges 5€ for them.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lena K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, England
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2014

The Grand Visconti Palace Hotel is a wonderful hotel which appears to have the misfortune of being based in a part of Milan that has seen better days. Fortunately the hotel is located only 5 minutes walk from Lodi TIBB underground station, which in turn is only 10-15 minutes from the Duomo. But back to the hotel. Our room was clean and comfortable with a vast comfy bed and air conditioning. The room was tastefully furnished in muted browns and greens which made the room a little dark but oppulent. There was a huge selection of items to choose from in the breakfast buffet that was served from 0730-1030. All the staff were helpful and polite. We could not fault the hotel or the staff and thoroughly recommend it. It is just a shame it is located in a city that is plastered in graffiti!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank threadbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yvl, Duty Manager at Grand Visconti Palace, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Good afternoon dear Threadbea,

Thank you for your feedback. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay here at the Grand Visconti Palace Hotel.

We hope you will come back to visit us so that you will have the chance to see the beauty of the city we are in.

Kind Regards


Debora Bonati
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2014

nice and clean, good rooms and location is perfect for exploring the town. 2 minute walk from underground and 10 minutes from porta romana. Good selection of restaurants around, definitely better than the tourist traps which you will find close to a hotel in the town centre. Nice spa area and friendly receptionists, breakfast was really good with quite a variety of things to choose. Only two comments, wifi is really expensive in the room (10 euros per day or 17 for two days, four stars hotel should do a bit better on this) but it is free in the lobby, secondly my room was on the right wing and it was quite noisy in the morning (about 6:45) during the bin collections.

Anyway overall, definitely one of the best places to stay in Milan

Room Tip: my room was on the right wing and it was quite noisy in the morning (about 6:45) during the bin coll...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alinul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yvl, Duty Manager at Grand Visconti Palace, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Dear Alinul,

we are glad to read you had a pleasant stay here at the Grand Visconti Palace Hotel.

Our wifi connection is free in the lobby and common areas and it is on payment in the room to provide a speedy connection and the best 24 hours technical support.

All our rooms are double glazed, however for your next visit we do suggest you to book one of our deluxe rooms overlooking our precious garden to avoid any noise in the early mornings.

Kind Regards

Debora Bonati
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2014

This a beautiful hotel and the service is excellent, the only catch is that the pool is an indoor pool (you would not know this from looking at the photos) and you must pay to use it - 7 euros each or 2 people for 10 euros. You also need to wear a swimming cap so will need to purchase that also - 5 euros each. The hotel is close to the Metro stop which makes for an easy and cheap trip to easy to the central train station. The rooms are beautiful and a good size and the hotel staff treat you like royalty. Breakfast is included and it is a combination of all things American and Italian.

Room Tip: I think all rooms have windows so you can sleep in the fresh air instead of air conditioning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melinda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yvl, Duty Manager at Grand Visconti Palace, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Dear Ms Melinda C,

thank you for taking the time to write your feedback about your stay at the Grand Visconti Palace Hotel.

The entrance to the Spa, which includes the swimming pool costs €10 per person or €15 per couple, however when a suite is booked it is included in the price and in some periods we offer special packages that may include the spa along a free upgrade and a little gift from the management so please check out our website or call us directly for your next visit.

Kind Regards

Debor Bonati
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2014 via mobile

A most comfortable hotel with good facilities. Foyer, bar, restaurant, rooms and lounge areas spacious clean and well presented. Free WiFi in ground floor public areas but didn't work in rooms. Be sure to ask for non smoking rooms. We were booked into three disabled rooms on our second visit to the hotel which was not what we requested however no change was considered. Gentlemen at Reception desk quite abrupt and unhelpful, the women always helpful and gracious. Staff elsewhere delightful. Would recommend this hotel.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Patricia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yvl, Duty Manager at Grand Visconti Palace, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Good morning Ms Patricia B,

Here at the Grand Visconti Palace Hotel we have various type of rooms: classic, superior and deluxe. Four of our superior rooms are equipped with bathrooms for our disabled guests. We were most probably fully booked and this is why we could not change the rooms for you and we maintained the free upgrade.
However this is no excuse if you felt unhelped at the front desk, we do do apologize and we can assure you this is by no means our standards.

We hope to have you as one of our appreciated guest in the near future here at the Grand Visconti Palace Hotel.

Kind Regards

Debora Bonati
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milan hotels
Stazione Centrale
Hotel Berna
Hotel Berna
#13 of 428 in Milan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,313 reviews
Milan Suite Hotel
#25 of 428 in Milan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Enterprise Hotel
#33 of 428 in Milan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,570 reviews
Uptown Palace
#50 of 428 in Milan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Visconti Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Visconti Palace

Property: Grand Visconti Palace
Address: Viale Isonzo 14, 20135 Milan, Italy (Formerly Grand Visconti Palace Milan - MGallery Collection)
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Milan
#19 Family Hotel in Milan
#26 Business Hotel in Milan
#26 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#29 Luxury Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Visconti Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 172
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, ACCOR, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Grand Visconti Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Visconti Palace Hotel Milan
Grand Hotel Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing