We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Visconti Palace
Ranked #35 of 428 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel”
Reviewed April 24, 2014

Grand Visconti Palace is a nice and comfortable hotel in Milan. Upon arriving, reception was very helpful though not overly friendly and were certainly nice enough to offer us a room upgrade. The room was elegant and spacious and had all the comforts you'd expect from a 4 or 5 star hotel. It was also relatively quiet and looked out onto the hotel's well-maintained courtyard. The only minor downsides are that 1) the glass wall in the shower only goes half way and it was difficult to prevent water from splashing all over the floor 2) there is no hair conditioner (but then again, our other hotel in Milan didn't have it either). These are only observations and really didn't effect our stay at all. The hotel breakfast was excellent--great service, excellent selection, and good coffee. Grand Visconti Palace is in an excellent location in the core of Milan and is situated less than 5 minutes from the Lodi T.I.B.B subway station and about four subway stops from the Duomo. In sum--great value, good service, and good hotel. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dietrichjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yvl, Responsabile reception at Grand Visconti Palace, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Good afternoon Ms Jennifer,

we would like to thank you for taking the time to write your feedback about your stay at the Grand Visconti Palace.

All of our guest’s observations are important to us in order to improve our standards and it makes us really proud to read you would stay with us again.

Kind Regards,

Debora Bonati
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,783 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    915
    643
    143
    48
    34
See reviews for
351
602
66
455
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cavan, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2014 via mobile

Super hotel. Taxi from linate airport costs €14. For the underground the hotel is on the yellow line with the stop at Lobi T.I.B.B followed by a 200 metre walk. Free wifi only in the lobby which is v.elegant. Hotel staff v.friendly and helpful. Rooms excellent, best of all the breakfast, great choice, constantly refreshed. Overall good stay.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank conormdi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yvl, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Visconti Palace, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear Conormdi,
thank you for your feed back. We are happy you had a good stay.
Hoping to welcoming you back soon.
Kindest Regards

Antonella Mecrani

Concierge & Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dorset
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2014

Have just returned from a weeks stay. The Hotel rooms are very clean and customer service is exceptional nothing is too much trouble and the staff are all friendly, from the cleaners to reception staff.
I have a medical condition that means I need to have window open at night in order to sleep.The first room was very noisy with the window open but we asked to move rooms and fortunately another room was just being vacated.so we were able to move. Thank you Debra for that, and the advice and local knowledge from both yourself and Antonola ( forgive me if I have spelt your name incorrectly). I feel the hotel was good value for money and enjoyed the choice at breakfast. If I had to give one piece of constructive criticism it would be regarding the shower head that gets the floor wet. But everything else spot on. I would recommend this hotel and would certainly return if I ever visited Milan again as its location is excellent for sightseeing etc.

Room Tip: avoid a room near the trams and main road if you need a window open
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zoobsmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yvl, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Visconti Palace, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear Zoobsmum,
Thank you very much for taking the time to tell us about your stay at Grand Visconti Palace, your opinion is important for us. We are glad we were able to meet your needs and satisfied your requests.
We hope to welcoming you back soon, we will make sure to give you a room overlooking one of the courtyards in order to keep the window open.
Best Regards

Antonella Mecrani

Concierge & Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014

We had a great deal on this elegant hotel, breakfast and spa included, so we got real value for money. Our room was spacious with hardwood floors, bathrobes and coffee facilities. Rooms are noisy though. Breakfast was extensive and very well catered, I only missed my hot chocolate milk. The spa was nice and clean; pool requires swimming cap which can be purchased for 5€. As far as the staff goes, I felt almost everybody was friendly and made you feel welcome, but 2 younger girls at the reception, although professional, were not the smiling types.

It was unfortunate that upon our arrival on Friday the hotel hosted a scientific seminar where a speaker was doing an extremely lively and loud presentation. Our room (1st floor) appeared to be right above the seminar hall and coming from a very early morning flight, it was extremely annoying that we couldn't relax in our room without hearing this guy. We notified reception and they sent somebody to our room to "check" the noise, but unfortunately no solution was offered.

Hotel is easy to reach by M3 yellow line, metrostation "LODI TIBB", which is around the corner with easy access to the main tourist stops, 8 stops from Central Station and 4 stops to Duomo. In the area around the hotel are some very nice and budget friendly restaurants and compared to some areas in Milan, this is a very clean, safe and more upscale area of the city.

Don't forget to take into account that you get charged a 'tassa di soggiorno' of 10€/per night/per room in the hotel and that (almost) every restaurant in Milan charges you a 2€ service charge per person. Just so you know ...

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor overlooking the courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1Ja-Ja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yvl, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Visconti Palace, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear 1Ja-JA,
we would like to thank you for your kind feed back, we are glad overall you had a pleasant experience. We are sorry we were not able to offer you an alternative solution when you reported the problem of the noise due to the loud speaker, unfortunately due to the big event you have mentioned, all the rooms were occupied otherwise we would have immediately offered a room change. Our aim is to provide our guests with the best comfort and relax for this reason we hope to be able to welcome you back in order to pamper you in a nice silent and cozy room.
We would like to specify that “Tassa di soggiorno”, (city tax), is a Milan Council tax that is mandatory for all the hotels, here it is € 5,00 per person per night.
Looking forward to welcoming you back soon.
Best Regards

Antonella Mecrani

Concierge & Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

Nothing special. The staff is mostly unfriendly, the beds mediocre at best, the breakfast buffet is tired and standard, coffee for Italy is really poor, the shower head sprays all over but not on me. Elliptical machine was broken. Exercise room very stuffy. This is an edifice of a nice hotel but lacks all of the touches.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Marksilv242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yvl, Responsabile reception at Grand Visconti Palace, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Good morning Mr Marksil2,

We are extremely surprised to read your comments, in fact, as you can see from most of the previous comments, our staff is one of the positive reason of why they choose to come back and our breakfast buffet has improved a lot adding in quality and variety.

By reading the title of your feedback, we are wondering if you stayed with us before and we are sorry you did not mentioned anything during your stay, we could have fixed at least the shower head.

As far as the exercise room, it is a cosy space which includes the main machines, as for instance, the elliptical machine which will be fixed shortly, being the only thing you mentioned at the check out time.

We value all the feedbacks, whether they are good or constructive complaints as they are very important to keep improving, therefore please do not hesitate to contact me or the management to discuss your opinion further.

Kind Regards


Debora B

Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hook
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

Just returned from a weekend in Milan with my mother and couldn't have picked a nicer place to stay. The rooms were clean and comfortable, the location is very handy for the metro with just 4 stops to Duomo, breakfast was ample but best of all was the service. We felt thoroughly looked after and Tamer in particular could simply not have been kinder. If we ever go back to Milan, I know where we're staying...

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Kate W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yvl, Responsabile reception at Grand Visconti Palace, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Good morning Ms KateW,

Thank you for taking the time to write your feedback.

As you said our location is very good, closed to the centre and quite at the same time.

We are very proud of all our staff and we are glad to know that the Grand Visconti Palace Hotel would be your choice for your next stay in Milan.

Kind Regards



Debora B

Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ayr, scotland
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2014

My wife and I have just returned from a 2 night stay in Milan. We selected the Grand Visconti Palace based on photographs and past reviews and were not disappointed. Our bedroom was large, nicely decorated and overlooking the garden area.
There is a lovely reception area with plenty comfortable seating for those wishing to use wi-fi which is free in this area. (There is a charge for in room use!).
Breakfast is not the most exciting but is more than adequate. There are a couple of recommended restaurants within easy walking distance of the hotel. We particularly enjoyed the Trattoria. The concierge will give you directions and make advance bookings. We visited on Saturday night and it was already very busy at 20.30 so it's safe to book in advance!
If you fancy an aperitif before dinner, try a small bar called The Sailing Ship. It's in the opposite direction from the hotel to the Trattoria but only 100 yards from the hotel and worth a visit.
We checked out the pool and spa in the hotel but didn't use them. It looked good but was deserted. Hotel guests pay 10 Euros for the use of the pool which may deter some people.
All the staff in the hotel were excellent.....as friendly and helpful as I can remember in any hotel I have visited.
If you plan to visit Milan, the Grand Visconti Palace is a great choice.
(I recently visited Rome and stayed in the Visconti Palace Hotel there. I assume it is part of the same group. It also was excellent so, if in Rome, book there!)

Room Tip: Ask for a recently refurbished room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lesl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yvl, Responsabile reception at Grand Visconti Palace, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Good morning Lesl,
thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. For your next visit you can book directly with us a superior room which is the category of the refurbished ones.
As far as the access to the Spa it is includeed when a suite is booked.
Just to let you know, we are not part of any hotel chain and at the moment we do not have any sister hotels in Rome, but two others in Milan.
We are looking forward to have you here at the Grand Visconti Palace Hotel again, where our concierge and all the rest of the staff will be very happy to assist you in any queries you may have.
Kind Regards,

Debora Bonati
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milan hotels
Milan Suite Hotel
#24 of 428 in Milan
641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stazione Centrale
Hilton Milan
Hilton Milan
#79 of 428 in Milan
2,565 reviews
Centro Storico
NH Collection Milano President
Stazione Centrale
Hotel Berna
Hotel Berna
#13 of 428 in Milan
6,475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Visconti Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Visconti Palace

Property: Grand Visconti Palace
Address: Viale Isonzo 14, 20135 Milan, Italy (Formerly Grand Visconti Palace Milan - MGallery Collection)
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Milan
#19 Family Hotel in Milan
#26 Business Hotel in Milan
#26 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#29 Luxury Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Visconti Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 172
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Visconti Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Visconti Palace Hotel Milan
Grand Hotel Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing