We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looks better from the inside than the outside.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Grand Visconti Palace
Ranked #34 of 428 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Looks better from the inside than the outside.”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

I don't know what it is about Milan, but even the nice areas with the 4 star hotels look like they're in the ghetto. What I mean is, the street-side architecture is not spectacular and there is graffiti everywhere.

You shouldn't let that deter you, though! This hotel is nice and clean, good atmosphere, good air conditioning, and good service. We read some other reviews and based on them we asked for a room that was facing the garden. Apparently the street-side is quite noisy at night.
The beds were comfortable, the bathroom was good. You get a robe included in your stay.
The wellness is open during the day, not just at night like at Enterprise Hotel we also stayed at in Milan. It's got a nice sized pool, a steam room, sauna, and hot tub (which can only fit 2 people comfortably, the four of us was a squeeze). The strange thing is you have to wear a swim cap in the pool, which you can buy for 5 eur. The wellness was only $15 per couple, which was more reasonable than the other place we stayed as well. (In Italy it's normal to have free breakfast but have to pay for wellness, as we found out)
The breakfast was good, but not great. I'll just leave it at that.

The metro is a 5-minute stroll from the hotel. From there you can get to all the touristy spots you want.

There's a trattoria in the area that is said to have the best lasagna in the area according to Yelp. We sure thought so. (Sorry I don't remember the name of it).

Room Tip: A room facing the garden is quieter than the street side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JSmolka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,754 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    899
    635
    142
    48
    30
See reviews for
340
595
66
447
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Stayed 3 nights in a junior suite which for European standards was spacious, beautifully decorated and clean. Staff were most helpful, and breakfast also in a lovely room with wide range fo food to choose from.

Pick up service from Malpensa was well priced, ad an immaculate late model black Mercedes. We also used hotel car to take us to Milano Centrale on our departure. Again, well priced and immaculate Mercedes.

Only two annoyances - having to go to lobby to log on to wifi which only lasts 30 mins (but it does work if you then take ipad to your room) , and room aircon which couldn't cope with Milan humidity.

Hotel location is in a good neighbourhood - close to ipercoop and a great cotton garment outlet store.

Room Tip: Junior suite is worth the extra - also gives you access to spa/pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mooffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yvl, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Visconti Palace, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Mooffy,

Thank you for your very nice review, we are happy you had such a good experience with us.

We are very proud of our private car service, our professional drivers are always at our guests’ disposal you can always refer to the Concierge and Front Desk staff in order to reserve the service and charge it directly on your hotel bill.

We are glad to inform you that the Hotel Management is taking action in order to provide our guests with new options for the Internet connection, we hope to be able to give you soon good news about it. For any issue with air conditioning/ heating system the reception staff is always at disposal to assist with your requests, do not hesitate to contact them.

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards

Antonella Mecrani
Concierge & Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Stayed for the F1 and the service from check in to check out was with one exception exemplary. The only exception and it was minor and more to do with a European attitude than the staff themselves was the bar service which was completely random in their order if serving and a little slow. Otherwise the room was great, powerful shower, great choice of channels including ability to stream in English or Italian. Bed was comfortable and turned over as you would expect for a hotel of this quality. Breakfast was varied, mainly European with cold meats and fruit but lovely and coffee was as you would expect, spot on. Thx for a great stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlanUk2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

While many good things are to be said about the Grand Visconti, the surliness and studied discourteous disinterest of the staff combined with a dangerous setup in the bathroom gives them a rating of only two stars.

If you are able avoid the staff and get a room with a shower only, then this is a good place to stay.

The Good:

The spaces are incredibly appointed. No detail of beauty is missed, you do feel that you are in a palace from the 19th century Italy. The rooms by European standards are quite large (equal to a normal US hotel room).

The breakfast, which was included in my rate, is quite good, though the service is spotty – and God forbid if you ask for a second espresso in the morning …..

The location is within a block of a metro stop that is only 5 stops to the Duomo.

The internet is not terribly expensive (12 Euros for 24 hours) and is fast enough for my company VPN. Also there is 30 minutes free in the lobby each day.

Value – extremely reasonable price for the amenities received.

Close to the Open Grille, which has an amazing 10 Euro inclusive lunch that is well worth checking out.

The Bad:

First of all, the showers that are part of the bathtub are simply dangerous. Poorly designed such that water often splashes out onto the marble floors (VERY VERY SLIPPERY!). But even the bathtub (so narrow what a child couldn’t sit in it) is remarkably slippery. There are no hand holds to steady yourself. I slipped and broke a toe, only catching myself at the last moment from breaking open my head. THIS IS DANGEROUS AND SHOULD BE CORRECTED.

Second, I went to the front desk and asked to be moved to a room that only had a shower. At first the day manager told me that in a 172 room hotel that no one was checking out from a room with a shower only. Considering that a colleague of mine with such a room was checking out that day, I told her point blank that I knew she was lying to me (explaining that my friend was leaving), and told her to try again. She fumbled and finally said that there were people arriving today that had already reserved rooms with showers only and I was out of luck. I’m sure managers have to make choices all of the time, but this was a poor one. LYING TO YOUR CUSTOMERS IS NEVER ACCEPTABLE. Also, let this be proof positive if anyone else is every injured in the Grand Visconti that they have been forewarned and are fully liable for their inactions.

The air conditioning is problematic. First, there is a card system that turns off all of your electric when you leave the room. You have to reset the AC each and every time you come in or its set at 23C at the lowest fan setting automatically. Also, the AC seems to go off each night between 2 and 4. Finally, my colleagues AC fan squeaked unmercifully causing him to have to get double ear plugs. Poor maintenance = a bad customer experience.

The clean up crew is hit or miss. After my first night, none of the amenities were replaced – I guess I was supposed to clean up with water alone.

And speaking of water, the shower oscillates between quite hot and quite cold if you shower during popular times (like any time during the day apparently).

Don’t bother to use their parking at 30 Euros per night; there is plenty of street parking.

The staff attitude is inconsistent. Some are extremely helpful and truly want to make your experience a good one. Some treat you like their family owned this palace for 300 years and they only tolerate you being on their property to pay the taxes and upkeep – otherwise you are simply a leech on their property that needs to be removed (but do leave your money).

Overall, I would stay here again, but only now that I know to ask for a room with a shower only, and to avoid the staff like the plague.

Room Tip: Get a room with a shower only, otherwise it is dangerous. I would avoid the 5th floor because you c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Pelzigenvater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yvl, Responsabile reception at Grand Visconti Palace, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Good morning Mr GeborenGestern,

we are sorry if you had a bad impression on our staff.

As you can see from many comments left from other guests, we can assure that the people that works here are very profesional, competent, friendly and one of the reasons why many of our customer returns.

We can also assure you that under no circunstances the duty manager ever lied to you.
At the time of booking a guest can make requests and we try to do our best to meet them.
When you stayed at the Grand Visconti Palace, we were fully booked, all the rooms were allocated to meet every other requests, and when you asked to be moved to a room with only shower, the receptionist offered you a room on a smooking floor, which was the only one available, however you did not accept it.

You later spoke to the duty manager who told you that the receptionist was not lying and the room of your friend was already allocated to another guest who had specific requests.
We apologize if that caused you inconvenience, however we really did not have the possibility to move you to another room.

We are also sorry to hear only now that you injured yourself, we could have provided some assistance.

All your suggestions, as far as the a/c, water and shower are concerned have been passed on to the management.

We would like to make sure that no guest is obliged to use our parking at €29 per night,which by the way is the average price for garages here in Milan.
As you said there are other places, however it has to be kept in mind to avoid yellow lines which are for residents only and the car can be taken away from the police.
The blue lines are on payment, so if anyone is looking for a parking lot outside the hotel please look for the white line.

The hotel has an awsome restaurant on the fith floor, however if a guest would like to go out for lunch or dinner, our concierge is here to help them to find the best solution.

We are glad that despite your bad experience you are willing to give us another chance, when, we are sure, you will change opinion on our staff.

Kind regards,

Yveline Corthier
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights.

The rooms were very beautiful however small.
The gardens were also very beautiful and the breakfast was quite nice.
The hotel is close to transport and amenities.
The service was quite average- perhaps the reception staff need to be more accomodating.
The front office manager however was fantastic! She was extremely accomodating and assisted us for all our tour bookings and changes. She was very professional, friendly and well-mannered.
Over all a good experience

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PrettyFlyTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We stayed at the Grand Visconti for a weekend in August. I have never encountered such accommodating, helpful staff in my entire experience of hotel visits. Nothing was too much trouble...and a special thank you goes to Bernie, who responded to every email with unfailing, positive politeness. I would recommend this hotel without hesitation.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JE92013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

The Grand Visconti was the epitome of plush. The rooms were incredible with lots of extras you would only normally get with a 5* hotel: slippers; facial skincare products; robes; turnover service with chocolates on pillows etc.

Continental breakfast was included and consisted of a fantastic variety inclyding cooked eggs and bacon despite being a continental.

The location wasn't ideal but the hotel more than made up for it compared to prices of hotels closer to the Duomo district. The metro station is just round the corner (3min walk) and you can be in the centre within 10mins.

The only issue we had was being made to buy swimming caps to use the pool (5euro)...perhaps more common in france than the uk.

Otherwise i would say that the hotel made our milan holiday.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gemabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milan hotels
Milan Suite Hotel
#23 of 428 in Milan
632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stazione Centrale
Hotel Berna
Hotel Berna
#13 of 428 in Milan
6,417 reviews
Centro Storico
NH Collection Milano President
Stazione Centrale
Hilton Milan
Hilton Milan
#82 of 428 in Milan
2,528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Visconti Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Visconti Palace

Property: Grand Visconti Palace
Address: Viale Isonzo 14, 20135 Milan, Italy (Formerly Grand Visconti Palace Milan - MGallery Collection)
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Milan
#19 Family Hotel in Milan
#26 Business Hotel in Milan
#26 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#28 Luxury Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Visconti Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 172
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, ACCOR, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Visconti Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Visconti Palace Hotel Milan
Grand Hotel Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing