We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent sophisticated hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Visconti Palace
Ranked #34 of 427 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
339 reviews
162 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
“Excellent sophisticated hotel”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

I stayed here for a weekend trip in Milan. It was beyond my expectation and they really impressed me. What I like the most about the hotel is the attention to details and I hope they keep it that way. The decoration of the room is so Italian, stylish and sophisticated. Even the breakfast lived up to the 'Italian food is great' hype. The staff were friendly and efficient, something I didn't expect from a hotel with that size.

The location of the hotel is not really central but Milan is not a big city anyway. The metro is just short walk from the hotel and Milan Linate airport is about 15 minutes by taxi.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeoLHR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,812 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    933
    652
    145
    48
    34
See reviews for
362
613
66
456
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

The value for money at this hotel is phenomenal. We stayed here over NYE for 2 nights and very much enjoyed our stay.
Reception and check in was very friendly and efficient. The concierge - straight from a brochure - was extremely helpful and friendly as he showed us to our room and explained where to find things.
Breakfast was great - good selection without any cooked breakfast smells. We ate in the restaurant one evening and were very impressed with the excellent dinner and attentive service. Snacks and drinks at the bar were also great.
The spa is not particularly large and it was busy at times. I can see that there may sometimes be a bit of conflict of interests among guests wanting a relaxing swim versus families entertaining kids in the pool. It is also worth knowing that they insist on everyone wearing bathing caps and will charge heftily for one at the spa reception. In return, the pool and jacuzzi were very clean.
The deluxe room was surprisingly large with enough space for a third bed without cramping the space at all. Our room looked onto the gardens and thus very quiet.
The nightly turn down service was a nice touch.
All in all, a lovely stay and I would not hesitate to stay here again.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank onceinabluemoonmoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yvl, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Visconti Palace, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Onceinafullmoon,

We are honoured to read all your nice comments about your stay at Grand Visconti Palace, thank you! This type of feed back helps us doing better and better to keep our guests always happy and satisfied!
We look forward to welcoming you back!

Best Regards
Antonella Mecrani
Concierge & Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

I stayed here for business. My room was very claen and comfortable altough not too big. The style of the room was not my taste as I prefer modern rooms but it was tasteful and practucal.
The water in the shower was permanently warm as wished and had enough pressure. (Very important for me)
We had a meeting in the meeting facitilities whjich worked out fine.
Only complaint is the lunch we had as it was served in the wintergarden and temeratures in there were around 0 degree celsius!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philipp J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yvl, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Visconti Palace, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Mr. Philipp J,

We thank you for your kind feed back about your stay. We are glad you had a good experience. We are sorry for the issue with the Winter garden, unfortunately that day we had a technical problem that has been solved in the shortest terms.

We hope to welcome you back soon and try a warm and cozy meal to our Gourmet Restaurant Al V Piano Gourmet.


Kindest Regards

Antonella Mecrani
Concierge & Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Very impressed by this hotel. Friendly and accommodating staff, and lots of little extras - for example, I visited just after Christmas and each day returned to my room to find that a small Panettone had been left there! Room was spacious enough and very elegantly decorated. Breakfast was copious and varied, and the service speedy and helpful. Hotel is a short walk from Lodi T.I.B.B. on Metro line 3, which gets you to the Duomo in about 10 mins. Only minus: Internet is expensive and fre wi-fi/wired connection would have been a bonus, but a small quibble - would certainly return.

Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank GeorgeB120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012

We had a 2 day business meeting at this hotel and utilized the meeting rooms, hotel rooms, catering, and car service and was very happy with all of the services provided! The food and staff were fantastic, and all staff from the waiters, to reception, to the concierge were a pleasure to work with and very flexible. Rooms were also fabulous as well. The only complaint I really have was our meeting room was very long and narrow which wasn't ideal for a long meeting, but we were able to get this room last minute once our attendance number kept changing, so I really can't complain since the hotel was so flexible. I highly recommend this hotel for business and personal needs,and look forward to staying there again even for personal reasons.
If you are flying to Milan and want to stay here, I advise to fly in/out of Linate as it is only about a 10 min taxi ride away, Malpesna can be close to a 90 min drive. The central train station was about a 20 min taxi ride.
Cibo and Vino on the same block as the hotel is also a fabulous restaurant!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Passionfruit23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2012

I participated at a business event at the Grand Visconti over three days. Wonderful hotel, great rooms and fantastic staff...I look forward to my next visit. The conference facilities were extremely good and well organised as was the supplied AV equipment...if I had one concern it is the access to the Internet, this is not great and needs improving..my company will be participating in further events at this hotel during 2013.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TurpieFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2012

What a lovely Hotel. From the moment we entered the hotel, we were made very welcome by the staff at reception. They gave us all the information we required, when we required it. The rooms were very clean with all modern amenities, as was the rest of the hotel. Plenty of choice for breakfast, but did not try any other meals. Underground to the centre of Milan few minutes’ walk away so everything close and convenient. There was only one very minor fault ‘plastic cups’ for bedroom tea or coffee and powdered milk sachet, which was very surprising for the high standard of the rest of the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trevor D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milan hotels
Milan Suite Hotel
#25 of 427 in Milan
650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stazione Centrale
Hilton Milan
Hilton Milan
#78 of 427 in Milan
2,603 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Hotel Berna
Hotel Berna
#12 of 427 in Milan
6,527 reviews
Centro Storico
NH Collection Milano President
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Visconti Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Visconti Palace

Property: Grand Visconti Palace
Address: Viale Isonzo 14, 20135 Milan, Italy (Formerly Grand Visconti Palace Milan - MGallery Collection)
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Milan
#19 Family Hotel in Milan
#26 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#26 Business Hotel in Milan
#29 Luxury Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Visconti Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 172
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Visconti Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Visconti Palace Hotel Milan
Grand Hotel Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing