We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bait and switch - beware!”
Review of Glamour Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Glamour Apartments
Ranked #22 of 286 Specialty Lodging in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 17, 2012

I recently reserved on the Glamour apartments website for 280 euro the large Tiffany suite for a Saturday night for my wife and two daughters. My wife called the Glamour apartments on the Friday before to confirm and get how to contact them on our arrival in Milan Saturday morning. They confirmed the reservation and gave us their mobile number to call in Milan and get specific directions.

Upon our arrival Saturday morning (after a 4 hour drive from Nice) we were all of a sudden told that they had us reserved for a different date the following week (after our call the day before to confirm) and the person we talked to, Stefano, said that we could only have a small hotel type studio as the Tiffany suite we had reserved was occupied. The Glamour apartments rep Stefano apologised and said we could deal with the office, which opened Monday, about the price difference (280 Tiffany versus 160 small room) and mixup. As we had no options, had already paid the 280 euro and had our young daughters with us, we made the best of it and took the offered small room.

When I emailed a nice follow up a few days later about the date mistake and downgrade of room, I got an unbelievably rude email back from Glamour apartments saying that my wife was lying about confirming the day before (the call is in her mobile call log) and that no price adjustment was due to us, the date mixup (there was no date mixup and we had confirmed the day before) was all our fault and how dare we even ask for a price adjustment. When I followed up with a second, nice constructive email asking for a positive win win solution, I was told to basically screw off.

Unbelievable bad and unethical service from Glamour apartments as I travel 100 plus hotel nights a year and 150,000 air miles a year and have never had this kind of service before. I asked both Marco (the manager) and Stefano (I believe the assistant manager) for some reasonable solution and was told again that we were lying, my wife was lying and they threatened to charge me for an additional night!!

I now think that we may have been subject to some sort of bait and switch where we reserved and paid for a large suite, confirmed ahead, then upon arrival forced to switch to much lower standard room and they say our mistake and keep the full, larger payment. The attitude was terrible.

I highly recommend you reserve elsewhere in Milan so you don't risk the same problem I had.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank rossmcb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glamourtrip, Proprietario at Glamour Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2013

The problem with this guest was that he booked our apartment Tiffany for the 12th of December and instead tehy arrived on the 8th and calling only the same morning 1 hour prior.

They also did'nt had with them the booking confirmation but they said the booking was for the 8th...

As we had a smaller apartment available we offered it to them without extra charge and also invited the parking because also if the mistake was on their side I felt sorry for them.

Few days after he asked us a partial refund saying the error was due to our booking engine and saying that it would be better for us to accept his offer.

At that point I just refused to offer any refund and so he made this nice review on us.

I can just say that it's important to pay attention when making a reservation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (175)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 175 reviews

Reviewed November 9, 2012

You cannot beat the location of these apartments. They are in the heart of Milan - minutes from the Duomo and admist all the famous shops. Close by you will find everything you need. The apartment was well-equipped, clean and very comfortable - we had two bedrooms and two full baths. We were a family of our traveling together with our small dog - but the apartment would also be perfect for two couples and/ or a few friends. The location is fantastic, the price was good too - excellent value for a quick visit to Milan.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BlueBell88_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

If you want to be in the heart- and I mean HEART - of Milan - stay at the Glamour Apartments in Milan. These are centrally located 2 minutes from the Duomo and admist all the shopping you can imagine. The apartments were clean, well-equipped and comfortable. Because of the location it isn't the quietest place to stay but if you are in Milan to shop and only have a few days I'd highly suggest staying here. We were a family of four (two kids) plus our small dog and we found the place perfect. I think it would be also great for two couples or four close friends. We had two bedrooms and two full baths - basically everything you need!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IslandToni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Great location right opposite the Duomo. We are a family of 5 with 3 daughters. The location was perfect for wandering around Milan. Our daughters thought the location was great as it was right in the shopping district. We stayed in the studio apartment which was very large and comfortable, even with a family of 5. We would definitely book the apartment again. Our tip would be to move away from the area surrounding the Duomo for meals. Better to head to the Brera district.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank swissmsgrabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

We were a small group of 7 adults and wanted a central location since we were only staying in Milan for one night (which now I regret as there is much to see in Milan). I don't think you can find such quality lodging, so perfectly located, at the rates offered by Glamour Apartments. Everything else I found close to Il Duomo was either over our budget or older hotels with questionable quality.

Our apartments were on Via Passarella, just 2 blocks behind Il Duomo and truly minutes walking distance to Piazza del Duomo and Galeria Vittorio Emanuele, and next to a wonderful pedestrian street filled with stores and cafes. We had two apartments and they were beautifully decorated, especially the Galle. We also had the Fiorichiari, just a couple of doors down the hall, which was perfect as we were traveling with older relatives. The entrance and the hallways of the building were pleasantly decorated, and it had an elevator.

We didn't get to meet Marco in person, but it was a pleasure dealing with him! Communication via email, cell phones and texts was very good, check-in was easy, and he even shipped me a purse that I had left behind! I received the purse at my Mom's place in Madrid within 2 weeks, and he didn't even charge my credit card for the extra expense. I don't think you can find better service than that!

I was traveling with very experienced travelers, and they were all very happy and satisfied with our stay at the Glamour Apartments. Our only regret was not staying longer. We all used the breakfast vouchers at the cafe just steps from the apartments, the food was good, the coffee was excellent, and the atmosphere couldn't be better. Nothing like having breakfast at a sidewalk cafe in Europe!

The only recommendation I have is that if you are traveling in a large minivan, as we were, try to find the actual length in advance, so you can locate the closest parking beforehand. The building on Via Passarella does have a parking, but the "car elevator" only fits up to a certain length (I think it's 15 ft.) and our minivan was too long. Marco had advised us about the size restrictions, but I didn't get to check in advance, so we had to look for the nearby public parking, which in itself can be an adventure in Italy!

All and all, we recommend Glamour Apartments, and if we are ever back in Milan, that's where we are staying! Thanks for everything Marco!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Viajand011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012

The two of us stayed there during our short visit in Milan in June. The apartment has a strategic location which is just opposite of Duomo Milan. As recommended by their reception, we parked the car in a public parking which is less than 10 minute walking.

The apartment is quite spacious. There is one bedroom at the mezzanine, half open with no door to living room at the ground floor. There are two additional beds at the living room at ground floor. One bathroom at the mezzanine for the main bedroom. Another bathroom at the ground floor. Enough size of kitchen. Living room. Dining room. Terrace facing the Duomo (Cathedral) - this is the best spot in town! The view is fantastic! In the evening, the Duomo (Cathedral) is so beautiful and there is always people in the square in front of it.

Upon checking in, we were given a map of the surrounding area. There are mini market, restaurants (including McDonalds) nearby. There is coupon to have breakfast at a place next to this apartment, just go down the stairs and the cafe shop is on the right building.

I'd love to stay at this apartment again -:)

Room Tip: The room facing to the Cathedral is the best view in Milan.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ekristanti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

Amazing view of Duomo cathedral from our apartment looking out onto piazza duomo. Nice apartment, well big enough. Good value.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LCD123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milan hotels
Centro Storico
UNA Maison Milano
UNA Maison Milano
#13 of 428 in Milan
1,087 reviews
Centro Storico
IH Hotels Milano Ambasciatori
Centro Storico
Hotel La Madonnina
Hotel La Madonnina
#192 of 428 in Milan
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Storico
Aparthotel Duomo
Aparthotel Duomo
#11 of 286 in Milan
85 reviews
Centro Storico
Aparthotel Dei Mercanti
Aparthotel Dei Mercanti
#104 of 286 in Milan
11 reviews
Centro Storico
Duomo Apartments Enjoy Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glamour Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glamour Apartments

Address: Via Passarella 4 | Passaggio Duomo, 2, 20122 Milan, Italy (Formerly Milanosuites Tiffany)
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Centro Storico
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 286 Specialty Lodging in Milan
Price Range: $158 - $276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Glamour Apartments 4.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glamour Apartments are immersed right in the heart of Milan, in 2 different buildings. The 8 ones in Corso Vittorio Emanuele are set in an impressive liberty building (with elevator), looking on to Milan's famous Corso. Private parking in this building only (entrance is on the backside in Via Passarella, 4). The 4 units on Duomo square directly faces the Cathedral with an amazing view; they are set in the historical building of "Palazzo Carminati" on the 2nd and 3rd floor with lift. Each unit has a fully equipped kitchenette, Nespresso machine, AC, flat SAT TV and free internet wifi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Glamour Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glamour Apartments Hotel Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing