We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute Stop in Milan. Bit far from the Metro Station”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Eco-Hotel La Residenza
Ranked #84 of 428 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed January 5, 2013

We only stayed two nights in Milan, so this was a quick place to stay. In regards to luggage, be prepared to lug it in from the street, because there's no ramp. There's an elevator to the other floors though. The rooms are tiny, as to be expected and the shower BARELY fits one. Otherwise, it did what it had to do. It's off the busy street, within a residential area, but still only two blocks to the busy main street. Bed was SUPER hard though :(. The metro was like a ten minute walk away. Not too bad, but not SUPER close. The staff was super friendly, but we never tried the in house restaurant. The only reason I would not stay again was the distance from the Metro.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ShinyStout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EcoHotelLaResidenza, Direttore at Eco-Hotel La Residenza, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

Dear Guest,
we are pleased to answer to all people stayed in our Eco Hotel La Residenza, in order to manage any kind of issue and maintenance problem.
We inform you that our hotel is equipped with a ramp to facilitate the luggage’s transportation and access to the disabled. The ramp isn’t located directly at the entrance of the reception but is on the right side and has a different access. Thanks to your review, we realized that we have to put a sign about this access that maybe helps all of our future guests.
We have different types of mattress. Most of our guests prefer the hardest ones because are more healthy, but we have some rooms with softest mattress. Next time, if possible, we will be glad to change your room.

From our hotel there are two way to reach the nearest Metro station Affori Centro (not Maciacchini or Affori); the fastest one is to pass through the “Parco delle Favole” (Park) walking a bit less of three hundred meters. This Metro Stop is working since two years and unfortunately, some old maps, do not show this station.
We are sorry that we couldn’t resolve and fix the situation when you were here, and for the next time, please do not hesitate to share your inconvenience with our staff for any request or need.
We will try our best for your next time in Milan.
Best Regards
The Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,052)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

216 - 222 of 1,053 reviews

Reviewed January 4, 2013

The hotel and service were very good during our 4 night stay. It also won an award for the most "ECO" hotel in 2011 i think, and i believe it truly deserved it. The room was very clean, sheets were changed every day, but not very soundproof and the bathroom drain was clogged - but these are very minor issues. The staff was also very helpful and kind (special greetings to Roberto!), while the New Year's diner was something to be remembered (at a fair price too).

The location perfect, very near a subway station - around 5 minutes walk from it - that is also directly linked to Centrale FS station (for trains and everything else) and the Duomo station (must visit). Just remember to buy 2-day unlimited trips tickets for the subway if you plan on visiting a lot. Near the hotel were 2 supermarkets and an italo-chinese restaurant with cheap but very good food for those on a limited budget.

In short, it's really worthwhile to spend your nights at the La Residenza hotel and for us at least it's going to be the hotel of choice when revisiting Milan.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Bogdan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EcoHotelLaResidenza, Staff at Eco-Hotel La Residenza, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

Dear Mr. Bogdan,
You'll always be welcome for us.
The staff of Eco Hotel La Residenza are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay here, and we hope to meet you again and show you our new services!
Kind regards
The Hotel Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2012

This is a small rather nice simple hotel in a quiet area 10 subway stations from the centre. The subway station is near and easy to get to. The staff is OK but if you have problems sleeping with sudden noices, you have to be aware of the not so soundproof rooms.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Roger A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EcoHotelLaResidenza, Direttore at Eco-Hotel La Residenza, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2012

Dear Roger,
we are sorry that you couldn't sleep well.
If you had informed us about it, we could have looked for a room more suitable for you.
We offer different kinds of rooms and, if you come back again in our hotel, we'll be glad to suggest you the best one for you.

Kind regards
The Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Positive

1) The hotel was very easy to get to. We arrived at Bergamo airport – there are at least 3 bus services to Milan which all cost 5 euros and take about 45 minutes. They drop you off at the main station and from there you can get a metro to Affori centro. When you come out of the metro station there is a signpost pointing left down the road and then you turn left again just after the petrol station. It takes about 5 minutes to walk there.
2) The staff in the hotel were very polite and helpful.
3) The staff gave us a leaflet of the local area which was useful although it seemed a few years out of date – no mention of the Affori centro metro station which was built a few years ago.
4) The room was basic but perfectly OK.
5) There is a supermarket nearby which is very handy.
6) The breakfast was the usual European style – no cooked food. There was no fruit apart from fruit salad. The croissants were nice. Each day we were given a news leaflet which included a weather forecast – quite useful.
7) The hotel restaurant – not a big choice of dishes. Small portions, not very good value for money. Food was OK.
8) You need to pay a tourism tax on check out – 3 euros per person per night.

Negative

1) The TV had no non-Italian channels and the staff said they could not change this. There was nothing for us to watch as we don’t speak much Italian, just a couple of music channels and sport channels. If you speak Italian, there are hundreds of channels to watch!
2) When we went to check out we were asked to pay for our meal in the restaurant although we had paid at the time. That was a little unpleasant. The moral of the story is: keep your receipts!


Milan in general

1) The Duomo is fantastic.
2) Beware of Africans selling pieces of string. They engage you in conversation, asking: “Are you from Africa” – as soon as you answer they tie a piece of string around your hand and ask you for money. This happened to us twice in different places.
3) The designer shops are incredibly expensive, but if you follow via Torino from the piazza Duomo you will come to some normal shops and then to a student area with lots of cafes and strange shops.
4) There are some great ice cream places around including Wallys at piazzale Lavater.
5) There is a reasonably priced restaurant near the Duomo called Fresco & Cimmino. This got very busy on the Saturday evening, full of locals so it must be OK.
6) No public toilets anywhere. We have had this problem in Italy before.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank steve g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EcoHotelLaResidenza, Direttore at Eco-Hotel La Residenza, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2012

Dear Mr.Grantham,
we are very sorry for the inconvenience you had with the tv and we apologize for that.
We'd like to inform you that the tv has been repaired, so if you come here again, you'll find channels in English and also in other languages.

Kind regards
The Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

This hotel is not in the center of Milan, but close enough, that you can visit city with public transport. The hotel stuff is nice and helpful, the breakfast is self service and rich enough, but most of the rooms are reather small. They are clean and modern with sattelite TV, WC and bathroom. They serve organic food, but the diner we had was nothing much. Supermarket store is near, otherwise the hotel is situated in a more residental part.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janez Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Our last 3 days in Italy were in Milan and we stayed at the Hotel LaResidenz Milan. What a wonderful staff, accomodations and the food were great. The location is close to the Metro and access to the remainder of the city. Roberto and the restaurant staff were so friendly and pleasant. They made us feel very special. Thank you. Oregon Travelers

Room Tip: Just ask the staff or your travel agent for specifics. We were traveling with 3 people so we had a q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debbie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EcoHotelLaResidenza, Proprietario at Eco-Hotel La Residenza, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2012

Dear Sirs,
we are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay here.
If you come back to Milan, we'll give you other suggestions to enjoy even more our city and its surroundings.

Kind regards
The Hotel Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

What a great start to our Italy vacation! After a long trek to Milan and a train ride from the airport to Milano Centrale, it was only a 10-minute metro ride to the nearest metro station. We prefer to stay in quieter locations so when we walked less than 5 minutes to the hotel, what a relief to see a well-kept exterior and tidy reception area. Our room had enough space for the two of us, the bed was comfortable, and the bathroom was well equipped. Before we went out for the evening, we enjoyed organic juice, and the breakfast was outstanding...more than we expected. When we were having breakfast, we noticed there were Italian speakers at all the other tables. When there are more 'locals' than visitors, we consider this a good sign...and we were not mistaken this time. We highly recommend this quiet, well run establishment, and applaud the eco-friendly policies.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wher2next
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EcoHotelLaResidenza, Proprietario at Eco-Hotel La Residenza, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2012

Dear Sirs,
thanks a lot for your review.
Our guests come from all over the world and many of them are Italian, because our hotel is very close to 2 important hospitals and we have also special agreements with many Italian companies.
Moreover our BiologicBar is open to the public too, so some people who live in the nearby often come to have dinner or just a coffee with friends and colleagues.

We hope to welcome you again to make you discover other features of Milan.
Kind regards
The Hotel Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milan hotels
Stazione Centrale
Ibis Milano Centro
Ibis Milano Centro
#164 of 428 in Milan
6,463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Acca Palace
#53 of 428 in Milan
792 reviews
Barcelo Milan
#112 of 428 in Milan
1,322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eco-Hotel La Residenza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eco-Hotel La Residenza

Address: Via Vittorio Scialoia 3, 20161 Milan, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #84 of 428 Hotels in Milan
Price Range: $54 - $144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Eco-Hotel La Residenza 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eco-Hotel La Residenza is a pleasant and modern 3-star environmentally friendly hotel in Milan, where you can feel at home in a relaxing family atmosphere. The historical old town centre of Milan, central station and main sights are all within reach, thanks to the Metropolitana underground MM3 Affori Centro station in the nearest vicinity. Our bio-restaurant offers delicious wellness menus made from organic, biodynamic farming foodstuffs (the ‘zero-kilometre’ principle) and branded with a Fairtrade certificate mark. We invite you to discover old, long-forgotten tastes of the traditional local cuisine. Our Organic Chef specialises in preparing excellent risottos in all seasons. We recommend trying at least one of the 15 risottos on the bio-menu. We also specialise in preparing ad-hoc menus for vegetarians, vegans and people with coeliac disease. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Fastbooking, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Eco-Hotel La Residenza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing