We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT value for money!”
Review of Hotel Demo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Demo
Ranked #315 of 428 Hotels in Milan
Reviewed July 10, 2011

Located very close to central station and metro station, going somewhere from the hotel is pure pleasure. The room number was 322, there was an air conditioning, cable tv, bathroom, double bed and balcony. Breakfest were nice for this price - eggs, yoghurt, milk, cake, bread, croissants, coffee, tea, water, juice etc. Staff is helpful and they speak english. Room was cleaned every day. Towels, shampoon, soap and toilet paper were provided. Price for WIFI - 5€/day. If you search for cheap accomodation in more a less center of the city - take it!

Room Tip: Ask for 322, if you are in the couple. There's air conditioning with the remote.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarcinSteuer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (535)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

134 - 140 of 535 reviews

Reviewed June 14, 2011

This was definitely the worst hotel I have ever been to and the only good think about the hotel is its location.

1. We booked the 2-bed room via hostelbookers.com. The first surprise waited for us at the arrival, when the receptionist told us, that there is only matrimony bed room available. The bed was so narrow, that it was really difficult to have a comfortable sleep.

2. Surprise no.2 - room size
When we stepped into the room, we were waiting few seconds and hoped that the room has some extra space....no it was that small.

3. bathroom size
When talking about the size of the bathroom, i have to focus on the size of the shower cabinet. It was impossible to move in it and when I wanted to use the shower get, I had to open the doors at the shower cabinet :-( (in my defense, I am cyclist, so I think I am quite slim and I really had problems to move here)

4. loudliest place ever
when you are tired, there is very low possibility, that you are going to sleep well here. Loudly air-conditioning is under the window and when its hot outside, you don`t want to close the window. Another point are the neighbours: we could hear, what are girls next door talking about and there were also loudly Spanish kids, who always left open doors on their rooms, and talking to each other. But the worst of that was, that the hotel is really strangely situated, cause it is not just in one building, but the hotel rooms are also in other buildings, where the common flats are as well. These buildings are connected with small yard. And thanks to that you can hear all the people who live there talking, screaming, shouting .....

5. hotel staff - the receptionists were quite nice and they talked English good enough. But talking to other hotel staff is quite difficult, because the two girls talked just Russian and Italian. So if you want to ask something at the breakfast and you don`t talk these two languages, you are out of luck.

In the end I was happy to leave this hotel and don`t want to come here again

Petra

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PetkaGBratislava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2011

I stayed here with friends for 2 nights during an inter-rail trip around Europe. We were on a budget and opted to stay in a this cheap hotel.

Hotel was average, the rooms were OK. The area was particularly bad. Some shady looking characters coming and going which wasn't great. Definitely wouldn't fancy walking around after dark alone.

Wouldn't recommend it, wouldn't go back.

  • Stayed: July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Progressive1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2011

I reserved one night through hostelbookers.com and called for cancellation 10 days before the reserved day.
But they just misguided me(I called twice for make it sure) and charged almost 80$ saying "no show"!!!
Moreover, they didn't respond my e-mail showing the proof of call phone record at google voice, they just ignored me.
What in the world is hotel service like this? I got refund from Hostelbookers.com but they still ignoring my request. I am fighting with them through credit card company. I am very upset with this hotel.(I don't want to call "hotel" cause they don't know even service 101)
If I were you, I will never sleep in the building which has no respect to customers.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SayYoungLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2011

Stayed for 4 nites.Picked hotel due to close proximity to central train station.Was very satisfied with cleanliness,service,continental breakfast and friendliness of staff.
Also felt very safe in area,our 2 teenagers were able to go off on their own without any problems.After reading many of the reviews on here Im just amazed at the arrogance of some people who complain about the staff not speaking English well,or about the Italian channels on the television.You were visiting Italy.Hello!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank UNCLEREMUS_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2011

Stayed with my wife in Hotel Demo in April. Did not expect much from a 3 star Hotel and was not disappointed. It is at best a youth hostel. For €300 a night I did however expect a warm shower and a nights sleep neither of which were available. Guests arriving home in the small hours provided the late loud entertainment and the cleaning staff started working in the store outside our bedroom door starting at 5.30am.
My complaint to the manager were ignored. She replied "what do you expect for €300 during a visit to Milan when there is a trade show in town?" If this is the best value and attitude Milan has to offer it will be our last visit.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Josh008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2011

If your main purpose for your travel is exploring milan this hotel has a very superb location! it's just walking distance to milano centrale (railway station) and just 1 bus ride to/from the airport. Also just a few kms away from the tourists destinations in milan. But if you just want to stay & relax in your room... I'm sorry to say but i was not able to get that during our stay in this hotel, it's very noisy because it's located on a busy street and i can hear the voices of the people in the other room. There's no hot water in the shower! The staffs aren't friendly at all & can't even manage to smile! they serve a lousy breakfast. I was asking for a teaspoon from one of the hotel staffs & what she's giving me is a fork! obviously that particular staff can't even understand simple & basic english. But of course budget-wise, i would still recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meatygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milan hotels
Stazione Centrale
Cityhotel Central Station
Cityhotel Central Station
#370 of 428 in Milan
73 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Hotel Bernina
Hotel Bernina
#150 of 428 in Milan
606 reviews
Bicocca
Club Hotel
Club Hotel
#291 of 428 in Milan
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bicocca
Hotel Terminal
Hotel Terminal
#278 of 428 in Milan
476 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Ibis Milano Centro
Ibis Milano Centro
#167 of 428 in Milan
6,435 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Due Giardini
Due Giardini
#299 of 428 in Milan
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Demo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Demo

Address: Via Tonale 14 | Stazione Centrale, 20125 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Stazione Centrale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #315 of 428 Hotels in Milan
Price Range: $66 - $176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Demo 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only 100 meters away from the Stazione Centrale and from the bus terminal for the airports of Linate, Malpensa and Orio al Serio, the Hotel Demo of Milan is a modern and cosy facility, embellished with the works of art of its owner, Enrico Nicodemo (also known as Demo), on display in the reception area, together with the works of other modern artists. During your stay in Milan, the hotel's staff will be pleased to provide information and great advice on how to get around the city and how to spend your free time. They will also reserve tickets for any cultural, sports or musical event at, for example, the San Siro Stadium. The hotel has a private parking area, internet point, reading area with magazines and a bar where you can enjoy a cocktail together with other guests, in a truly relaxing and friendly atmosphere. Does the Hotel Demo offer a Concierge service? Yes we do, including the advance booking of tickets to museums, sporting events and La Scala Opera House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Demo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Demo Hotel Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing