We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Near to Station but not very well maintained....”
Review of Hotel Bernina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Bernina
Ranked #168 of 428 Hotels in Milan
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Near to Station but not very well maintained....”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Hotel is cheap but I did not like the services and reception. The floors were not well maintained at different levels of the hotel. Options are limited in the breakfast. No luggage keeping room. They will keep your luggage in open, if you request so after check out. There are other better hotels in the same area. So no worries :)

Room Tip: Look for the rooms on the side of the roads, at least you will be able to see the weather and people...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NisHanT_GoeL_86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex_Hotel_Bernina, Manager at Hotel Bernina, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear NisHanT_GoeL_86,

We have recently renewed hotel floors carpets and rooms furniture also, I do not understand the complain about the floors... but anyway thanks we aill try to make it better!!

Could you please give precise info about what you didn't like as "reception services"?

We do have a luggage store, but if it's already full when a guest checks out we keep the luggage in the breakfast room, which remains beside the front desk and not easily accessable for strage people.. sorry but i did not understand the sentence "They will keep your luggage in open"..

A reply would be appreciated, thanks.

Best Regards, Alex Da Silva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

538 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    193
    147
    49
    51
See reviews for
96
138
77
99
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Very helpful and service minded staff.
Complete breakfast at a reasonable price,
Quiet neighbourhood in central Milan
With easy access to metro, tram and central train
station.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex_Hotel_Bernina, Manager at Hotel Bernina, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for reserving sdome time to express your opinion, it's very important for us!!

Hope you have as guest again, offering a better service.

Best Regards, Alex Da Silva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
43 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Sometimes I think people expect to pay cheap-and-cheerful rates, expect luxury and then exaggerate the negative points.

The hotel is a very short walk from the train station, which means – as in any big city – you have to be careful when out on the streets at night. However, that applies to most of Milan, so isn't a particular reason to be negative about the Bernina.

The best thing about the hotel was the helpfulness and friendliness of the staff. All of them, including the cleaners and waitresses, greeted us with a pleasant “buongiorno” whenever they saw us and the man on the reception desk was kind enough to take care of our airport check-in when we were leaving, rather than insist we pay to use the internet.

I also witnessed him dealing with two difficult and potentially embarrassing situations for guests tactfully and diplomatically.

The hotel itself was clean; the rooms were basic but functional. There were a few examples of décor being “frayed around the edges”, for example a cracked tile in the bathroom but the standard was acceptable for the price we paid. The bathroom decoration might have had a nicer colour scheme – brown and beige isn't the best and makes it seem a little dreary.

Also, the beds were on the firm-to-hard side, which wouldn't suit some.

One thing to note is that guests should expect to hear some noise from the corridor and possibly from other rooms. That was probably the biggest negative about the Bernina but we would stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask if there's a room as far from the lift as possible to minimise noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PragueGn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athlone, Ireland
Level Contributor
87 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2012

Stayed here on May 3rd for 1 nite. Needed a room convenitent to the Central rail station and it certainally met that requirment. This is an old property with very dull decor however it is clean and meets all your basis needs. In particular the man on the reception desk was most helpfull on my arrival. Breakfast was also good.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dogbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2012

What a terrible place to stay - cheapish, but I would def pay more the next time I'm in Milan for something a bit better - and i'm really not that fussy!! Pokey room and lift!! Smelt fusty. It is very close to the train station for an onward journey but the area is quite dodgy. I wouldn't be walking alone at night time. There were quite a few beggars around :-( Try somewhere else!

Room Tip: Book somewhere else!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank poshpiggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Milan hotels

Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
237 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2012

The Best part about this Hotel is the Location - opposite Milan Central station. Since the sourroundings of the station are not so safe, having this 4 star hotel opposite, really helps and saves the trouble of a cab! The room is spacious and comfortable, though they dont have a coffee maker ( i think the voltage does'nt allow it).
But they had an excellent breakfast spread every morning and LAN internet in the room and a FREE MINIBAR :)
Big Bathroom with double sinks. Only problem was that off the tub drainage - very slow! Excellent house-keeping -Bath products used to be changed every single day including used soaps with band new packed ones.
Few good restaurants around including 2 McDonalds just 2 mins walk away.

Room Tip: Do ask for a front facing room if possible - one that overlooks the station and main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monalisa777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2012

We chose this place because we were coming and going by train within 36 hours so we wanted somewhere convenient. The hotel is less than 5mins walk from Milano Centrale train station and looks OK from the outside and in the lobby. The desk staff were good and the room was only 70E a night (no breakfast). But it was a warm building, our floor/room smelt slightly of old fustiness and cigarette smoke and the TV didn't work. The area had the usual seediness of any zone near a train station. It's fine as a transit hotel but I wouldn't want to stay there again unless it was just for 1 night.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Netski66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milan hotels
Stazione Centrale
Flora Hotel
Flora Hotel
#149 of 428 in Milan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Hotel Garda
Hotel Garda
#183 of 428 in Milan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Hotel Aosta - Gruppo MiniHotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stazione Centrale
Canova Hotel
Canova Hotel
#200 of 428 in Milan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Best Western Atlantic Hotel
Stazione Centrale
Esco Hotel Milano
Esco Hotel Milano
#88 of 428 in Milan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bernina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bernina

Property: Hotel Bernina
Address: Via Napo Torriani 27 | Milan Central Railway Station, 20124 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Stazione Centrale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #168 of 428 Hotels in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bernina 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 200 metres from Milano Centrale Train Station, Hotel Bernina features rooms with WiFi access, a flat-screen TV, and a minibar. It also offers room service. The Bernina Hotel has excellent public transport links around Milan and to its international airports. Milan Cathedral is just 4 metro stops away. Rooms here are bright and comfortable with parquet floors. They come with a private bathroom with hairdryer. WiFi access is available throughout the hotel and there is an internet point in the lobby. A varied breakfast buffet is served from 07:00 until 10:00. You will also find a bar and a reception open 24 hours a day. The Rho Fiera Milano and Expo 2015 exhibition centres are both within 15 km of the property. Stazione Centrale is a great choice for travellers interested in shopping for clothes, shopping and sightseeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, HostelWorld, ACCOR, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Bernina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bernina Hotel Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing