We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Business and Tourist Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Bernina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Bernina
Ranked #182 of 431 Hotels in Milan
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
220 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Great Business and Tourist Hotel”
Reviewed April 1, 2012

The Best part about this Hotel is the Location - opposite Milan Central station. Since the sourroundings of the station are not so safe, having this 4 star hotel opposite, really helps and saves the trouble of a cab! The room is spacious and comfortable, though they dont have a coffee maker ( i think the voltage does'nt allow it).
But they had an excellent breakfast spread every morning and LAN internet in the room and a FREE MINIBAR :)
Big Bathroom with double sinks. Only problem was that off the tub drainage - very slow! Excellent house-keeping -Bath products used to be changed every single day including used soaps with band new packed ones.
Few good restaurants around including 2 McDonalds just 2 mins walk away.

Room Tip: Do ask for a front facing room if possible - one that overlooks the station and main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monalisa777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

525 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    188
    146
    49
    51
See reviews for
92
136
75
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2012

We chose this place because we were coming and going by train within 36 hours so we wanted somewhere convenient. The hotel is less than 5mins walk from Milano Centrale train station and looks OK from the outside and in the lobby. The desk staff were good and the room was only 70E a night (no breakfast). But it was a warm building, our floor/room smelt slightly of old fustiness and cigarette smoke and the TV didn't work. The area had the usual seediness of any zone near a train station. It's fine as a transit hotel but I wouldn't want to stay there again unless it was just for 1 night.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Netski66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melide, Switzerland
Level Contributor
64 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2011

The posision of the Hptel is perfect just in front of the Central station and a short walk from Shopping Area Buones Aires.The entrance is poor and bad shape ,the floors are terrible with an old carpet and dirty .The rooms are not bad a good surprise ,clean and a very comfortable bed :the fridge is big and a flat screen television with skytv very good .Bath room is clean shower ok .Did not have breakfat in the hotel went out .Staff is very kind

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mpa962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
140 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2011

Of all the hotels we stayed at on our recent Italian vacation this was the worst. The only positive is its proximity to the train station (within sight of the main exit). Negatives include a completely run down look from the carpet to the bedding (probably not changed since Mussolini's time). Desk staff definitely not cut out for the service industry (the day shift guy might not even like English speakers) and not very proficient with English (well, it is Italy I suppose and the night shift desk help only spoke Italian). One employee in the breakfast room did try to be friendly and seemed to "get it" as far as being helpful.

Bathroom and shower were small, in the Euro tradition, but adequate. The mattress was hard as seemed to be the norm throughout our Italian visit.

THE BIGGEST REASON TO NOT STAY HERE IS THE AIR CONDITIONING SYSTEM IS CONTROLLED AT THE FRONT DESK, NOT BY THE GUEST IN THE ROOM!!!!!!!

Despite being in the upper 80s the hotel staff would not keep the air conditioning on, turning it off in the evenings (or whenever else they pleased). This resulted in my going down to the front desk at 3AM in the morning to plead with the night watchman to turn on the air (what little made its way into the room) so I could breath/sleep (opening the room's window wasn't an option, it was just as warm outside). This is entirely unacceptable.

All in all this is a hotel that seems to be running on a shoestring. Poorly maintained and definitely not worth the number of stars it's received (who'd they pay off?) or the price a guest pays. Across the street is the Hotel Berna (not Bernina) which looked like a much better and well-maintained property. Might think about that the next time we're in Milan.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank themolitors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Milan hotels

Tirana
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2011

My husband and I spent 2 days in this hotel , for visiting Milan. We did'n like it at all. The rroms were very small, the restaurant even smaller, and the buffet breakfast was poor.
Don't try to go to the Duomo on foot from it , because it is really faaar .
The wifi is very expensive , 2 euros per 1/2 hour .

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ela11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2011

The location is very close to the main train station but there are many more hotels in the area that offer a more pleasant stay. The hotel is very old but not in a good way

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Snowgo4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
india
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2011

The hotel is conveniently located 3 minutes walk from the central station and even closer to the metro. the staff are helpful and friendly and we felt welcome and most importantly safe - we were 2 girls travelling alone.the rooms were also clean although the bathroom was small but that is quite common ive seen throughout italy and france. i would reccommend this hotel in a heartbeat and would definately come back when i visit milan again :)

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RosannaDsouza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milan hotels
Stazione Centrale
Flora Hotel
Flora Hotel
#150 of 431 in Milan
501 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Hotel Garda
Hotel Garda
#183 of 431 in Milan
636 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Hotel Aosta - Gruppo MiniHotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stazione Centrale
Canova Hotel
Canova Hotel
#200 of 431 in Milan
404 reviews
Stazione Centrale
BEST WESTERN Atlantic Hotel
Stazione Centrale
Augustus Hotel
Augustus Hotel
#228 of 431 in Milan
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bernina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bernina

Property: Hotel Bernina
Address: Via Napo Torriani 27 | Milan Central Railway Station, 20124 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Stazione Centrale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #182 of 431 Hotels in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bernina 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 200 metres from Milano Centrale Train Station, Hotel Bernina features rooms with WiFi access, a flat-screen TV, and a minibar. It also offers room service. The Bernina Hotel has excellent public transport links around Milan and to its international airports. Milan Cathedral is just 4 metro stops away. Rooms here are bright and comfortable with parquet floors. They come with a private bathroom with hairdryer. WiFi access is available throughout the hotel and there is an internet point in the lobby. A varied breakfast buffet is served from 07:00 until 10:00. You will also find a bar and a reception open 24 hours a day. The Rho Fiera Milano and Expo 2015 exhibition centres are both within 15 km of the property. Stazione Centrale is a great choice for travellers interested in shopping for clothes, shopping and sightseeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, Studio Scivoletto S.r.l. , Hotels.com, Orbitz, ACCOR, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Bernina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bernina Hotel Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing