We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some hidden gems”
Review of Castello Sforzesco

Castello Sforzesco
Book In Advance
More Info
$80.61*
and up
Discovering Sforza Castel Family Friendly Tour
More Info
$92.46*
and up
Private Tour: Sforza Castel Family Friendly Visit
More Info
$53.34*
and up
'The Last Supper' and Sforza Castle Tour
Ranked #7 of 821 things to do in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Some hidden gems”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

A captivating sculpture by Michelangelo that he was working on days before his death, and a ceiling by Leonardo himself along with some of his pupils are just two of the relatively unknown masterpieces tucked away within the Castello. Don't miss them, and if you go after 4pm entry is free until closing time!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Arjun N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9,161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5,093
    3,286
    675
    78
    29
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
78 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Worth seeing even if you do not go inside.”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

My trip to Milan was off the cuff so this is something I was recommended to see - and I'm glad I did.

The castle is impressive, large and beautiful constructed/decorated. "Behind" the castle is a massive park and plenty of other things to go on and see from it. It is not worth a full day but an hour or so is a must.

Near by are three metro stations so getting around is easy enough.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank TheBob623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
168 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Imposing castle”
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Was taken aback after seeing all the ornate Italian renaissance buildings to come across this ancient looking castle in the midst of the hustle and bustle of Milan. I enjoyed a great walk around the beautiful grounds, and admired the archway in the park and the colossal fountain at the entrance.

Helpful?
1 Thank Zahid K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Lots to See”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Castello Sforzesco is an imposing building and it is interesting just to walk around it outside. Inside Castello Sforzesco are various museums. I didn't have time to visit all of them, but what I did see I thoroughly enjoyed. Plus, at only 3 Euro, you don't feel like you have to see everything to get your money's worth. If you're not on a tight schedule while in Milan, this is a nice place to spend a few hours.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephanie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
72 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Interesting building”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

The architecture is very imposing and fountain is lovely if you are luck enough to be there at switching on time. I couldn't spend a full day there but its definitely worth a visit and a few photos if you are visiting Milan.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lynne2408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Castello Sforzesco also viewed

 

Been to Castello Sforzesco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing