We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab found in Milan”
Review of Chateau Monfort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Chateau Monfort
Ranked #13 of 428 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fab found in Milan”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We have found this hotel an a TripAdvisor on our drive from France to Switzerland and stopped in Milano for one night.
Polite, very helpfull staff, great room, good location. Whoever was the designer of this hotel, did a very good job. We have stayed with a year old baby and they provided cot and nice breakfast. I would stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katarina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,407 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,041
    265
    70
    25
    6
See reviews for
189
710
47
203
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

Unfortunately we only stayed in this beautiful hotel for one night but it was a perfect stay! Each room is themed and we had Japanese decor including a kimono at the head of our bed. As we didn't stay long we didn't get to use many of the hotels amenities however it is situated very close to the centre of Milan, a short 10 minute walk. The room was very comfortable and quite spacious. The shower head was huge!

Overall a very nice hotel and wish we had more time to explore it!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NicSyd2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

The Ch. Monfort is a recently renovated estate converted into a very modern business hotel. We made the mistake of driving to Milan with friends and driving to the Monfort, which is centrally located, but very difficult to reach by car (figure 1 1/2 hours during rush hour). Better to park outside the city at one of the secure parking garages and take the train or subway into town. Parking at the Monfort is 31 Euros ($41)!

The Monfort is not especially suited for tourists. When we arrived, in shorts and polo shirts, we encountered guests in business and evening attire. Everything is also ridiculously expensive. for example, the breakfast is 28 Euros ($37). We chose the Monfort because of a special rate, and when we arrived we were given probably the two least desirable rooms, although the rooms themselves were very modern and well equipped.

In short, if you are in Milan for business and on an expense account, this is a great hotel to impress your clients or associates, but if you are vacationing, stay outside of town and use public transportation to get to the sites.

Room Tip: Call in advance and request a room facing the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jimvogt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire, England
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights as part of our honeymoon in Italy.

It was a truly delightful hotel - lots of special attention when we arrived and we loved the bottle of fizz and fruit waiting for us in our room. The room was beautiful, spacious with lots of lovely finishing touches.

A great location to get to lots of Milan's highlights - only a short walk to the main square.
We enjoyed champagne in the bar downstairs - a quiet relaxed atmosphere added to our enjoyment. We didn't try the restaurant, as we wanted to try local restaurants with only being in Milan for two nights, but it looked very tempting.

Highly recommended if you have the budget for a romantic treat.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jenn_Steve_E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

From the moment we arrived at this hotel until we checked out, everything was just perfect.
Approx. 15 minutes walk from the Dome, and the area seemed very safe indeed. Easy to get taxi, and both buses and trams stops outside the hotel.
If you choose a room without breakfast, you'll find a very nice breakfast bar just opposite the road called 'Victum'; highly recommendable (the food and coffe is the perfect way of starting your day).
The dinner at the restaurant on the hotel is also good, with nice service.

Room Tip: Don't be afraid to get a room facing the street; the windows has very good sound-proof.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EuropeanMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Ha ha, this hotel is quite likely to provoke controversial comments. It may not be to everyone’s taste.
Here is reflection of our stay ‘through the looking glass’.

I have been thinking about Birthday present for my Beloved, but nothing was interesting enough. When I came across Chateau Monfort on British Airways website, it solved the problem for me. I booked it as room only + flights package. Then there was a task to wrap it up as a present, not just a city break. My Beloved knew only that we were going to Milan, but I didn’t tell him where we were staying. He likes lazy mornings and does not like getting up for breakfast when staying in hotels. It gave me an idea to order room-service surprise champagne breakfast. I contacted hotel, promptly received reply from their restaurant manager Michele, who took care about virtually all arrangements. Then there was a sensitive issue with payment as I knew that while there my Dearest will try and pay hotel bill himself. What kind of present would it be?! So, it had to be undercover. For some reason I could not pay in advance and was trying to think under what excuse I can sneak away while there to settle all the arrangements…

Walking towards it from Milano Centrale Station we almost missed it. Don’t laugh, I googled walking directions to it and got estimated 8 minutes in total, only when we got there we learned that it was driving time estimate, but it was not too bad. Unexpectedly Chateau Monfort was just there on a corner of Corso De Concordia when I turned back. A smartly dressed gentleman was standing outside as if he was waiting for us. He greeted us with a very warm welcome: I’ve just been waiting for you here, welcome to Chateau Monfort, let me help you with your suitcases. I’m a general manager here. While we were checking in he wished my Beloved a Happy Birthday, making our first impression even more special. Our room was ready, however we were offered to see another room as well to choose which one we like. We preferred room 311 on a top floor, away from main corridor, quiet, with a tiny balcony; in pink, the one with a funny huge kimono type robe above head board. I must admit, I was a little bit worried after our misfortune in Prague, where we just came from, but when I saw the room, I was greatly relieved. It was cute, a little compact, but cozy. After reading reviews on TA I was expecting to see something OTT candy-shop-like quirky décor, but it was quite tasteful, not necessarily fairy-tale, but rather adult fantasy. Room was designed definitely with intention for romance with very comfortable king-size four poster bed. They have been refurbishing the building for 6 years, a lot of effort was made and attention paid to a detail throughout.

We had to rush out to Varenna for the rest of the day (trains go only every 2 hours), I did not have a chance to sneak out to sort my arrangements out. On our way back a receptionist started chatting to us, he discretely told me that the restaurant manager wanted a word with me. Michele already was waiting by the entrance to the restaurant. He actually was there when we arrived too. While receptionist was keeping my Beloved busy with a history of their hotel, we managed to sort things out. There was one thing, which I did not do in advance – flowers. It was after 10pm when I asked Michele if they could deliver 7 high stem dark red roses together with breakfast at 8am. I was not sure if at such a last minute notice they could do it, so was happy to have them delivered at any time of the day into our room. So, all has been sorted with impeccable discretion, I loved friendly conspiracy between us. My Beloved card’s details, which he’s already managed to leave at the reception, were cancelled and mine kept. Ta dah!

After a hot day we went up to our room for a quick shower to get changed to go out. But when I got in to the shower separated only by the glass from our bed, I realized that shower was not going to be that quick and we most likely would not see Duomo at night. Oh, btw, my skin loved bathroom accessories.
The following morning 8am sharp there was a knock on a door, our champagne breakfast (wonderfully served exactly as I ordered) was delivered together with a bouquet of 7 beautiful dark red long stem roses. Curtains were keeping our room almost pitch dark allowing to see very little. When I slowly opened them to let bright sunny day in, the Birthday Boy started waking up. I think, he liked his awakening, breakfast lasted for more than 6 hours. It would have lasted longer if we did not have to leave our room to see ‘The Last Supper’.
We didn’t have any plans about Birthday dinner. I suggested we play it by ear, if we don’t find anything we like the look of, we’d have dinner at Chateau. Michele confirmed that reservation was not required as restaurant was not busy. And we stayed for late dinner at Chateau. At 8.30 pm we were the only visitors in the restaurant, in total only 3 tables were occupied throughout the evening. Dinner was delicious, but! The Birthday Boy ordered spaghetti with chillies and cheese for starter and could not taste chillies. Chef forgot about the chillies! Oh, chef, how could you!!!

After Birthday dinner we remembered that we have not checked in on our flights back. For some reason we could not set wi-fi in our room, so went downstairs to see if we can manage there. While we were sitting in a bar trying to make sense out of gadgets (I blame bubbles in champagne), hotel manager came back from his day off. He wished my Birthday Boy a very happy Birthday and we were treated to 2 glasses of champagne. Eventually, with the help of receptionists we managed to check in and went to bed.
On the day of departure hotel booked taxi for us. It took only a couple of minutes for taxi to arrive.
Sadly, because of the heat, my Birthday Boy forgot his roses. If you stayed at Chateau beginning of August, you may have noticed 7 dark red roses in the restaurant, that's where he asked hotel to keep them to bring joy to everyone.

That’s our story about Chateau Monfort.

Getting out and about.
The nearest train station is Milano Centrale with in about 25 minute walking distance, you can get there by train or coach. More frequent trains from Malpensa go to Milano Cadorna - 13€ by taxi from the hotel (Malpensa Express every 30 minutes, ours to the airport was delayed). Our taxi driver did not speak English, better book through the hotel. If you go from Milano Centrale, be aware about dodgy elements hanging around main Ticket office and sort of offering you help with buying tickets, they don’t look like members of staff at all. Make sure, you give yourselves plenty of time and know the final train destination. We were running late for a train to Varenna on lake Como (pretty sleepy little town well worth a visit), there was absolutely nobody around platforms until the very last moment to point out which train to take, all staff seemed to be half asleep, they don’t rush. If you go to Varenna, be aware, they don’t have a ticket office or a ticket machine at the station, there is something like a tourist office down the road, where you can buy your ticket, but it closes very early.
Milan is not the type of city for sight-seeing, however, apart from shopping, there are plenty of attractions to see. “The Last Supper” should be booked well in advance. If you go there, pop in to the neighbouring church to see masterpieces by Titian and Caravaggio, just like that.
Sadly, La Scala was closed till September, but you can see inside, if you go to the museum, if there are no rehearsals; we’ll have to make sure we go there on our next visit.

Summary and nit-picking.
Chateau Monfort is not cheap, terms such as ‘a bargain’, ‘value for money’, etc. do not apply here, particularly additional charges. However, there are various offers on different websites for different lengths of stay, do shop around. Just before our stay there was a very good offer on Secret Escapes, where discounted room rate included breakfast and spa use (I’ve read, it’s now closed till the end of August).
The rooms: we thought, wardrobe was a little compact and there was nowhere to hide suitcases, but this is really minor. Also, not all rooms have coffee machines, ours didn’t. Hotel is situated on a corner of 2 busy roads, make sure, you close your window/balcony, you won’t hear a thing. If you are a very sensitive sleeper, air-con is set up to switch on/off automatically.
As it has been mentioned, next to Chateau Monfort there is a charity kitchen. People queue there during day time, nobody in the evening. We didn’t see any problems at all, in a way it’s even a good reminder that there are some people who are in need.

Overall: we thoroughly enjoyed our stay, many thanks to Michele, Hotel manager and everyone, who made it so special. I hope to return one day.

I recommend this hotel for couples, romance, relaxing break, special occasions, surprises and treats.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scarlett_XXX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

We just returned from our 2 weeks holiday in Italy. Just like everywhere in the world finding a place that is not only beautiful in ambience, but with equally beautiful people is rare. And when you find these places we must share.
One of these places we found in Milan was the team in chateau Monfort. Right from the General Manager to every single person in their team are absolutely wonderful . They go out of their way to make you comfortable.
For example, we were staying with our 3 and a half year old daughter who was hungry at 7 pm and could only eat some simple pasta dishes and we wanted some simple salad .. And even though their restaurant was not fully open till 7.30 pm and their menu did not consist of simple pasta dishes, the restaurant manager got everything prepared from their kitchen and made sure we were served in the restaurant. They made us feel so comfortable.

This was not the only example, every single interaction with their staff was great!!! There was no expectation in return.. Simple traditional hospitality!!!
The hotel reception was always staffed with such helpful people it was actually surprising.. It's truly a rare team and I hope they stay this way.
The hotel is so beautifully decorated you would want to capture every single corner in your camera...A truly comfortable place to stay in luxury and feel special.
Even though the room was small it was tastefully decorated and had all the comfort. The only drawback was the sound of the trams in the night....

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AJ W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milan hotels
Stazione Centrale
Hotel Principe Di Savoia
Stazione Centrale
Excelsior Hotel Gallia, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Centro Storico
NH Collection Milano President
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand Visconti Palace
#34 of 428 in Milan
1,792 reviews
Centro Storico
Room Mate Giulia
Room Mate Giulia
#2 of 428 in Milan
631 reviews
Brera
Mandarin Oriental, Milan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Monfort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Monfort

Property: Chateau Monfort
Address: Corso Concordia, 1 | Piazza Tricolore, 20129 Milan, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 428 Hotels in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Chateau Monfort 5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Château Monfort is the new 5 star hotel located in the heart of Milan, just a few minutes walking from the famous Duomo Cathedral and the main fashion District. Its 77 rooms, with 5 Junior Suites and 5 Suites, are overwhelmed by a charming atmosphere, some retrò style details and a special glamour touch. Château Monfort offers a new philosophy of hotellerie based on fashion, music and art and to recapture a sort of childhood fairytale. The "Rubacuori by Venissa" Restaurant is an enchanted place where an ensemble of art and passion are turned into a poem by mediterranean savours. Located in the heart of our lobby area under a stunning dome ceiling, our Lounge Bar Mezzanotte by Venissa plays the landlord role with charms and luxury.Fantastic atmospheres are reserved to the areas dedicated to relax, conferences and events. A dedicated area for meetings, "Le Segrete", a spacious ballroom "La Sala dell' Incantesimo" and a wine cellar "La Cella di Bacco" offer guests exclusive moments to experience. Free your Senses in our unique SPA "Amore & Psiche". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Chateau Monfort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing