We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a lovely quirky hotel”
Review of Chateau Monfort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Chateau Monfort
Ranked #9 of 426 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Excellent staff, helpful & friendly. Rooms are lovely decorated, quiet & clean. Bathrooms a good size. Only negative was the room was a little small, we had difficulty fitting two large suitcases in. Quiet locations about 10min walk from CBD. Only 10Euro taxi fare to the railway station. I would recommend this hotel

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank polly2603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,461)
There are newer reviews for Chateau Monfort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

588 - 594 of 1,461 reviews

Reviewed August 4, 2013

I hate doing this, because every single person I spoke with in the hotel was kind and polite. The hotel was clean, everything worked. The beds were comfortable, the breakfast was delicious. The location was very good, 10 minute walk to shopping etc. Bit loud at night, but summer in Milan.

Here's the problem - who goes to Milan to stay at a fairy tale disney world esque hotel? The employees have to wear these ridiculous yellow or blue or purple shirts. The idea is so they look like castle employees at cinderellas ball, I think. It's just strange. And the entire hotel feels like an office building which was converted into a hotel for a short term wait on real estate. Retrofit the building into a hotel, coast for a few years and then sell building to someone else.

The common spaces were small, the hotel had no soul, or spirit and energy. Everything felt like an after thought (not the service or personnel, but the building and design).

The rooms - ours was very nice, but obviously felt lika converted office tower. No bathtub, just shower, which was ok, but they had these huge nutcrackers on each of the corners of the poster bed. Bizarre.

Last comment- service - While incredibly polite, we had drinks on two nights and in both cases the wait time was ridiculous. 15 minutes to get a drink in a basically empty room and then 15 minutes to wait on a bill. This was annoying but not end of the world.

Basically, for the money I spent on the room, I wanted something real, more classic (or modern), but with soul, history or a 'presence,' especially considering we were in Italy.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Crabjunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We had traveled for 10 days throughout Italy and were ready for new world sophistication after a wonderful tour of old world Italy. The hotel met all of our expectations. Clean and luxurious from the front door to the room. The atmosphere was perfect for my wife as she really appreciated the old mansion finishes blending with the recently renovated rooms. The hotel is only a ten minute walk to the shopping district and a grocery store is across the street for necessities.

We are rather picky when it comes to hotels, so you could not go wrong with a stay here. And yes, the rooms are extremely quiet as advertised.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoeA1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

We stayed at Chateau Montfort twice during July 2013. The first time we stated was amazing. Clean room, beautiful hotel, excellent service. When we stated the second time we were no quite as impressed. Upon our arrival we were told we had been upgraded to an executive room, much to our delight. Unfortunately upon entering the room we were disappointed at the lack luster this room offered. This room was slight larger than the standard room we had stayed in however the walls were very scuffed and the bathroom did not have a window (unlike our prior room). In addition to this the tv kept switching on and off. When we contacted reception about the tv, they sent up a porter who after fiddling with the tv decided it was a job for maintenance who wouldn't come until the morning. I think the most annoying thing was that the wifi only worked near the front door which meant we couldn't even lie in bed and use the Internet seeing as the tv was not working.

All in all I would still recommend this hotel based on location, however insist that you get what you pay for as this us no cheap hotel!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Australiantourista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Just back from a few days in Milan at the Chateau Monfort - what a wonderful place! It is absolutely everything you imagine, like something from a fairytale. Our stay started with an upgrade and just got better and better - Pablo on reception is just brilliant, a mine of information - and as for Ivan the bartender... well, what can I say ... he is a legend, I think he will have his own fanclub very soon... All of the staff are a credit to the hotel, nothing is too much to ask. Our room was beautiful and we had a fantastic stay. thank you all!

Room Tip: The shower in the Hibiscus Room is see-through! So for couples and good friends only!
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CDV77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Stayed here for the first time through a booking on agoda ( which was cheaper than booking.com ), and was pleasantly surprised with the quality of the hotel. Pablo and Sage at the reception were very helpful for all our needs. Ivan the bar-tender was fantastic. He gave me the origin and history of martini, the first one being made by Jerry Thomas in San Francisco for a gold digger who paid him with a gold stone. Ivan is passionate about his work, and it's a pleasure to chat with him over his perfect mixes, though he himself prefers the plain simple ones.

The location of the hotel is very central, and convenient to walk to the Duomo, the Fashion Street, restaurants....The bedrooms open to a small balcony, the street is noisy if you leave the window open, but with the sound proof no sound filters through.

The decor of the hotel is delightful.

Highly recommended hotel.

Room Tip: If you like the street scene take a street view, a little noisy, if you open the window, but I do pr...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nkm111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

We stayed here recently for the last weekend of July, and it was a fantastic choice. It is just slightly out of the city centre and approximately a ten minute walk from the Duomo. So that was a bit tough in the intense heat but.... that really was the only negative.

We stopped in room 112 which was lovely and spacious - this was a great surprise especially as spacious hotel rooms in European cities often come at a premium!! Having a bath tub would have been a plus, but oh well.

The staff were very friendly, helpful, polite and knowledgeable. They clearly took pride in their work. We had trouble printing our boarding passes before we departed from the UK and the hotel kindly did this for us within minutes. Unlike other reviews I have read our Nespresso refills and water bottles were provided each day. We didn't eat in the restaurant and breakfast wasn't included within our package so I couldn't really comment but the bar was lovely.

The furnishings and interior of the hotel and our room were very unique.

There was a lovely bar called Gold roughly five minutes away, along with a lovely restaurant http://www.giacomobistrot.com/index.html which was fantastic! Would definitely recommend.

There is supermarket, pharmacies and coffee shops near by, so great local amenities.

Would stay here again without any hesitation.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Palvinderd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milan hotels
Stazione Centrale
Hotel Principe Di Savoia
Centro Storico
NH Collection Milano President
Stazione Centrale
Excelsior Hotel Gallia, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand Visconti Palace
#34 of 426 in Milan
1,847 reviews
Centro Storico
Room Mate Giulia
Room Mate Giulia
#2 of 426 in Milan
690 reviews
Brera
Mandarin Oriental, Milan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Monfort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Monfort

Address: Corso Concordia, 1 | Piazza Tricolore, 20129 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 426 Hotels in Milan
Price Range: $232 - $886 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Chateau Monfort 5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Château Monfort is the new 5 star hotel located in the heart of Milan, just a few minutes walking from the famous Duomo Cathedral and the main fashion District. Its 77 rooms, with 5 Junior Suites and 5 Suites, are overwhelmed by a charming atmosphere, some retrò style details and a special glamour touch. Château Monfort offers a new philosophy of hotellerie based on fashion, music and art and to recapture a sort of childhood fairytale. The "Rubacuori by Venissa" Restaurant is an enchanted place where an ensemble of art and passion are turned into a poem by mediterranean savours. Located in the heart of our lobby area under a stunning dome ceiling, our Lounge Bar Mezzanotte by Venissa plays the landlord role with charms and luxury.Fantastic atmospheres are reserved to the areas dedicated to relax, conferences and events. A dedicated area for meetings, "Le Segrete", a spacious ballroom "La Sala dell' Incantesimo" and a wine cellar "La Cella di Bacco" offer guests exclusive moments to experience. Free your Senses in our unique SPA "Amore & Psiche". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chateau Monfort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing