We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“To be recommended”
Review of The Grill Restaurant - CLOSED

The Grill Restaurant
Price range: $28 - $33
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Navigli
Colmar, France
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“To be recommended”
Reviewed July 15, 2012

We read about the place in NY Times and decided to give it a try. The reservation was made over the telephone a week in advance from France. The staff was nice, accommodating and spoke good English and Spanish. The atmosphere at the restaurant was warm and at the same time somewhat elegant, not too laid back, but neither uptight. As for the food: we had a plate of iberico ham for the starter and then ribs and hamburger for the main course. The meal was accompanied by a bottle of Italian wine and limoncello was the finishing touch for the evening. All the dishes were served promptly and with a smile. The quality of the food was excellent, the reception warm and convivial. We have a very positive impression of the place and would recommend it without any reservations.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank EdoNist68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

366 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    154
    68
    36
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
71 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“American tastes in Milan.”
Reviewed July 14, 2012

What a fun experience! We came across this place and were so happy to have stopped in for a great dinner. We were taken back to American with great steak, burgers, and ketchup! Prices were decent and the restaurant has a lovely cozy atmosphere. Highly recommended if you are craving a tasty steak or burger. The service could have been a little better but I would return again and again.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano
Level Contributor
197 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 810 helpful votes
“Very disappointing”
Reviewed June 22, 2012

Three of us went to this restaurant after reading the good reviews hoping to enjoy a really nice piece of steak. We were very disappointed with the T bone steak which 2 of us ordered rare and arrived totally cold and hard, and the hamburger which my wife had was also dry and hard is spite of it also being rare. The fries were oily and fat. The bill was outrageous for the food. Never again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
10 Thank A A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
41 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Comfort Italian for Americans”
Reviewed May 9, 2012

This is a good restaurant - attentive staff, reasonable prices and good value, pretty room, and Americanized Italian. A third of the menu is hamburgers and they are good. We got chips and Ketchup - also good but which city were we in? Getting a table before 9 pm is easy but not after.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Don620
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
64 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great Burgers!”
Reviewed May 9, 2012

They serve very good American food (awesome buns) with an Italian style. Nice decoration and friendly atmosphere. You can see the food (fresh meat) from the street and the kitchen through large windows. I recommand to book before coming because the place is small and popular.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Romain L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Grill Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing