We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An excellent place to stay in Milan” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Antica Locanda dei Mercanti

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Antica Locanda dei Mercanti
Ranked #87 of 430 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
istanbul
1 review
“An excellent place to stay in Milan”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2010

We stayed 2 nights at the Antica Locanda dei Mercanti. As per other reviews, the location is excellent. It’s just a 5 minute walk to the Duomo, 10 minutes to La Scala and a 15 minute walk to see The Last Supper. Lots of nearby shopping as well.
The hotel has modern decor. We had a room on one of the upper floors, quite cosy, and with a nicely appointed bathroom. The rooms were clean and the front desk staff were very helpful with maps and directions. Many restaurants nearby.

Overall, an excellent place to stay in Milan

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ortaorta_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    73
    27
    10
    5
See reviews for
49
194
17
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2010

"We stayed in this hotel just for 3 nights, and our first impressions were good both from the outside and on the inside, where there was a small lounge with free Internet access.

We took a room with a beautiful terrace with lots of pots of flowers. The room was spotlessly clean, simple and very plesent.

The excellent breakfast brought to the room was a nice surprise.

Very clever Mr.Steve to found this little hotel.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank albania1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2010

A very comfortable hotel in a perfect location.
Our room was clean, quite spacious and light (piena di luce). The furniture a mix of modern and antique in a very pleasant combination. Made us feel at home.
Considering the position of the hotel, the quality-price ratio is right.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fabry76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2010

You are paying for the central location and the outside space at this hotel, rather than the rooms. The service was good, room spacious and breakfast excellent. It is a smalll boutique type hotel in an old building which also houses offices. There is no sign outside. Beware however that breakfast is extra and taxes are not included in the price. Overall I would not stay here again unless it was about £75 per night cheaper. Simply too expesive per night for what is provided, even considering that you are in Milan.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Culture53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2010

Do not judge this hotel, in an old Milanese merchants building and without a fancy entrance, by the outside: it has beautiful spacious rooms, with some antique furniture, and all the necessary conviniences.
The hotel is situated in the historical centre of Milan, within walking distance of many sights.
I would certainly like to stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlanVanCaubergh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, LA
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2010

Despite a somewhat weirdly decorated lobby (in progress I imagine) and non-descript hallways, the rooms were very nice. I would hold all judgement until you see the suites/rooms with terraces.

You choice is between a suite and a terrace room. The suite room (which my collegue and his wife stayed in) was HUGE, and contained high end furniture and modern fixtures. This room contained a "queen" bed (two twins pushed together, which is how all beds in Italy are in my experience), a couch, and another single bed. It could have comfortably slept 3 people, and possibly 4.

The Terrace room (where I stayed) had older fixtures and was more "old-timey" in general. The room was also much smaller than the suite (not unusual). But each terrace room had a truly unbelievable PRIVATE garden patio. Also, it was very cool that the patios were rather large. The terrace included TONS of flowers, as well as a patio table and chairs. I can't overstate how nice it was to have this private sitting, as it provided a welcome respite from the crowded and somewhat touristy restaurants near Via Dante. Go to the local "Punto Supermercato" (supermarket) buy some 10 euro Italian bottle of wine, and enjoy the evening!

The wireless internet was fast, FREE, and could be accessed anywhere in the building.

The breakfast is 10 euro, and they bring it to your room at whatever time you ask. It includes coffee of your choice, fresh squeezed blood orange juice, and some brioche (croissants and breads with jellies and butter). I would say it's worth getting the breakfast a time or two for its romantic "breakfast in bed" feel, but otherwise you may be better off getting a cafe and brioche somewhere near Via Dante (2-4 euros). I will say the blood orange juice is really really good.

The suites are about 15-20% more expensive than the terrace rooms. If you're after a big, nice room then get the suite. If you're willing to accept a smaller more modest room, and experience the garden terrace, then get the terrace room.

I will say there are some interesting/puzzling things about this hotel. I originally booked a room at the "Alle Meravigle." Imagine my surprise when I show up, and it is called "Antica Locanda dei Mercanti." Not only that but there were no identifying markings or signs on the non-descript doorway. If I were you I would get email directions with the exact address. I believe it's "6 Via San Tamaso" or something like that (double check). It's one block from Via Dante in between the Duomo and the Sforza Castle. Ring the doorbell and they will let you in and show you where to go.

It turns out the Alle Meravigle is closed, and the owners are completely remodeling the Antica Locanda because they own the building, whereas the Alle Meravigle was a rented building and they were not allowed to renovate. The renovations are largely completed, with some minor touching up to do. It would have been nice if this situation was better communicated to start.

Also, the staff was pleasant, helpful, and spoke english well.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank handlbizha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milan hotels
Centro Storico
Palazzo Segreti
Palazzo Segreti
#131 of 430 in Milan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
Centro Storico
Camperio House Suites & Apartments
Centro Storico
UNA Maison Milano
UNA Maison Milano
#12 of 430 in Milan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,011 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Storico
Hotel Star
Hotel Star
#75 of 430 in Milan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
Brera
UNA Hotel Cusani
UNA Hotel Cusani
#37 of 430 in Milan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 735 reviews
Centro Storico
Santa Marta Suites
Santa Marta Suites
#5 of 430 in Milan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antica Locanda dei Mercanti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antica Locanda dei Mercanti

Property: Antica Locanda dei Mercanti
Address: Via San Tomaso 6, 20121 Milan, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Centro Storico
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#57 Family Hotel in Milan
#72 Luxury Hotel in Milan
#86 Business Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Antica Locanda dei Mercanti 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Locanda is an unexpected oasis of peace and quiet in Milan’s frenetic city centre. The elegant 18th century building is in a pedestrian area dedicated to shopping.Once you arrive you can forget your car – you’re in the very heart of Milan, close to La Scala opera house, the Duomo, the Stock Exchange, and the famous designer stores on via Monte Napoleone and via della Spiga.The décor is the creation of architect Vittorio Locatelli, who loves combining refined warm pastel hues with rough, natural materials, following his fancy wherever it takes him. His intention was to furnish the Locanda so that people would feel they were at home. He designed four suggestive rooms, each with a beautiful flower-filled terrace, a rare occurrence in a city like Milan.The atmosphere throughout is pleasant and relaxed, and prompt personalised service is guaranteed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Antica Locanda dei Mercanti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antica Locanda Dei Mercanti Hotel Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing