We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant and centrally located!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Antica Locanda dei Mercanti
Ranked #89 of 428 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Bellevue, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Elegant and centrally located!”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

My 3 friends and I stayed here for their first time visit to Milano. The staff welcomed us warmly, the room was lovely and we were able to walk to everything...il Duomo, La Scala, il Cenacolo, Brera, il Castello and many enjoyable restaurants and gelaterie. A block away was a lovely pedestrian walkway. Fresh flowers in the room were a lovely touch and the room was very quiet at night. Always helpful and attentive, the staff went out of their way to provide outstanding service. The 5 minute walk to il Duomo allowed us to make an early morning visit to see the piazza and galleria without hordes of tourists.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patricia98007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    233
    76
    27
    10
    5
See reviews for
51
204
17
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 19, 2013

This little hotel is a gem. It has everything needed for a great stay in Milan. The location is excellent, the rooms comfortable, quiet and far from bland. The staff are the best! When my husband became ill (quite frightening in a strange city when one doesn't speak Italian) the reaction of the staff was efficient, compassionate and reassuring. Our return was welcomed with genuine warmth, with little kindnesses from the staff. The Antica made every difference to our stay in Milan. It will lure me back.

Room Tip: The terrace garden to our room was a great place to sit. I have added a rating for a fitness centre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catriona702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
locanda01, Direttore generale at Antica Locanda dei Mercanti, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Dear Madam,
it was a great pleasure to meet you and your husband.
We hope to have you as our Guests soon in the future.
Thank you for the wonderful words about the staff.
Best wishes from all of us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

This small, but elegant hotel, in the very centre of Milan, has large, light-filled rooms and a friendly and professional staff.

Despite its central location, the hotel rooms are very quiet, thanks to excellent double windows.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviewed October 18, 2013

This was our second stay at Antica, and we enjoyed it as much as before. The location for exploring the Centro could not be better; we can walk everywhere--Duomo, La Scala, Castello, Galleria, San Bernardo, even the Last Supper-- and the neighborhood (locanda) is full of good restaurants, shops and salumerias. The staff is warm, welcoming, and quickly attends to all needs.

Room Tip: Go for a room with a terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Billshmaritza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013

We stayed here in July for a weekend visit to Milan. Everything was wonderful at this hotel, from the room upgrade we received to the nice in-room breakfast each morning.
This place excels in personal service: they even arranged tickets for us to go see The Last Supper mural, which was otherwise sold out for that particular weekend!
We will definitely return here!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TSED
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

This unusual and charming hotel was within easy reach of most sights, museums & restaurants. I think most rooms are really suites -- ours had a huge and very attractive living room, with a fridge. There was a walk in closet off the bedroom and reasonable size bathroom. The room was very quiet -- all the rooms in the suite had double windows, which very effectively excluded any street noise, though our bedroom looked out on a courtyard in any case.

The staff were very friendly and helpful, and the breakfast was excellent (particularly the fresh-baked rolls).

The hotel is not obviously visible from the street -- there's only a smallish brass plate with the hotel name next to the door -- but our taxi driver had no problems finding it.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the courtyard are quietestm, though the double windows keep out most street noise anywa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marge S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Centrally located, you are no more than a 60 second walk from the thick of it and the whole city is accessible from the hotel by foot. You know you've made a good choice of hotel when they are happy to show you the other rooms available and move your bags for you (our first room overlooked the courtyard and we just wanted a bit more light and view of the hustle and bustle of Milan). The room was enormous, very clean with select pieces of antique furniture, however the mattress was quite firm, especially if you like sinking into your bed like we did in Varenna, Verona, Cambridge and London on this trip.

The staff were very friendly welcoming us in with smiles upon our arrival and transported our luggage to our room, provided us a map with directions to nearby sites. All staff we encountered were pleasant and eager to help in any way.

Breakfast was good, but you do need to advise the staff the night before what you wish to have. No biggie, just don't forget!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PetesBodyParts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milan hotels
Centro Storico
Camperio House Suites & Apartments
Centro Storico
Palazzo Segreti
Palazzo Segreti
#135 of 428 in Milan
380 reviews
Centro Storico
Hotel Star
Hotel Star
#43 of 428 in Milan
529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Storico
Hotel Genius Downtown
Hotel Genius Downtown
#106 of 428 in Milan
698 reviews
Brera
UNA Hotel Cusani
UNA Hotel Cusani
#38 of 428 in Milan
780 reviews
Centro Storico
Santa Marta Suites
Santa Marta Suites
#16 of 428 in Milan
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antica Locanda dei Mercanti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antica Locanda dei Mercanti

Property: Antica Locanda dei Mercanti
Address: Via San Tomaso 6, 20121 Milan, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Centro Storico
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#57 Family Hotel in Milan
#72 Luxury Hotel in Milan
#86 Business Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Antica Locanda dei Mercanti 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Locanda is an unexpected oasis of peace and quiet in Milan’s frenetic city centre. The elegant 18th century building is in a pedestrian area dedicated to shopping.Once you arrive you can forget your car – you’re in the very heart of Milan, close to La Scala opera house, the Duomo, the Stock Exchange, and the famous designer stores on via Monte Napoleone and via della Spiga.The décor is the creation of architect Vittorio Locatelli, who loves combining refined warm pastel hues with rough, natural materials, following his fancy wherever it takes him. His intention was to furnish the Locanda so that people would feel they were at home. He designed four suggestive rooms, each with a beautiful flower-filled terrace, a rare occurrence in a city like Milan.The atmosphere throughout is pleasant and relaxed, and prompt personalised service is guaranteed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Antica Locanda dei Mercanti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antica Locanda Dei Mercanti Hotel Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing