We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little Gem”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Antica Locanda dei Mercanti
Ranked #88 of 427 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
wimbledon
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Little Gem”
Reviewed February 25, 2012

We stayed at this little gem of a hotel for three nights in February. We (2 adults and 2 children) stayed in a large loft style room that was clean and bright with a nice bathroom with shower (no bath). The hotel is in an excellent location just off Via Dante and a short walk from the Douomo and the Castle. It can be a little tricky to find as it is actually the bottom couple of floors of a plush apartment block. Just ring the buzzer and the excellent and welcoming staff will come and get you and your bags. We had a nice continental breakfast served in our room each morning included in the room price. There are, however, numerous nice cafes nearby if you would prefer that. All in all a great expierience.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank womble5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    76
    27
    10
    5
See reviews for
52
204
17
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2012

Stayed here for a long weekend. Friendly, helpful reception. Very good location, walking distance to everything. I booked a suite so not sure what the other rooms are like, but the suite was of course very spacious. I had heard complaints about the beds being stiff and they are correct. The bed was much too stiff and was two matresses pushed together so was dealing with a trench in the middle. The room could vastly be improved with a new mattress.

The hotel is a bit difficult to find as the signage is minimal and it is up a flight of stairs to the lobby. There is no real lobby so to speak. Breakfast is normally served to your room or to a room behind the checkin desk. The breakfast included was simply a few croisants, oj, and tea or coffee. Eggs or anything else is chargeable. Given the rate I thought that charging 2.50 for an egg seemed a bit trivial.

For parking, you need to use fairly expensive public garages that are 10 minutes walking distance. Note that as of Jan 1 there is a city congestion charge of 5 euro per day. The easiest thing to do if you are going out of the city is to park at a metro outside the city as the parking is cheaper and you avoid the congestion charge and traffic and metro to the hotel. The metro stop is a two minute walk.

Also note that if you want to see Leonardo Da Vinci's Last Supper you can only reserve on the internet and you must book several weeks in advance, otherwise you will have no chance of seeing it, especially during the high tourist periods.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JTFBrussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 3, 2012

I stayed with my girlfriend in this hotel for 4 days. It is wonderful hotel in the very center of Milano. The suite was incredible....very comfortable, spacious, clean.
The staff were always very welcoming, always smiling and ready to help in everything we needed. They made sure our stay in Milano was something special.
You have to pay separately for breakfast but it is really worth it.
If I decide to visit Milano again I will surely stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2011

Our experience with the Antica Locanda began by entering what appeared to be a clubhouse door, just large enough for children or perhaps Romans from the days of the Decemviirs to pass through without striking their heads. On the other side of the door is a large, stark lobby, with a small door to a private gym and a stairway leading to a very small lift. I later learned that the reception office is another floor up.

The staff kindly helped with our luggage, but the lift was so small, it took two trips to bring up our bags. We chose to walk up the stairs to our 3rd floor room. Before entering the hallway to our room, however, there was a heavy metal door to open with one of the four different keys you are issued, causing my wife to ask the gentleman showing us to our room if the building was once a bank and were we entering a vault?

The room: Yes, there was a wonderful terrace outside our "Bamboo Room". And the bathroom was spacious though glassed in like an aquarium giving the user little privacy without shutting a drape. And fortunately, we brought our own soap. We had been traveling Italy for nearly 3 weeks and brough a bit of clothing, perhaps a bit too much clothing, but nevertheless, the closet space was hardly enough for a few dresses and pants, shirts, and a sports jacket, and there was no drawer space, and the room so small, there was hardly a place to put our 4 pieces of luggage. However, housekeeping managed to stuff our bags under the bed while we were out...which wouldn't have been a bad thing had we an adequate drawer or closet to put the clothing still in the bags. Oh, and we discovered why they insisted on leaving the door to the terrace open while we were out. With it closed, there was a distinct odor coming from the bathroom, perhaps a sewer issue.

The first night we were there, at 11PM the street sweeper passed by under our window. And passed by again....and again. Then, young men from somewhere began talking loudly and playing with remote control cars in the street. This chattering and laughter kept up until we were so sleepy we finally fell asleep. The next evening we discovered that there is a restaurant and bar just below our terrace that apparently is open into the wee hours of night.

Also, a warning: if the staff recommends a restaurant nearby called the Nabucco, don't go!! I suspect there is a connection because otherwise, in my opinion, no one would suggest this place!! Speaking of food, the continental breakfast is included. However, they will offer eggs, ham and cheese as well but these are additional charges.

We felt that this room, carved out of an old industrial building and straddled up to rented flats I imagine are managed by the hotel as well, was trying to be too hip, too stylish while sacrificing nearly all comfort. It did offer WiFi, though the signal was a bit weak and the location within the center of town was terrific. Otherwise, for over 300Euro a night it was entirely too much faux style and too little substance.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank MicklLaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, New Hampshire
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2011

While a little difficult to find, this hotel couldn't be in a more perfect location. BUT, once you’ve figured out where it is, you have to figure out how to get there. The actual hotel appears to be a portion of a larger building and the reception area is located on a level above the entry floor. First you must go up about 4 steps to even get to the elevator which, or course, is quite small. If you and your luggage can’t fit into the elevator, it’s another flight of stone steps up to the reception area. While the staff is very friendly, there is only occasionally someone available to assist you with your luggage. On the weekends, since the building was locked, you had to use a special key to gain access through a small door.
We were not fortunate enough to have a room with a terrace though the room was spacious and comfortable (but the bed was quite hard). We had breakfast in a room off the reception area, but had to tell the staff the night before if we wanted it. It was served by the staff and while it was adequate, there were no menu choices, and it was quite expensive for what was included (not free as is implied in other reviews).
My husband likes to follow world news when we travel. We had free internet access but were surprised to find there were no English-speaking TV channels available.
You can’t beat the location – just off Via Dante and a short distance to the castello and the Duomo, BUT you might be able to find a property which is a little more user-friendly.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TNSunshine79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2011

Upon arrival there is no desk, indication, or even clues there is a hotel in this building. As soon as you find reception on the first floor and get to know your room, coming in and out of this place is just like coming in and out of home. The staff is kind, the breakfest was served in our private terraces and was amazing, the rooms were clear, clean and cozy. The location is also priviledged- right on the heart of Milan's city center. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: The terraced rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rrrrraquel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2011

Wow, what a find.... Though hard(ish) to find, and not a grand entrance, this place is a real gem. The location is incredible, right in the heart of the main attractions. Clean, crisp bed linen, very comfortable bed. Ask for garden terrace, and have breakfast on the terrace. Staff so friendly and helpful, you'll be glad you searched for the place!

Room Tip: Ask for garden terrace!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pinkfairy74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milan hotels
Centro Storico
Palazzo Segreti
Palazzo Segreti
#123 of 427 in Milan
384 reviews
Centro Storico
Camperio House Suites & Apartments
Centro Storico
Hotel Star
Hotel Star
#41 of 427 in Milan
533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Storico
Hotel Genius Downtown
Hotel Genius Downtown
#107 of 427 in Milan
698 reviews
Brera
UNA Hotel Cusani
UNA Hotel Cusani
#39 of 427 in Milan
787 reviews
Centro Storico
Santa Marta Suites
Santa Marta Suites
#17 of 427 in Milan
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antica Locanda dei Mercanti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antica Locanda dei Mercanti

Property: Antica Locanda dei Mercanti
Address: Via San Tomaso 6, 20121 Milan, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Centro Storico
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#57 Family Hotel in Milan
#71 Luxury Hotel in Milan
#86 Business Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Antica Locanda dei Mercanti 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Locanda is an unexpected oasis of peace and quiet in Milan’s frenetic city centre. The elegant 18th century building is in a pedestrian area dedicated to shopping.Once you arrive you can forget your car – you’re in the very heart of Milan, close to La Scala opera house, the Duomo, the Stock Exchange, and the famous designer stores on via Monte Napoleone and via della Spiga.The décor is the creation of architect Vittorio Locatelli, who loves combining refined warm pastel hues with rough, natural materials, following his fancy wherever it takes him. His intention was to furnish the Locanda so that people would feel they were at home. He designed four suggestive rooms, each with a beautiful flower-filled terrace, a rare occurrence in a city like Milan.The atmosphere throughout is pleasant and relaxed, and prompt personalised service is guaranteed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Antica Locanda dei Mercanti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antica Locanda Dei Mercanti Hotel Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing