We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant Location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Art Hotel Navigli

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Art Hotel Navigli
Ranked #70 of 430 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
BOREHAMWOOD
Level Contributor
162 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Brilliant Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

Terrific hotel with friendly and helpful staff. Beautifully decorated with a welcoming feel the minute you walk through the door.
Breakfast so substantial that we had no need for lunches and saved our appetites for dinner at one of the many incredible restaurants in the Navigli area.
Bedroom warm and inviting with tea/coffee facilities/mini bar and a gorgeous bathroom with complimentary slippers and toiletries.
Perfectly situated close to a metro station and very quiet at night so the hotel's soundproofing is most effective.

Room Tip: All floors seem to be quiet and with no problems of noise. The breakfast room is on the 4th floor wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MADABOUTANIMALS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

864 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    242
    451
    115
    33
    23
See reviews for
174
254
38
221
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

Not an interesting area. Very cheesy, crowded near stations...if that matters. Far from the center. Rooms ok, small, clean. Internet access is lousy .they ask you to sign on every hour with a new password. A big pain. They do offer drinks in the lobby with lots of snacks before dinner...you could make the snacks your dinner if you didn't want to go out.
I can say, the hotel is ok.nothing special
Oh no business center, just one working PC and printer. Not for the professional traveling business person.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

The hotel itself may be adequate, but the staff and professionalism of the business leave a lot to be desired. There were MAJOR issues with accepting international credit cards, answering phone calls, speaking English, answering emails, etc.

I received a confirmation email of my booking a month in advance of my visit, then they emailed to say I needed to use another card. I tried to call, but no one understood why I was ringing, what reference I was using and then said I couldn't book over the phone. I then used their website to give my card details,AGAIN I received an email of confirmation of my details and booking.

Then, they emailed to say I wasn't booked, then that I had booked but it wasn't confirmed, then actually that it was confirmed but not guaranteed?

In they end, they cancelled my booking just TWO days before I was due to stay, and incidentally ONE HOUR before I left my home to catch a flight to Italy! They informed me of this via a rude and impolite email.

NOT staying in this hotel, rather than staying, cost me a fortune in phone-calls to both the hotel and my credit card company. In the end, I booked an entirely different hotel, which took seconds and the staff were so polite and nice over the phone, even though it was a last minute booking.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel?
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank C W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maxxia, General Manager at Art Hotel Navigli, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear Madam, I cannot listen to all my staff conversations, but I can assure you that my effort is constant to teach good manners to all our personnel. Luckily, it normally seems that my efforts are working, but clearly not in your case. After examining the e-mail intercourse, I have not found anything rough. Please accept my apologies for any mistreat you might have suffered on the phone. Having said this, please let me underline that problems with credit cards arise only when these do not function. In your case, on March 6 we tested your card with a € 1,00 debit, but the operation was denied by the circuit. The confirmation you received is automatically generated by the booking engine, nevertheless it clearly states that the Hotel reserves itself the right to test credit cards before confirming any reserved room. This is what we do with all our clients. On March 7 you sent us another room request (copy of the prior’s day reservation) but the credit card number did not change, and the card was useless. We checked your card over and over, unsuccessfully. We never received any other valid card reference. This simple fact would have avoided all the rest. On the morning of March 27 your card did not yet accept any debit. Only after your involvement, on the afternoon of March 27 your card finally accepted, for the first time, the transaction that we passed. In the meantime the Hotel had filled up, so a triple room was no longer available. As a foreigner, you surely know that the greatest majority of Hotels will not accept a phone reservation. Most hotels in Milan for Easter are quite empty, but we will be fully booked. Hence our need to be sure that the clients who make a reservation will ultimately arrive. Probably the other Hotel you reserved had many available rooms and for this reason accepted your last minute reservation on the phone.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romania
Level Contributor
330 reviews
166 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

This hotel is located close to a small canal, about 500 meters from the subway station. The staff was polite and professional, the rooms just OK and the overall impression was decent. Breakfast was above the average in Italy. The wi fi connection was provided for free, as advertised, but is quite a long story to make it work and keep it working.
Parking is quite expensive, but you might find free places on the street. The neighbourhood is not very nice but has lots of pubs and restaurants.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the back yard are quieter. Breakfast is served on the fourth floor so there is a lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ggabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

Stayed one night at the Art Hotel Navigli. I found the room to be spacious and comfortable for the night. Breakfast was regular, and there is free wi-fi. Location is good and easily accessible by metro, tram and bus.

Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank expatMEL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

We were here for 3 days in February and enjoyed the stay. The staff in all departments are very helpful and very polite. The receptionist even remembered me from a previous stay - I'm ashamed to say that this was not reciprocal. Nervous smiles on check in!

The room (123) was a good size with decent closet space and a small safe (not large enough for a laptop, an iPad barely fits in). There are regular two prong European plugs in the bathroom and under the desk, as opposed to the three pronged Italian ones. There are tea and coffee making facilities in the room as well as a mini bar, neither of which we used.

Breakfast is a big affair with a lot of choice including scrambled or boiled eggs on the buffet stand. Breakfast is crewed by a very keen and fast moving team!

Though not a big deal, free wifi internet is by way of one hour coupon codes available on the reception desk, just grab a few as and when you need them. Alternatively, on the last day I discovered them also being left on the computer desks in the bar area.

The neighbourhood is the best thing about this hotel. There is such a variety of eateries and bars. During our stay the canal was empty of water but I think this is a regular thing for winter. Getting to grips with the Metro system was easy. This hotel is served by PT.A Genova FS station on the green line and getting to the Duomo and the center is just one quick change onto the red line.

We found this hotel a comfortable way to see Milan with ease of access to the Metro system and the abundant supply of restaurants of all kinds in the area.

Room Tip: Room 123 is directly in front of a service room - either housekeeping or maintenance - and can be no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mohikaner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

The hotel itself is really nice with spacious, modern, clean and comfortable bedrooms.
Food wise - OMG. I'm sure this applies to the entire country as it's part of the culture but I was still amazed by the aperitivo served every evening in the lobby/living area downstairs... It's a buffet style thing with a selection of cheeses, crackers, bruschetta breads, nuts and a complimentary drink from the bar. Really nice. Great breakfast too.

(There is a really nice bar across the road too with amazing cocktails - try their famous ginger cocktail)

Be aware though that NOTHING happens in the area during the day - it's seriously dead. If you want to be close to the Duomo, shops, museums or other attractions you're better off staying in the centre of the city. Or you can just get a bus or the train, which is very easily accessible too.

The area is great for an evening out... it 'wakes up' at around 6 and goes on until late - Infinite bar and restaurant options with great photo opportunities along the canal.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissDri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milan hotels
Navigli
Hotel Milano Navigli
Hotel Milano Navigli
#40 of 430 in Milan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
Navigli
Hotel Maison Borella
Hotel Maison Borella
#88 of 430 in Milan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
Navigli
Magna Pars Suites
Magna Pars Suites
#57 of 430 in Milan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navigli
Mercure Milano Solari
Mercure Milano Solari
#112 of 430 in Milan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 830 reviews
Navigli
Residence & Hotel Aramis Milan Downtown
nhow Milano
#32 of 430 in Milan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Art Hotel Navigli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Hotel Navigli

Property: Art Hotel Navigli
Address: Via Carlo Angelo Fumagalli 4 | Porta Ticinese, 20143 Milan, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Navigli , Porta Ticinese
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Spa Hotel in Milan
#57 Luxury Hotel in Milan
#65 Family Hotel in Milan
#66 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#89 Business Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Art Hotel Navigli 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 star hotel in the Navigli area with free wi-fi, private garage, Gym, wellness center, roof garden, naturally lit meeting rooms, 200 mt from metro subway station, 2 km from the Milano Duomo and Leonardo's last supper and only 5 minutes from highway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Nozio Netplan srl, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Art Hotel Navigli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Hotel Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing