We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not glorious but does the job”
Review of Hotel Lugano

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Lugano
Ranked #380 of 426 Hotels in Milan
Reviewed May 26, 2014

Clean but old and outdated. Super small shower. If you just need a place to crash on a budget this is ok. AC didn't work. Very old. There's a radio in the headboard from like 1965. Hotel staff was polite. Everything was presentable.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Alex K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (136)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Lugano
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 136 reviews

Reviewed November 7, 2013

So you're looking for a cheap hotel in Milan, this one is good value for money.

I had a single room (105) which was fine for my needs, somewhere to get my head down for three nights. Granted, it was small but it was comfortable enough with an en-suite toilet/shower & flat screen TV & free wi-fi.

The room was cleaned every day, the bed linen was always clean and fresh towels were also supplied every day. The room was cosy (although no obvious way to control the heat from the radiator other than open the window) and not too noisy during my stay although you could hear everyone getting out the lift on my floor and going to their rooms.

Breakfast was continental style and ok although a better selection was available from local cafes.

All in, this was a great choice and "bang for buck" you'll be hard pushed to find a better deal.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EdinburghBiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

I was staying here for over a week, and i can't have complaints at all. The hotel has a great communication, u're 10 minutes with the green line to the center, the bus stop 81 to ther center is also 10m. The rooms were clean, every day new towels, soaps and shampoos, we were staying in a room for 3,even though we were 2. so there was enough space. The view I didn't like at all, but who cares u have other stuff to do anyway. From the staff the lady at the reception who works during the day is the nicest of all, unlike the other older female worker who worked at night. The lady who served and made the breakfast was always so kind asking if we need coffee or so, and the kitchen was average, maybe even small, but the whole hotel is small again. The food was delicious though, the croissants and the creams with coffee or tea are totally okay if you're staying for a couple of days. My only complaint is that the internet connection was not so good from my room, but downstairs in the loby was fine. I was suprised only about the city taxes not so big (2euro a day) but for a week for a family not so cheap again, but oh well, u have to be prepared for anything.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 544Alexandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Bathroom is very small, but useable. Furniture is old but doesn't smell as such. TV was a LCD 22". It was close to the subway station, so from there to downtown was easy and fast. The region is not very central, but walking a little you can find a nice café and some supermarkets and close to the Pizzeria Trattoria Anthony, which was a great experience. We had to walk a little while to find ATMs. Breakfast is too simple, we preferred to take it in a café in the region.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Torres_Bernardo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Reached and had a nice welcome, I must say, but that lady (was not to be seen the next couple days. She was the only one speaking good English as well. Others were not very helpful and disturbingly rude when I asked to find a solution, since my room was freezing cold, so cold that I even slept in clothes with extra blanket and still could not sleep. Anyway to make it short, it was not fixed, I had to take a smaller room, no help for moving and no discount, instead I was told, I wanted another room. It turned out, that it was the room's problem, but not only, as the heater was just turned on limited time each day, disregarding if guests were there or not, and disregarding the winter temperatures. Be aware that you enter the hotel and need to make it to the basement to the reception and only then there is an elevator. Don't expect help, so best travel light. Only good part about the place is, that even though it is old and run down, it is clean. But best bring ear plugs, as it is super noisy and you hear everything your neighbor does. The location is not bad, as Metro is just around the corner, restaurants, shops, and university and bars are not far and in walking distance or one stop by Metro. Considering that Milano has a good Metro system, not crowded, you best stay anywhere with close access to the Metro.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveleatsee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2011

My colleague booked this for me because there were good entries on this website. Unfortunately it was one of the worst experiences in my life. The only good thing was George at the front desk, he was nice, but the room was dirty, loud and I got bed bugs and mosquito bites all night long. the WC ran every 20 minutes so it sounded as if my bathroom was going to flood. The shower was only hot water, no cold, and the sheets had hair on them. Overall a very very bad experience and very expensive!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BizziTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2009

I was in here one night and did not need more to know that the hotel is awful, the hotel staff (the receptionist who served between 7am and 3pm) is abusive to women!! dont staying there!!!!! you can have a terrible experience. Additionally, they charge you more than it says on the website.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TouristNancy2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milan hotels
Hotel Vienna
#255 of 426 in Milan
210 reviews
Citta Studi
Hotel Gamma
Hotel Gamma
#230 of 426 in Milan
232 reviews
Aspromonte Hotel
#162 of 426 in Milan
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Corallo
#362 of 426 in Milan
240 reviews
Citta Studi
Ambrosiana
Ambrosiana
#303 of 426 in Milan
177 reviews
Bicocca
Ibis Milano Ca Granda
Ibis Milano Ca Granda
#184 of 426 in Milan
1,211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lugano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lugano

Address: Via Astolfo 6, 20131 Milan, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #380 of 426 Hotels in Milan
Price Range: $63 - $221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Lugano 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Lugano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lugano Hotel Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing