We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel”
Review of Lancaster Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Lancaster Hotel
Ranked #21 of 426 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 14, 2009

When we booked the room almost a year before our stay, we inquired about tickets to "The Last Supper." We were told the hotel could would try to get them for us, but we'd have to wait until closer to our time of arrival. When the tickets became available online, we purchased them ourselves, and a day or so later, before we had the chance to notify the hotel that we had tickets, the hotel wrote us to ask if we needed them to get the tickets. WHAT SERVICE!!!! We were so delighted, and thanked them for their excellent service.

This began what was a wonderful stay--the breakfast was excellent (many selections and yummy coffee), the room comfortable, though the bed was too hard for my Mom and Dad, and the pillows were a bit flat, so if you are a person who needs a fluffy pillow, be sure to bring your own. The room was very well appointed, the bathroom excellent and everything was clean. Adjusting the temperature was easy and the system worked well.

The location is marvelous. Minutes from the train station, everything else within easy walking distance.

The best part of the stay was the male day manager at the desk (I do not have his name, but he has been there for 30 years). He gave excellent advice for what we should see and do, and even gave an excellent recommendation for something we should see in Lake Como (which we did, and it was as excellent as he said). We cannot praise enough how nice he was at check in and checkout and that his advice was perfect for what we should do. Mom, my husband and I love to tour houses, and he recommended a museum house tour we never would have found on our own. So, thank you to the day manager for the recommendations, and Villa del Balbianello in Como was a great recommendation.

All in all, great staff, great location, good value for the room rate.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tolistravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (826)
There are newer reviews for Lancaster Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

450 - 456 of 826 reviews

Reviewed October 12, 2009

Driving into Milan can be a little daunting, so we decided to stay at this hotel as it looked relatively easy to drive to, yet not too far out of the centre. It turned out to be a good decision, as we (luckily) found a parking spot on the street out the front of the hotel (the hotel sold us the parking tickets we required, which was cheaper than a commercial car park). An easy tram or bus ride into the centre (hotel sells the tickets for these too) meant that we could spend the whole day sightseeing and come back to the relative peace and quiet of this residential area.

Rooms are reasonably spacious with good bathrooms, air-con and a safe. Our room had a small balcony facing onto an internal ‘courtyard’ together with a number of apartment buildings and was very quiet. Staff were extremely helpful and recommended two great local restaurants - Arco Sempione, good food and very cheap for Milan and Il Cortese, more expensive, but extremely high quality and very generous serves.

All in all, a great place to stay for either leisure or business travellers in Milan.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aussiekpn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2009

superb service, very clean, also hotel mafe excellent restaurant recommendations. I would definately stay here again, for the price its amazing. very large bed, nice bthroom, lovely breakfast. recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tescoqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2009

Good things like the Lancaster Hotel exist. This affordable hotel in a residential neighborhood (two blocks from a busy nightlife street for those looking for cafe's and bars in walking distance) was a perfect way to end my two week trip to Italy.

Plush little single accommodation room, with a huge luxurious bathroom was just perfect for getting myself organized for the trip back to the US.

The front desk staff were wonderfully helpful, and Maurizio took the time to create an afternoon walking tour on a map he supplied so that I could get the most out of my day. I walked through the Sempione, through the Castle, down to the Duomo, saw the Vittoria Emanuell shopping arcade, went to the St. Maurizio church and ended up at Maria Del A Grazie.

This turned out fantastic as my only plans were to see "The Last Supper." NOTE: I had per-booked The Last Supper 6 months ago and received a reservation one month before my trip. When I arrived to pick up my ticket on 9/22 a sign on the door said "Reservations Only - Sold out until November."

Net: For the price this hotel was much, much better than expected and I'd go back in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SoloTx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2009

I had a wonderful stay at this hotel. It's cordial and helpful staff - front desk, dining room and housekeeping. - deserve a round of applause. I had a comfortable and spacious room, and enjoyed the sizable breakfast buffet. Staying here really enhanced my Milan experience.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jcLavs2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2009

My wife and I stayed for 4 nights at this delightful small hotel, and can thoroughly recommend it for its friendly staff, clean and commodious rooms, excellent bathrooms, air-con, good breakfasts and comfortable beds. It is also very reasonably priced. Other reviewers have commented that it is a little too far from the city centre, and this is a fair statement, but the upside is that it is in a quiet residential area (but close to many good bars and restaurants), and still within walking distance of the Castello and the Duomo. The walk through the Parco Sempione takes about 25 minutes, and during the day it is a very pleasant walk (at night I wouldn't recommend it). One can also walk, day or night, along well-lit streets. We would really recommend the trams, which go by the hotel (about 200 metres away) and run right to the Piazza di Duomo. Two different lines serve the area, one of which runs the old wooden heritage-style cars. You can buy tickets from the concierge/receptionist, either for single journeys or for a few days, and they are very cheap. Trams come along every few minutes.
Apart from the sights mentioned by others (Il Cenacolo, Duomo, Brera Museum, Quadrilateral (fashion area), La Scala, Castello Sforza, etc) there are street markets, "eat streets" (eg the Ticino) and a very interesting museum of modern design (in the Parco Sempione) - plenty to do and see, and all easily accessible from the Lancaster, especially if you use the trams, Metro, and your feet..

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ayling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2009

Pros: Extremely accommodating service, nice staff, very close to a street with lively night life
Cons: The hotel is at least a mile from the center of town.
Air conditioning rating (1 = poor 10 = good) = 3
We arrived at 7:30 am after 13 hours of flying. We knew that an early check in at this hour was almost impossible. Hotel Lancaster gladly did it for us. We were so pleased. The manager also helped us secure reservations for The Last Supper after our attempts had failed. The room was clean and it had the basic amenities. The breakfast was delightful. The service was excellent and we enjoyed out stay.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lovethefoodbiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milan hotels
Stazione Centrale
Hotel Berna
Hotel Berna
#12 of 426 in Milan
6,613 reviews
Milan Suite Hotel
#26 of 426 in Milan
657 reviews
Citta Studi
Hotel Teco
Hotel Teco
#23 of 426 in Milan
480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stazione Centrale
Biocity Hotel
Biocity Hotel
#25 of 426 in Milan
712 reviews
Grand Visconti Palace
#36 of 426 in Milan
1,846 reviews
Navigli
Residence & Hotel HOUSE Aramis Milan Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lancaster Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lancaster Hotel

Address: Via Abbondio Sangiorgio 16, 20145 Milan, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in Milan
#31 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#47 Business Hotel in Milan
Price Range: $99 - $387 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lancaster Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lancaster Hotel offers 30 quiet rooms, decorated in a classic-contemporary style and equipped with all amenities and services: fast and free Wi-Fi, air conditioning with temperature control, LCD TV with a wide selection of domestic and foreign channels, mini bar and safe. In the common areas, guests have a reception and lounge bar (open 24/7), lobby and breakfast room. Near the hotel there are affiliated guarded parking and a large choice of clubs, bars and restaurants. The strategic location, the family atmosphere, environments with attention to details and a professional and courteous staff make it one of the best 3-star hotels in downtown Milan. The Lancaster Hotel is located between the convention center MiCo, the exhibition center Fieramilanocity and the residential area of Sempione Park, just a few steps from the Arch of Peace, in a central location but at the same time very quiet, from where you can easily reach the main attractions of Milan. The Triennale, the Sforza Castle, the Duomo, Piazza della Scala, Brera and other points of interest can be reached on foot in a few minutes, by a pleasant walk through the park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lancaster Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lancaster Hotel Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing