We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't mind a 15 min walk to the centre? Want a clean room? Nice service? Stay here!”
Review of Lancaster Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Lancaster Hotel
Ranked #21 of 426 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 13, 2009

For a reasonably priced hotel, Lancaster provides good service and a clean room with a nice bath room. On our arrival the hotel room was air conditioned, which was quite nice with 35°C outside. The hotel is situated in a quiet, residential neighborhood. We had a room on the road side, which was not at all bothering because of the double glazing and blinds and little traffic in the street. Italian hotels are not particularly known for their breakfast, but the breakfast buffet at Lancaster was quite good. The staff is friendly and helpfull and when your Italian stops making sense, they will help you out in English...with an Italian accent ;-) So if you look for a quiet hotel and you don't mind a 15 minute walk to the centre of Milan (through the Parco Sempione) then definitely stay here!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bmolle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (826)
There are newer reviews for Lancaster Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

458 - 464 of 826 reviews

Reviewed July 30, 2009

Milan was a l night stopover on the way to Venice on a 2 week Italy trip my friend and I planned ourselves. Seeing The Last Supper was our main focus in Milan, but staying at the Lancaster Hotel was an added bonus! The staff were very professional and helpful with directions and the hotel was just a short distance from the trolly and tram stop into the city. ...and a short(but very fast) taxi ride from the train station. That was our first experience with Italian taxi drivers....memorable, to say the least! It was also a nice walk through the park to the town...about 35 minutes. Our room was spacious, clean and lovely with a modern bathroom and he tuxedoed gentleman taking care of our delicious breakfast was absolutely charming! If you have time, it's worth taking time to visit the Duomo, the Abrerra Museum and walking around central Milan. Great hotel!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SummerTraveller09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2009

The positives - very efficient, friendly, helpful staff; a high standard of accomodation- the bedroom and en suite were immaculate; located in a quiet part of town - ulike many city hotels outside noise was not a problem when trying to get to sleep; onlyabout twenty minutes walk to Via Dante , about thirty to the Duomo - but transport within the city not a problem as there is a very frequent and reliable bus and tram service; super breakfast and excellent value for money.
the negative - none

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maisie71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2009

This hotel was very good indeed and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to anyone as a base for seeing Milan. It is situated on a quiet-ish street which is about 15 minutes walk from the railway station where the Malpensa Express arrives. However, the trams and subway are the way to travel in Milan and are really easy to use when you suss them out.

The hotel is clean and well decorated. The rooms are fairly small but decently equipped and clean, and have decent air conditioning. They have high speed internet in the rooms, but via a network cable. The staff all spoke excellent English and were all most helpful indeed, not only with hotel matters, but also with advising how to get to places. They sell travel tickets which cost €3 per 24 hours - you swipe in and out of every tram that you get on.

The breakfast was a buffet style continental breakfast but is included in the room rate and is a fairly decent affair with plenty of choices on offer. There is a bar in the hotel, but that isn't really the point of Milan, especially when the hotel is only 5 minutes walk from the top of the Parco Sempione. In this area there are a large number of bars which all have outside seating and there are loads of people about every night. Great area to spend an evening over a couple of cocktails watching the world go by.

I doubt we will be back in Milan for a while, but if we were then I'd happily stay at Lancaster Hotel again.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andylovescatrina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2009

- Location: 2 1/2 block walk to Park Sempione, a 600+acre of trails, lake, bar, refreshment stands. Directily south (and connected to the park) is the Sforza Castello. Further south, a 10-minute walk on Via Dante is Milan Centro.
- Day Trips - Cardona Station, the Metro and trams are all within walking distance. Take the train to Lake Como, Bergamo, etc. (check the map) and it's very reasonable. DON'T FORGET TO VALIDATE YOUR TICKET! There is a 50euro fine if you get caught.
- Accommodations: the room was spotless, albeit small. If you get a single/double bed, make sure you bring a toiletry kit that hangs and clothes that stay folded in your luggage. There are hangers enough to accommodate at least 12 things, but no dresser drawers.
- Staff - staff is super friendly. They will give you advice on how to get around, and have tickets for the Metro at the front desk.
- Ammenities: breakfast is great: hard-boiled eggs, yogurt, 3 types of cereal, cheeses and meats, croissants and rolls, juices and coffee. There is a hair dryer in the bathroom, TV, and a mini-fridge which only holds things that they are selling; however, we moved things around to place a few bottles of juice as the mini-bar is pricey. We bought dinner there one night (they get take away) that was quite good. So if you are ever in a fix where you are too tired to eat out, consider this option. The beds are super comfy.
TIPS: If you are going to Milan, it is very expensive. An iced tea or coke is 6 euros. We ate the hearty breakfast at the hotel and a huge, late lunch.
- Exercise: if you enjoy exercising, the hotel does not have a fitness room. However, the park is only a short 2 1/2 blocks away where you can use a bike for free, walk, or run! So bring your exercise clothing!

  • Stayed: July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tag2some
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2009

We stayed at the Lancaster with our 10 and 7 y.o. children. Staff was very nice, having accommodated the four of us in one room, an unusual thing in Europe. Moreover, the rate of 135 Euros per night was an exceptional value, and it included a fine breakfast. If you like to be right near the duomo, you'll want something else. But this is very close to the Parc Sempione, a must for runners like us, and you can get to the center by tram - just a couple blocks away -- in ten minutes or so. All in all, a really fine stay.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dkisaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2009

My husband and I chose this hotel based on it’s many wonderful Trip Advisor reviews. Our trip to Italy was in May 2009 and our hotel in Milano was to be our first hotel in Italy. We chose the Lancaster Hotel because we wanted a clean, friendly, English speaking hotel to start our trip off comfortably.

We arrived at the Malpensa Airport at 8:30 in the morning; we took the Malpensa Express to the Cadorna station. From there we walked to the hotel (using the directions from The Lancaster Hotel website). Our route took us into and then along the outskirts of Parco Sempione, going basically in a northwest direction. Everything went off without a hitch… except our walk to the hotel took only 15 minutes and we arrived WAY before the check-in time! This was not a problem for the staff, who welcomed us warmly and soon had us into our room.

We found our room clean and comfortable. Our room was of a good size, the marble bathroom as well. The room came supplied with some toiletries, nice towels and a stocked mini-bar-fridge. The room was also furnished with a safe (for your valuables), a wardrobe and security shutters. Our bed was comfortable and had good linens and plenty of pillows. We used the Internet terminal downstairs, but WiFi is also available.

Our room was located to the back of the hotel and we had a narrow balcony that overlooked a courtyard which is shared with the neighborhood. We spent some enjoyable time just watching normal Italian family life quietly happen in that courtyard. We experienced no problems with neither internal nor external noises.

A continental style breakfast is included in the price of the room. We liked their selections of meats, cheeses, rolls, cereals, fruits, pastries and juices. The men who staffed the breakfast room were attentive and very pleasant. The food was very good, more than enough to start your day and satisfy you until late afternoon.

I would really like to compliment the Lancaster Hotel’s staff! Before sending us out into the streets of Milano for the first time, Tiziana (who speaks excellent English) provided us with a city map and then actually took the time to orient us. She told us where to buy our transportation passes and then told us how to get to the different sites of Milano. We had no problems using her directions. Other staff members also gave us good advice for restaurants and the locations of the nearest grocery store and Bancomat (this is where I learned how to use the term Bancomat… as ATM is the name of Milano’s mass transit system!).

As far as the location of the Lancaster Hotel, you will either like it or not like it. The hotel is located in a quiet, non-touristy neighborhood close to the top of Parco Sempione, by the arch (except you can’t tell it is the arch with all of the scaffolding around it). It is a good 30-minute casual stroll from the hotel to the Duomo. My husband and I liked the location… walking or riding the public transportation let us get a feel for the city and the people who live there. We enjoyed our walks, none of which were too strenuous or too far.

For those who are looking for suggestions, below, (in no particular order) were some places we really enjoyed in Milano:
* The roof of the Duomo; you can climb the stairs to the roof or pay 8 euro for the elevator. Either way, just do it. The roof is magnificent! We spent an easy two hours walking amongst this forest of statuary. The stone cutting is incredible! From the main roof you can even see the Alps!
* The interior of the Duomo was beautiful! It was our first Italian cathedral and we loved it. The stain glass windows and marble floors were beautiful. The marble columns were the size of trees!
* La Rinascente is a department store along the back end of the Duomo in Milano Piazza Duomo. Go up the escalators to the 7th floor and ask to be seated at one of their outside restaurants. If it is lunchtime, ask for an umbrella. From this balcony you will have incredible views of the Duomo (you can even see the people walking around the roof). Yes, you will pay 8 euro for a very small Coke… wine drinkers rejoice as we found out it is much cheaper to order wine. The meal was good and not too expensive… do it!
* Taking a walk through Parco Sempione and then through Castello Sforzesco. If you have time visit the museums, they are very interesting.
* Cimitero Monumentale is a HUGE monumental cemetery north east of the Duomo. We got lost in it. The tombstones and monuments were so high and it was getting dark. We finally followed someone without flowers hoping they were leaving. It was a beautiful place!
* The Church of Santa Maria delle Grazie houses The Last Supper. Start calling three months in advance for your tickets… no kidding! Worth all the time and effort to see it!

In conclusion, we were doing our three weeks in Italy on a bit of a budget and The Lancaster Hotel was a wee bit pricier than what we wanted to spend, but I am very pleased at our choice. We will definitely stay at The Lancaster Hotel again when we return to Milano!

Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
4  Thank NJoisygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milan hotels
Stazione Centrale
Hotel Berna
Hotel Berna
#12 of 426 in Milan
6,613 reviews
Milan Suite Hotel
#26 of 426 in Milan
657 reviews
Citta Studi
Hotel Teco
Hotel Teco
#23 of 426 in Milan
480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stazione Centrale
Biocity Hotel
Biocity Hotel
#25 of 426 in Milan
713 reviews
Grand Visconti Palace
#36 of 426 in Milan
1,846 reviews
Navigli
Residence & Hotel HOUSE Aramis Milan Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lancaster Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lancaster Hotel

Address: Via Abbondio Sangiorgio 16, 20145 Milan, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in Milan
#31 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#47 Business Hotel in Milan
Price Range: $99 - $387 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lancaster Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lancaster Hotel offers 30 quiet rooms, decorated in a classic-contemporary style and equipped with all amenities and services: fast and free Wi-Fi, air conditioning with temperature control, LCD TV with a wide selection of domestic and foreign channels, mini bar and safe. In the common areas, guests have a reception and lounge bar (open 24/7), lobby and breakfast room. Near the hotel there are affiliated guarded parking and a large choice of clubs, bars and restaurants. The strategic location, the family atmosphere, environments with attention to details and a professional and courteous staff make it one of the best 3-star hotels in downtown Milan. The Lancaster Hotel is located between the convention center MiCo, the exhibition center Fieramilanocity and the residential area of Sempione Park, just a few steps from the Arch of Peace, in a central location but at the same time very quiet, from where you can easily reach the main attractions of Milan. The Triennale, the Sforza Castle, the Duomo, Piazza della Scala, Brera and other points of interest can be reached on foot in a few minutes, by a pleasant walk through the park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lancaster Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lancaster Hotel Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing