We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
7 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
$127
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/07/21
Hotels.com
$127
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/08/21
FindHotel
$126
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/08/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com$127
Priceline$127
Trip.com$128
View all 14 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,172)
Filter reviews
1,180 results
Traveler rating
726
403
42
7
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
726
403
42
7
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews parco sempione arco della pace peace arch minute walk great hotel within walking distance quiet location malpensa express the hotel staff residential area quiet at night city centre yogurt stayed here for nights superior room nice breakfast boutique hotel
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
361 - 366 of 1,180 reviews
Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

I found the hotel experience great! Especially for a boutique hotel, which I'm usually hesitant to stay at, the service and hotel turned out to be great--walking distance to major places, and the room was comfortable and clean :)
I gave a 4-star for the location because it is not in the central part of Milan, but you're 20-minutes walk to downtown (where the stores and Cathedral are)--so overall it really is not far

Date of stay: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kitchenkfc9
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2014

A nice quiet room (although the decor is a bit dowdy) with good beds, excellent bathroom and flat-screen TV. Friendly and helpful reception staff - they offered me an umbrella when it rained, and I was able to purchase an extension (i.e. a late checkout).
Good room-service breakfast (actually I could have had breakfast downstairs, but didn't realise there were both options!).
The location is about 15 mins walk from any Metro station, but it's only a short walk to the no. 61 bus stop on Via Mario Pagano (corner of Viale Giovanni Milton) which goes into the centre, passing various Metro stops. It's close to the Sempione Park, but not particularly convenient for the Centrale FS station (except by taxi).
All in all, though, it was good value - I couldn't fault the hotel itself.

Date of stay: June 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OlympeDeGouges
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2014

Spent two nights here recently, either side of a tour of the Italian Lakes. While, as has been said elsewhere, the décor is a little old fashioned, the welcome I received at the Lancaster was superb. The rooms are small, but quiet and very clean with air conditioning, and the bathrooms are very well appointed. The breakfast room is again small, but the quality and range of food available is superb. What impressed me most was the quality of the staff, particularly at the front desk. Nothing was too much trouble - a taxi arrived within 5 minutes of the request, a city map was produced with my route marked, suggestions were made as to where to eat, and the hotel offers a pizza and light meal service in the evenings. I would strongly recommend the Lancaster to anyone who wants a short stay in Milan.

Room tip: Fifth floor rooms at the back are quiet and have small balconies. There is a lift.
Date of stay: June 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melanie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2014

A short taxi ride from the rail station led us to this very comfortable and spacious hotel. A superb breakfast, lift, bar and huge ensuite plus a small balcony were included. The reception were helpful and pleasant. A fabulous stay in preparation for our long flight home.

Date of stay: June 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MIBandB
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2014

We booked the Lancaster Hotel due to a discount and the good reviews on Tripadvisor and were not disappointed.

General Hotel Ambience:

The hotel's decor is a little dated but is very clean and actually has everything that you could need. There is a breakfast room with plenty of space for all guests, and a 24 hour bar, but we didn't see anyone in there during our two nights. Staff are helpful enough though not overly friendly. We thought it a little odd when the receptionist took our passports as we checked in and said she needed to process them so we could come back in 10 minutes after taking our things to the room. 20 mins later she still hadn't done anything with them so we went out in Milan for the afternoon leaving our passports at reception - not a problem but we had never had this before.

Room:

Room was small but comfortable, large bed (actually 2 singles pushed together), extra pillow, luggage stand, wi-fi is good value at €3.50 for 24 hours and is very reliable and good speed, television in the room is great but no English channels that we could find. Balcony is useful for checking the temperature in the morning but not particularly pleasant to stand on as there is a fairly busy road, and also many people use the balconies for smoking.

Shower is very good, decent sized bathroom with shower gel provided.

Mini bar is a reasonably price and also room service is available 24 hours. The mini bar didn't have a particularly great selection but I suppose the bar downstairs would have anything else.

Aircon is very effective but quiet.

Breakfast:

Large buffet selection served from 7-10 including cheese, ham, salami, tomatoes, hard boiled eggs, and bread for savoury. Croissants, fruit and yoghurt for sweet. You can definitely fill up here before a day of exploring Milan! To drink there are juices, water, and you are offered a cappuccino or pot of tea as you sit down, with a few choices of teabags. You could order breakfast to your room as well the night before.

Location:

Location is a little out of town but easy enough to get places and I'm sure much cheaper than very central hotels - took us 35 minutes to walk to the Duomo, though the walk is pretty, past the Arco de Pace, through the park and past the castle. You can also get many trams from very near the hotel - we often took the number 27 which goes to Cadorna Metro and the 19 which goes all the way to the Navigli.

There is a good selection of bars for aperitivo just round the corner on Corso Sempione by the Arc, and there is a good sized Carrefour open 7 days a week on Via Vicenzo Monzi, about 10 minutes walk away.

All in all I would highly recommend this hotel for a simple, affordable and pleasant base from which to explore Milan, but not for anything particularly romantic or special.

Date of stay: June 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jp8898
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews