We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, wonderful staff, great price”
Review of Lancaster Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Lancaster Hotel
Ranked #21 of 426 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 1, 2014

The hotel had the perfect amount of charm and was in a great location for my tastes. I didn't want a place near the Duomo. The area near the Lancaster is great with delicious places to eat and Chinatown just blocks away with great shopping as well.The concierge was so friendly and the rest of the staff was as well. The rooms were clean and we had a balcony on the 5th floor. Breakfast was great and had a variety of foods to choose from. I would definitely stay here again if I visit Milan.

Room Tip: Room 525 has a balcony!
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank uglychicano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (826)
There are newer reviews for Lancaster Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

208 - 214 of 826 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

I found the hotel experience great! Especially for a boutique hotel, which I'm usually hesitant to stay at, the service and hotel turned out to be great--walking distance to major places, and the room was comfortable and clean :)
I gave a 4-star for the location because it is not in the central part of Milan, but you're 20-minutes walk to downtown (where the stores and Cathedral are)--so overall it really is not far

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kitchenkfc9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2014

A nice quiet room (although the decor is a bit dowdy) with good beds, excellent bathroom and flat-screen TV. Friendly and helpful reception staff - they offered me an umbrella when it rained, and I was able to purchase an extension (i.e. a late checkout).
Good room-service breakfast (actually I could have had breakfast downstairs, but didn't realise there were both options!).
The location is about 15 mins walk from any Metro station, but it's only a short walk to the no. 61 bus stop on Via Mario Pagano (corner of Viale Giovanni Milton) which goes into the centre, passing various Metro stops. It's close to the Sempione Park, but not particularly convenient for the Centrale FS station (except by taxi).
All in all, though, it was good value - I couldn't fault the hotel itself.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OlympeDeGouges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2014

Spent two nights here recently, either side of a tour of the Italian Lakes. While, as has been said elsewhere, the décor is a little old fashioned, the welcome I received at the Lancaster was superb. The rooms are small, but quiet and very clean with air conditioning, and the bathrooms are very well appointed. The breakfast room is again small, but the quality and range of food available is superb. What impressed me most was the quality of the staff, particularly at the front desk. Nothing was too much trouble - a taxi arrived within 5 minutes of the request, a city map was produced with my route marked, suggestions were made as to where to eat, and the hotel offers a pizza and light meal service in the evenings. I would strongly recommend the Lancaster to anyone who wants a short stay in Milan.

Room Tip: Fifth floor rooms at the back are quiet and have small balconies. There is a lift.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melanie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2014

A short taxi ride from the rail station led us to this very comfortable and spacious hotel. A superb breakfast, lift, bar and huge ensuite plus a small balcony were included. The reception were helpful and pleasant. A fabulous stay in preparation for our long flight home.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MIBandB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2014

We booked the Lancaster Hotel due to a discount and the good reviews on Tripadvisor and were not disappointed.

General Hotel Ambience:

The hotel's decor is a little dated but is very clean and actually has everything that you could need. There is a breakfast room with plenty of space for all guests, and a 24 hour bar, but we didn't see anyone in there during our two nights. Staff are helpful enough though not overly friendly. We thought it a little odd when the receptionist took our passports as we checked in and said she needed to process them so we could come back in 10 minutes after taking our things to the room. 20 mins later she still hadn't done anything with them so we went out in Milan for the afternoon leaving our passports at reception - not a problem but we had never had this before.


Room:

Room was small but comfortable, large bed (actually 2 singles pushed together), extra pillow, luggage stand, wi-fi is good value at €3.50 for 24 hours and is very reliable and good speed, television in the room is great but no English channels that we could find. Balcony is useful for checking the temperature in the morning but not particularly pleasant to stand on as there is a fairly busy road, and also many people use the balconies for smoking.

Shower is very good, decent sized bathroom with shower gel provided.

Mini bar is a reasonably price and also room service is available 24 hours. The mini bar didn't have a particularly great selection but I suppose the bar downstairs would have anything else.

Aircon is very effective but quiet.


Breakfast:

Large buffet selection served from 7-10 including cheese, ham, salami, tomatoes, hard boiled eggs, and bread for savoury. Croissants, fruit and yoghurt for sweet. You can definitely fill up here before a day of exploring Milan! To drink there are juices, water, and you are offered a cappuccino or pot of tea as you sit down, with a few choices of teabags. You could order breakfast to your room as well the night before.

Location:

Location is a little out of town but easy enough to get places and I'm sure much cheaper than very central hotels - took us 35 minutes to walk to the Duomo, though the walk is pretty, past the Arco de Pace, through the park and past the castle. You can also get many trams from very near the hotel - we often took the number 27 which goes to Cadorna Metro and the 19 which goes all the way to the Navigli.

There is a good selection of bars for aperitivo just round the corner on Corso Sempione by the Arc, and there is a good sized Carrefour open 7 days a week on Via Vicenzo Monzi, about 10 minutes walk away.

All in all I would highly recommend this hotel for a simple, affordable and pleasant base from which to explore Milan, but not for anything particularly romantic or special.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jp8898
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here last august (2013) the hotel is situated in a nice location and is walkable to a few bars and restaurants in a quiet neighborhood. The rooms are basic nothing special but very clean and the staff were all very nice. The hotel has a small restaurant which came in handy after I arrived from my long flight because the last thing I wanted to do was go out for food when I arrived. All in all the hotel is a great value and we had a pleasant stay.

1  Thank Moses M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milan hotels
Stazione Centrale
Hotel Berna
Hotel Berna
#12 of 426 in Milan
6,612 reviews
Milan Suite Hotel
#26 of 426 in Milan
656 reviews
Citta Studi
Hotel Teco
Hotel Teco
#23 of 426 in Milan
480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stazione Centrale
Biocity Hotel
Biocity Hotel
#25 of 426 in Milan
712 reviews
Grand Visconti Palace
#36 of 426 in Milan
1,845 reviews
Navigli
Residence & Hotel HOUSE Aramis Milan Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lancaster Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lancaster Hotel

Address: Via Abbondio Sangiorgio 16, 20145 Milan, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in Milan
#31 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#47 Business Hotel in Milan
Price Range: $99 - $387 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lancaster Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lancaster Hotel offers 30 quiet rooms, decorated in a classic-contemporary style and equipped with all amenities and services: fast and free Wi-Fi, air conditioning with temperature control, LCD TV with a wide selection of domestic and foreign channels, mini bar and safe. In the common areas, guests have a reception and lounge bar (open 24/7), lobby and breakfast room. Near the hotel there are affiliated guarded parking and a large choice of clubs, bars and restaurants. The strategic location, the family atmosphere, environments with attention to details and a professional and courteous staff make it one of the best 3-star hotels in downtown Milan. The Lancaster Hotel is located between the convention center MiCo, the exhibition center Fieramilanocity and the residential area of Sempione Park, just a few steps from the Arch of Peace, in a central location but at the same time very quiet, from where you can easily reach the main attractions of Milan. The Triennale, the Sforza Castle, the Duomo, Piazza della Scala, Brera and other points of interest can be reached on foot in a few minutes, by a pleasant walk through the park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lancaster Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lancaster Hotel Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing