We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“100% recommended” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lancaster Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Lancaster Hotel to your Saves list
Lancaster Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Abbondio Sangiorgio, 16, 20145 Milan, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 432 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“100% recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

Very nice hotel, Mauricio thanks for all your help, staff is great, room and bathroom are very clean, great breakfast. Location is nice, you will also find great restaurants around the hotel, check in and check out very fast.

Room Tip: 224, excelent room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pandi1127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

602 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Muscat, Oman
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights on recommendation of other reviewers and I was so glad we did. Over our 7 week trip across Europe, My husband, 3 children and I stayed in 15 hotels. This one, we all agreed, was the best.
The rooms were spacious and very comfortable. We had adjoining rooms for a very reasonable price.
The location, though not in the centre of the city was very convenient and well serviced by public transport.
Easy walk to park and attractions.
Staff very helpful - even arranged for me to go to the hairdresser at short notice and the hair dresser was excellent.
We would love to stay at Hotel Lancaster again. Thank you

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom England London
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

We stayed at the Lancaster Hotel for my birthday while in Milan. I'm very pleased to say that it was nice and clean, friendly staff?
Very basic hotel, little tired and not the usual hotel I would stay in. But Milan is a very expensive city and this little hotel was just perfect!
We didn't use the wifi as I thought it was a little expensive. A member of staff kindly looked on the internet for tickets for 12 apostle dinner museum. Sadly there want any tickets. The breakfast was included, it was continental breakfast and it was very good. Hot tea and coffee. Orange juice fresh cakes and pastries.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Isabelacsr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

As long as you don't mind a ten min walk (on the flat & safe) this hotel allows the best of both - quiet calm location but easy access to central Milan. Charming hotel, great, helpful, willing, knowledgable staff. Very clean with perfectly adequate breakfast. Our room (we stayed 4 nights) was at the back with a little balcony - very quiet and dark thanks to the roll down shutter. Typically Italian (some might think of it as olde fashioned) so don't expect Super Modern but this actually is part of the charm. Taxi, Metro ,open top sightseeing bus all within easy walking distance - forget the tram we came to the conclusion the timetable and routes must be an "insider only - just for locals ". piece of information!!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RhoniePonie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level Contributor
56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Booked the Lancaster on the strength of the excellent reviews and the value for money. We were not disappointed. It’s position is walking distance away from the headline attractions but does have trams running constantly one street away. The Staff were great and their English was just fine. Very Helpful with restaurants & tourist sites. Room was comfortable wi-fi strong & the Italian style breakfast great.

Room Tip: We had a interesting view to the surrounding buildings none of which were well away from our balcon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AWDVERADA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tauranga
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Hotel Lancaster is a good-value option for a short stay in Milan.
It is old and it's not flash, but it is clean and comfortable and the staff are friendly and helpful.
The rooms are dated and a bit small, and the beds could be a bit hard for some. The included breakfast was basic but totally adequate. The hotel is well located, just a short walk or taxi ride (take the taxi if you have luggage) from the train station, which you can catch the Malpensa Express to the airport. It is a few blocks from the start of the central area, but it's all flat and easy to find your way. There are nice places to eat close by. Make the most of the bar buffet deals at night. For about 8 euro you can have a beer, wine or cocktail plus all you can eat - fabulous value considering you can pay 5 or 6 euro for just a beer in some places. There were several places offering this dinner deal.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davey10000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NE Scotland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We stayed here for a couple of nights mid September. We found the staff very helpful and the hotel was perfectly adequate. It was very clean, very well laid out and very comfortable. The buffet breakfast whilst not vast was all that is really needed and offered enough choice.
The hotel is reasonably central, a 10/15 walk from the nearest subway. It is very near a lovely park and the Design Museum. Also not far from a great selection of bars and restaurants.
We enjoyed the cocktails!!! The cocktail bars have a 'happy hour' which involves free food with your cocktail. The cocktails are huge compared to what you get at home, but are a bit more expensive. Although we did find one bar that did cocktails for €5!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Shuna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milan hotels
Enterprise Hotel
#37 of 432 in Milan
4.5 of 5 stars 1,164 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Hotel Berna
Hotel Berna
#11 of 432 in Milan
4.5 of 5 stars 5,068 reviews
Canada Hotel
#34 of 432 in Milan
4.5 of 5 stars 905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navigli
Residence Aramis Milan Downtown
Stazione Centrale
Ibis Milano Centro
Ibis Milano Centro
#179 of 432 in Milan
3.5 of 5 stars 4,705 reviews
Milan Suite Hotel
#24 of 432 in Milan
4.5 of 5 stars 459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lancaster Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lancaster Hotel

Address: Via Abbondio Sangiorgio, 16, 20145 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in Milan
#31 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#37 Best Value Hotel in Milan
#48 Business Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Lancaster Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Everything you need for a short or long stay in the beautiful city of Milan for business or vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Venere, Travelocity, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Lancaster Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lancaster Hotel Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing