We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Book with confidence” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lancaster Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lancaster Hotel
Ranked #21 of 430 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Book with confidence”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

First class small hotel with no negatives. Friendly and helpful staff who will advise on local restaurants, sell you transport tickets, or attend to any other request that you may have. Rooms are of a very high standard with towels and bed sheets changed every day, air conditioning and room safe. Good choice of breakfast - continental with the option of boiled egg and toast . Freshly made coffee of any type you may fancy with pastries to finish. Great position near the centre of Milan and an easy 15-20 minutes walk through the lovely Parco Sempione and on past the castle to the Duomo.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnthhermit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

754 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    415
    297
    33
    7
    2
See reviews for
111
381
53
95
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
82 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

We checked into the Lancaster Hotel and were told we had been given a superior room. We booked the option that came with the free internet which I am assuming is the superior room. We were very happy with the accomodation. It had a private balcony that had a nice view, a very large bathroom with 2 sinks (almost unheard of in Europe) great shower and powerful A/C. The bed was comfortable and a very nice touch was lots of bathroom amenities, including toothbrush, razor, lotions, etc, and 2 Italian chocolates on our pillow. The breakfast in the morning was great. Very satisfying, and you can order cappuccino, espresso etc. The front desk service was excellent and we got great dinner recommendations and a good map with highlights pointed out to us. In the evening there is a cute bar with snacks offered and you can order room service anytime. This hotel really has a small family owned feel to it, but has all of the amenities of a four star chain. The location was perfect for us, we love to walk and the Parco Sempione where the castle is located was 2 minutes away. We will definitely stay again when we return to Milan

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony, they have lovely views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank flipfloptraveler123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

We booked this place because of Tripadvisor ranking and hotelclicks offer, and only stayed one night. If we were in Milan for longer we would have probably changed hotels. Reception (and breakfast) staff were very efficient and friendly and the offer price of £66 was fair value, but that didn't make up for the very (!) tired quality of the room (dark, smelly/smoky, stuffy) and the common areas (old, not paticularly inviting, little space). Both the pillows and the mattress were very hard which led to a restless night of sleep and sore muscles in e morning. Location is Ok (park and castle are close, some shopping and restaurants).

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotlan, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Lancaster Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Mr Ian M,

thank you for choosing to stay at the Lancaster for your night in Milan. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed most aspects of your stay as the staff Reception/Breakfast and the location, safe in the center of Milan, near Sempione Park and Sforzesco Castle, full of bars and differents kinds of restaurants. I was sorry to learn that you were not entirely satisfied with room and the common areas. I inform you that at the Lancaster we have hight standard of cleaness and maintenance as described by others guests experience with their comments. I inform you that the pillows and mattress are new (we changed recently) and are the same brands and quality you may find in the best five star hotel in Milan (we have the same supplier for mattress and bathrooms facilities). So if the mattress is hard it means best quality for sleeping. We are a small hotel, 30 rooms, and the common areas are not so big as in an hotel with more rooms because our hotel is like a "home". Concerning the common areas old, I inform that the common areas were totally restored and new; maybe you confused with another hotel.
We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Lancaster again in the future. Best regards, Sauro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

Having stayed here for the second time, it delivers on everything and for the price and location, cannot be beaten. Clean, spacious, air conditioned rooms, some with balconies. A first class continental breakfast and service and welcome, is second to none. Roger on reception is a true gentleman and nothing is too much trouble. Look at the others and then book this one!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wishiwuzthere123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotlan, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Lancaster Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
What a review! Thank you so much for sharing this great feedback. I am proud and pleased to share such comments with the team and with Roger in particular. On behalf of everyone here, we look forward to welcoming you back again soon! With kind regards, Sauro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
131 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here based on other trip advisors reviews and was not disappointed. We had a room with 3 singles beds and a very clean and well equipped bathroom, air conditioned room which is essential in Milan in summer and also a little balcony which you could have a cigarette on. The hotel is three star but that is not a real indication of its potential, great friendly staff who speak English, and well kept and clean rooms. About a ten minute walk to the Dumo and shopping areas. Parking is difficult out in the street but they offer discounted secure parking around the corner for $20 euro per day with the showing of a card provided by the hotel, wi- fi is extra $3:50 per day. If your looking for a reasonably priced hotel in Milan I would highly recommend this one.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Coza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotlan, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Lancaster Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
I was delighted to read your review of our hotel and was pleased to read that you thought the services and facilities provided were of good value, we also think so! Thank you for taking the time to share this great feedback and we shall look forward to welcoming you back again for your next visit. With kind regards, Sauro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

The location is great and the staff could not be nicer.

The wifi can be a little patchy and Sky TV with an English option (which was provided in a €40 per night pensione in Breguzzo) would be nice but otherwise superb.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JJBW5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

left perth it was a 26 hour flight first hotel on our long awaited holiday, A very good location in a trendy part of town. (ref east perth feeling/Subiaco)Only staying there for 2 nights so this was the perfect hotel.Shower was a bit small, but clean and friendly staff.a few minutes walk to all the eating areas, great park very close by. Close to small supermarket, in the evenings everything comes alive, however we all fell asleep by 9.30pm. Deals going where you by a drink for 8 euro and get buffet nibbles all you can eat free. Tram into town close by,buy your tickets at the tobacco shop however I think we were the only ones who paid.Would stay there again
.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vald63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milan hotels
Stazione Centrale
Hotel Berna
Hotel Berna
#14 of 430 in Milan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,134 reviews
Milan Suite Hotel
#24 of 430 in Milan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Biocity Hotel
Biocity Hotel
#25 of 430 in Milan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand Visconti Palace
#33 of 430 in Milan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,672 reviews
Navigli
Residence & Hotel Aramis Milan Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lancaster Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lancaster Hotel

Property: Lancaster Hotel
Address: Via Abbondio Sangiorgio 16, 20145 Milan, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in Milan
#31 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#47 Business Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lancaster Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lancaster Hotel offers 30 quiet rooms, decorated in a classic-contemporary style and equipped with all amenities and services: fast and free Wi-Fi, air conditioning with temperature control, LCD TV with a wide selection of domestic and foreign channels, mini bar and safe. In the common areas, guests have a reception and lounge bar (open 24/7), lobby and breakfast room. Near the hotel there are affiliated guarded parking and a large choice of clubs, bars and restaurants. The strategic location, the family atmosphere, environments with attention to details and a professional and courteous staff make it one of the best 3-star hotels in downtown Milan. The Lancaster Hotel is located between the convention center MiCo, the exhibition center Fieramilanocity and the residential area of Sempione Park, just a few steps from the Arch of Peace, in a central location but at the same time very quiet, from where you can easily reach the main attractions of Milan. The Triennale, the Sforza Castle, the Duomo, Piazza della Scala, Brera and other points of interest can be reached on foot in a few minutes, by a pleasant walk through the park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Lancaster Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lancaster Hotel Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing