We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful stay, excellent location”
Review of Lancaster Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Lancaster Hotel
Ranked #21 of 431 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 4, 2013

My husband and I stayed here two nights on our vacation through France and Italy. Very, very nice stay. Tiny little hotel in an excellent location. Quiet neighborhood, although there were some workers cleaning the building across the street and they were pretty noisy but it did not interfere with sleeping. The hotel is about 3 blocks from a beautiful park perfect for a run if you are a runner. Close to the castle and walking distance from the shopping district. The included breakfast was lovely! Pastries, cold cuts, soft boiled eggs, fruit- everything! And the little lady who serves the breakfast is so friendly and sweet. We will definitely stay here again. It was perfect. If you are a runner, best location ever!

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Julie543
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (865)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

304 - 310 of 865 reviews

Reviewed May 2, 2013

I reviewed this little hotel several years ago, finding that it was well located, clean, comfortable and provided a high level of service. Recently I have stayed there again, on two separate occasions, whilst travelling through Northern Italy. I have nothing but praise for this hotel. It felt like home, and i cannot imagine how one could not enjoy a stay there. The rooms are perhaps a little small (and, with reference to a comment by an earlier reviewer, the shutter controls are a bit counter-intuitive) but comfort levels are high. Maurizio at the front desk welcomed me like an old friend, printed off my boarding pass, sold me tram tickets (and then took back the unused ones for a credit on the hotel bill), called cabs, and was an exemplary host. I still recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: There are several bigger-than-usual rooms on each floor, with tubs in the bathrooms, and some have l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ayling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

The staff was very friendly and helpful! The location was great. It's easy to find parking outside the hotel but you have to buy the parking tickets by 8am or the police might give you a ticket. There's also a paid parking garage near the hotel.
Unfortunately, the furniture in the room is rather old. Also, we couldn't open the window shutters so our room was dark the whole day. The elevator is super small and the breakfast is just alright.
Overall, I would say the room is great if you don't plan on spending much time in your room and are not staying for more than a couple of nights.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tarams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Fantastic little hotel between the Congress Center and Downtown. Great location just steps away from the park with the Arch and Castle. The staff was absolutely incredible and would do anything for you. They spoke english very well and were very patient. Most of the staff have spent there entire careers at this hotel. The value was great . $130 EU/night including breakfast. Would definately return. Only thing was the decor of the rooms needs updating as well as the small bathrooms. For the price and staff, well worth it !

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Craig145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We moved to this hotel after staying in the B4 Milano hotel that was for business and remotely located.
This hotel was a complete contrast to the B4, but a very nice change.
The Lancaster hotel is clean and well looked after, the reception staff are very helpful and speak very good English.
The rooms were clean and nicely decorated, with a really good shower. Perhaps the beds were a little hard, but then that's personal choice.
Breakfast was good and what you can expect from a European city. We didn't have an evening meal here, but i believe they order in from local restaraunts.
It's nicely located in a quiet area, that seems quite affluent so felt safe to walk around at night, with a mixture of restaraunts within easy walking distance. We found that the wi-fi worked perfectly all the time.
Really nice hotel that i'd recommend and happily stay in again

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Jimbobimbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

The Lancanster is situated in an attractive and quiet residential district near the Arco di Pace in the Parco Sempione. Super location for business and pleasure travel in Milano.
The aim of this report is to reaffirm all the superlatives about the Lancaster made by recent patrons based on a two-day stay in March 2013. The staff was most accommodating, excellent neighborhood with local restaurants offering excellent value, hyper clean hotel rooms and common spaces. The Lancaster is an excellent choice and value.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Professor-007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

Great value for money and fine location near Sempione Park. It is a 25 minute walk to the dead city centre but you can walk through the park which is delightful. Staff were friendly - helped with city nap and tram tickets. Room clean and comfy. Good continental buffet breakfast.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Milan hotels
Milan Suite Hotel
#22 of 431 in Milan
699 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Biocity Hotel
Biocity Hotel
#25 of 431 in Milan
747 reviews
Citta Studi
Hotel Teco
Hotel Teco
#20 of 431 in Milan
521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stazione Centrale
Hotel Berna
Hotel Berna
#8 of 431 in Milan
6,836 reviews
Navigli
Residence & Hotel HOUSE Aramis Milan Downtown
Centro Storico
Gran Duca di York
Gran Duca di York
#7 of 431 in Milan
1,451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lancaster Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lancaster Hotel

Address: Via Abbondio Sangiorgio 16, 20145 Milan, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Milan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Milan
#27 Best Value Hotel in Milan
#31 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#47 Business Hotel in Milan
Price Range: $94 - $237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lancaster Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lancaster Hotel offers 30 quiet rooms, decorated in a classic-contemporary style and equipped with all amenities and services: fast and free Wi-Fi, air conditioning with temperature control, LCD TV with a wide selection of domestic and foreign channels, mini bar and safe. In the common areas, guests have a reception and lounge bar (open 24/7), lobby and breakfast room. Near the hotel there are affiliated guarded parking and a large choice of clubs, bars and restaurants. The strategic location, the family atmosphere, environments with attention to details and a professional and courteous staff make it one of the best 3-star hotels in downtown Milan. The Lancaster Hotel is located between the convention center MiCo, the exhibition center Fieramilanocity and the residential area of Sempione Park, just a few steps from the Arch of Peace, in a central location but at the same time very quiet, from where you can easily reach the main attractions of Milan. The Triennale, the Sforza Castle, the Duomo, Piazza della Scala, Brera and other points of interest can be reached on foot in a few minutes, by a pleasant walk through the park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Lancaster Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lancaster Hotel Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing